We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visited many times”
Review of Mandarin Bay

Mandarin Bay
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Cramlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“visited many times”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Best chinese restaurant in Cramlington by a mile, hope it does not close as it serves the best food. The place needs a revamp and it would be better if the place was bigger, but you can't complain of the food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashlyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    49
    10
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited here on a Sunday night for the buffet and it was delicious. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was delicious although there is not a huge selection of food on the buffet what they do serve is fresh and to a very high standard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lkm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“choice chinese”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very friendly, professional staff and delicious food - a pleasant experience! We arrived early on a Saturday night so a quiet start but they were full by the time we left. We enjoyed some of the tastiest prawn crackers ever! (and then were given more when we remarked on this). We chose the £20.00 a head banquet and added another 2 items as we love dim sum and prawns. Please note the portion sizes were big enough - we're just greedy for tasty food! All the food was delicious - we shall return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aimeehep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Visited with three of my friends on a Friday evening about 1900.

There were only a few people in the restaurant so it was quiet and lacked any atmosphere, however the staff were friendly.

The menus were on the table and these were the banqueting ones; I had read on line that they do a winter special 3 courses for £9.50 as this menu was not on the table I had to request it.

My starter was "aromatic duck pancakes", firstly our starters arrived at different times when we started to eat both the pancakes and duck were freezing cold, however there was plenty.

Our main meals also arrived at different times which you don't expect, however they were hot and all were eaten so know complaints here.

Generally I feel the standards had dropped from my last visit to The Dragon Inn. There seemed to be lack off coordination between the kitchen and single waiter (When we left there were about 7 couples in)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Old school silver service standards, happy front of house staff that can't do enough for you. The food is great, hot tasty and fresh, and decent portion sizes. I've been twice now, superb, well done dragon inn, a jewel in the Cramlington crown for sure:)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Bay also viewed

Cramlington, Northumberland
Cramlington, Northumberland
 
Cramlington, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Seaton Delaval, Northumberland
 

Been to Mandarin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing