We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tynemouth 61 Guest House and Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Little Haven Hotel(South Shields)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Athol House(South Shields)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir William Fox Hotel(South Shields)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
177
40
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
40
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront streetb bhadrian's wall walkdormer windowstayed herewalled gardentea room iscoast to coastlovely guesthousebeautiful roombyron roomlovely tea gardenafternoon teafamily weddinggreat hostsbars and restaurantswonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

No. 61 is an historic and cheerfully old-fashioned tea-shop/B&B. We stayed as a couple in Room 7 - the ‘Byron’, designated as a family room - for three nights. The room is at the top of this steep house, tucked under the eaves, with a gabled ceiling. It could be a very cosy hideaway, but to be honest it seemed to us to lack the real comforts or style for this. Apart from the main bed, there is a sofabed – but this is too low to act as a sofa – while the remaining seating consists of a frail-looking bedside chair together with a couple of high bar stools and their tiny high table tucked into the small dormer window area. Some of the simple practicalities appear to have been overlooked. From the bed, it is difficult to see the low-slung television at the end of the room, and, more seriously, with all the lighting down one side of the room, there is no second bedside lamp (or table) to help with bedtime reading for two people at the same time. Some basic touching up is needed. The window needs repair to make it close fully, since there is a bit of a draught; a conspicuous patch of wall under the window has lost its paintwork; and a window on the landing below is suffering from a highly visible attack of mould. The room obviously hadn’t been fully checked over before our arrival: one of the three wall lamps wasn’t working until we pointed it out, there was only one cup and saucer, and there was still a drawerful of the possessions of a previous occupant. The table was in need of more vigorous cleaning, and we really didn’t like the storage of glasses on, or next to, the toilet cistern. Breakfast was hale and hearty, but on our first visit to the breakfast room we had no option, eventually, but to beg them to change the loop of a single Barry Manilow song – ‘Can’t Smile Without You’. You know the lyric “You don’t know what I’m going through ...”?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipDrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We rarely stay in guest houses and were pleasantly surprised by the generally good quality of the room. Our room (Garibaldi) overlooked Front Street - which was no problem as we stayed mid-week. However we know Tynemouth very well and this street houses most of the village's pubs and restaurants and can get quite rowdy at nights during the weekend. You should note this when booking a room. Views to the rear of the hotel over the Tyne estuary are much better and in general we cannot fault the location. We have alternative car parking arrangements in Tynemouth and we do not know how convenient parking is for No. 61.
There are no lifts, which may be an issue for guests with mobility issues. We do not know what assistance would be provided if required.
Breakfasts were of a high quality, service was friendly and the garden area to the rear of the hotel is a very pleasant refuge to take afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

The guesthouse is fine. The owners are a pleasant couple, the rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms are a lot bigger than some I have seen in similar places. The breakfast was fine.

A big warning though - do not book a room over looking the 'village' - this may sound pastoral but it is actually on the main drag of the small town and it is very noisy. The guesthouse is right next door to a very busy pub, opposite another pub, and at night a long line of taxis sit waiting for fares. There are a lot of very noisy drunken people shouting and screaming at each other into the small hours, and in the early hours of the morning too when they return from clubbing in central newcastle. If you are likely to be wanting to get any peace before 1am do not book a room facing the village. There are rooms at the back facing the river and these may well be quieter, but I had a very poor nights sleep in my room. This is obviously not the fault of the guesthouse owners but be warned!

A few quibbles about the guesthouse - the bathroom was clean enough but not really spotless, a few stray hairs from the previous occupant around and about. The biscuit pack in the complementary tray was open and one biscuit had been eaten, there was a hair in the jam pot at breakfast. Not quite enough attention to detail.

There is no parking at the guesthouse, you have to park on the street in a pay to park zone. This is 9-5.30 but not too expensive.

But as I said above, the owners are friendly, they have a lovely little dog called Molly and it is very well sited for the beach and for metro rides into Newcastle. Just dont book a street facing room....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Attended as a friends wedding was at the ruins around the corner. The B&B was literally around the corner from the abbey so we stumbled to and from the wedding with much ease.
The room over looked the front street and car parks. Be aware you will have to pay to park you car over night.
The room was ok, clean enough (although my friend in the room next to us found a half eaten quiche under her bed.)
Breakfast was good, lots to eat and a good choice.
Not much you can say about this, it was fine for our puposes and the price seemed reasonable.
This place isn't going to rock your world but is will meet most peoples requirements without fuss or excitement.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

Just returned from one night at No 61 in Tynemouth.

The property was clean and tidy, the rooms comfortable and the staff accommodating. Breakfast was hot and plentiful, the beds were comfortable, bathrooms very clean and generally was a pleasant stay.

Tynemouth is a very pretty village in itself. The only problem is parking at weekends (very busy in the village). We had a bit of confusion over the price quote on the phone to us and the price we ended up paying, so get confirmation in writing of how much you are paying before you go.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews