We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love No 51 Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Tynemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have been staying in No 61 for 2 nights every week for the past month.
Every visit is a lovely experience... we are always warmly welcomed by name, & in the evenings there is the glorious aroma of freshly baking cakes! Mmmmmmm..... :p
So far, I have booked the excellent Collingwood which has a sweet balcony overlooking the tea room garden, the mouth of the Tyne, the sea, & the priory ruins. Interestingly, it also overlooks the statue of Admiral Collingwood. The sun rises out over the water, so makes for a great start to the day. Breakfast choices are varied, and special requests are well received.
I have also booked the Laurel room which is directly below Collingwood, so has the same aspect. I can't decide which room I prefer... both are great!
Looking forward to our trip again this week.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the property overlook the harbour & sea... Laurel has a fabulous bay window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaFrooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a really nice welcome. We arrived really, early at 10.20am and were told we can leave our cases in the room which was really useful. The room was bright and clean and had a great balcony overlooking the sea.

Breakfast was excellent, the staff were really helpful and the whole experience was first class. The price when compared with a "not so grand" hotel nearby was a bargain.

Next time I go there I will stay at the No 61 again and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Collingwood which has a nice little balcony, my daughter and son in-law and grandda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ListLurker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Rooms fresh and clean and nice decor, though mine was in need of a little refurbishment particularly the bathroom. Breakfast was good. Well situated in Tynemouth village with immediate access to coastal path which is very picturesque and offers great walks.

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be a little noisy as close proximity to restaurants and bars, though not as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lightasafairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location, great room, wonderful breakfast and atmosphere. Highly recommended. In the evening we went to Barca Artcafe and had the 18 Pound three tapas with a bottle of wine, yum yum. Topped it off with a plate of mussels in a chile sauce and desert and Baileys for a truly enjoyable meal. The location allowed us to visit the Priory and Castle, walk along the promenade above the beaches and enjoy the area. After the ride through the city it felt we were in a wonderful seaside resort.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room to view ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ajbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited here for lunch a few days ago, having been extremely pleased with both the service and food on previous occasions. However, this visit proved a little disappointing. Even though it was a nice day we chose to sit inside but service seemed to be concentrated on customers sat in the garden and it took some time before our order was taken. The jacket potatoes we had were good, with a lovely tuna filling and we have no complaints there. We then ordered cream scones and tea and in the past the scones have been filled with cream, to be honest probably a little too much. However, this time, there was barely a scraping of cream and it seemed as though they had more or less run out (maybe after a busy weekend as we visited on a Monday) and were trying to stretch out whatever cream they had left or maybe the portions have been reduced considerably since our last visit. If they were short on portions, we would have preferred just to have been told this so that we could choose something else, although the cake selection was poor too, in comparison to previous visits.
Whilst the table was cleared when we had finished, no-one asked if we wanted anything else and the 2 girls working seemed more intent on setting up the restaurant for breakfast the next day, which we found a little disruptive when we were trying to enjoy lunch. I do think any setting up should be done after customers have left for the day, especially as the restaurant closes at 4.30pm, so not too late in the day for other things then to be done.
The owners did not seem to be around much, as they have been in the past, other than to remind one of the girls to take our initial order, and maybe the drop in service was due to this. This was extremely disappointing though as we have always enjoyed our visits here before and have recommended No 61 to friends but I would hesitate to do so now.
We will more than likely visit again, in the hope that this was a one-off poor experience, but if not then I regret that No 61 will no longer be on our list of places to eat when in Tynemouth. I really hope that it was a one-off though as this would be a shame, due to the wonderful location and good food/service we have always enjoyed in the past.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Happysharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No61, Owner at Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our tearooms, albeit a disappointing one. I can only apologise for the fact you experienced less than satisfactory service and insufficient cream on your scones. I can assure you we have not reduced the amount and it appears to be an unfortunate mistake . All your comments have been noted and will be dealt with. I hope you will be kind enough to revisit us and find that our standards have not slipped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Comfortable and well appointed guest house right on the main street in Tynemouth. Comfy bed with nice white sheets and bungey white towels. Rooms at the front over look the main street with its many bars and restaurants, but we didn't find it too noisy. On our second night we had a room at the back with a balcony looking out to sea,which was lovely.
Friendly staff, good breakfast and storage for bikes. It is a tea shop during the day so you can have lunch or a snack if you arrive within opening hours. There is pay and display parking on the street outside.
There are numerous places to eat in the same street, which gets quite lively in the evenings, but for a quieter and cheaper meal you can walk along the sea front to the fish quay at North Shields, about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ravella68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was lovely to be able to sit in the pleasant garden with our dogs, and the staff even treat them to a free sausage!
Nice home made baking and a good cuppa. Have usually sat outside other places on Tynemouth front street but enjoyed the garden much more because we had more space and it was quiet and peaceful- we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
745 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,657 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms

Address: 61 Front Street, Tynemouth NE30 4BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tynemouth
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian town house in the heart of Tynemouth village all rooms are ensuite. Rooms at the back of the house have fabulous views over the estuary all rooms are decorated to a high standard with many original features ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing