We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tynemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 2 Tynemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
439 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here right before we started the Hadrian's Wall Hike. Nice hotel -- very clean. The rooms were smallish, but the location was great. Close to lots of places to eat and the train station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    35
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
83
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We called in yesterday for lunch and were not disappointed. Our order was taken quickly and both the food and drinks arrived very quickly.
The food was very tasty well worth the money we paid. The coffee we ordered arrived with the food, something a lot of places these days don't seem to manage! Additionally the coffee tasted great.
We would have stayed for dessert but didn't have the time. However, we will be back soon.
We can't recommend No 61 highly enough, so check it out next time you're in Tynemouth!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iommi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here on a last minute decision and the owner was incredibly helpful even though we didn't arrive until 9.00pm. The room was very comfortable with a grand view of the harbour and the priory from a lovely verandah. The breakfast was great (veggie sausage was excellent) and the service throughout was very friendly. Clean room and good, hot shower. Bedding lovely and fluffy towels - will be back.

Room Tip: Plenty of pubs and great places to eat right on the doorstep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandypandyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Situated in the main street amongst the bars and bistros it was the perfect end . Rooms were tasteful decorated . We stopped in a twin at the front and although you could hear noise from the bars and cars it didn't disturb me . Other members in the party had the double with a balcony with great view. It was also peaceful.
Owners were very helpful.

Room Tip: Rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zxzxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

11.03.14 13.04 hrs. On arrival it took 10 minutes before our order was taken. Order was 2 Orange juice, 1 Soup and 1 Quiche. Orange juice came in 5 minutes.
35 minutes later no sign of food so we paid for our orange juice and left.
No apology from staff other than to say the quiche takes some time to heat up. BUT they hadnt told us that, AND hadnt even started our food order !!!
Only 4 customers in room to manage, lots of laughter and chat from the two girls in the kitchen and an ovbviuos concentration on doing dishes rather than serving Customers.
Not a place worthy of any future visits from us.

Room Tip: Use a different establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lighthousemike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No61, Owner at Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
I was extremely disappointed to read your review regarding the poor service you received on your visit to our tea room on Tuesday. Having spoken to the staff involved, they do admit you had a wait because of heating the quiche and were very apologetic about not explaining to you in advance that it may take a little while. I would like to thank you for bringing the matter to our attention and we will endeavour to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Enjoyed a weekend stay at No. 61 Guest House for a friend's wedding. No, 61 was a short walk from the tram which we took from the centre of Newcastle. Arrived on a busy Saturday evening, our room facing onto the lively Front Street bars and restaurants, which was fine as we could not really hear any noise from outside. The Guest house was clean and modern, the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a very short walk to the seafront and the local shops. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sistajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed all family at this place. A really nice place, great location and good breakfast. The room was big, clean and lovely. Nice service. We don't have anything what stop us to book again when we will be at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms

Property: Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms
Address: 61 Front Street, Tynemouth NE30 4BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian town house in the heart of Tynemouth village all rooms are ensuite. Rooms at the back of the house have fabulous views over the estuary all rooms are decorated to a high standard with many original features ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing