We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Grand”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not so Grand”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Grand Hotel is Grand, but if you stay here you could be in for a shock.
The Grand has a lovely entrance, bars and restaurant areas. All decked out nicely, in a manner thay you might expect. First impressions are good. Comfy chairs, a bit of marble, some mahogony. This is all nice but you don't sleep in these areas. On the website and trip advisor you will see some loveley rooms, and i've no doubt they are available. So what does the standard traveller get for his £100 a night? Not much, let me tell you. Some double rooms measure just 11x10 foot, with the bed against the wall.( go to room 109, management). A small dressing table, tiny alcove in the wall for a wardrobe, as any other furniture would not fit. Terrible beds and pillows, worse than a travel lodge. Decor out of an old peoples home. The Hotel Inspector would love this place. So maybe it was just unlucky if you get this broomcupboard. Room 231, maybe will proove better value for £100. Barely. Slightly bigger. Bed not against wall which is a good start. Old crt tv with broken aerial point. No plug for kettle, has to be on bedside table. Dark. No better decor. Flowery Curtains useless as the wall is at an angle. Again terrible pillows and matress, but this time with an awfully squeaky bed to wake you up at a slight movement. Wow, were not doing well so far. Maybe breakfast will make up for it? Cereal & croissants very nice. You can order a "full" english (which came out cold) or wait endlessly for a round of toast. Or get up for 7am for breakfast before anyone else is there, which seems the most pleasant option.
Oh there is another thing to do with the food, it could make you feel unwell. Is it a coincidence that 10 poeple we stayed with all got the tom trotts? Children, oap's and adults not immune. Is it the cleanliness of the kitchen? Does the chef wash his hands? I've no idea but its not right and not acceptable from any hotel with the word "Grand" in the title.

You see the thing is I dont mind spending good money on good things. But for value, service and enjoyment, this hotel leaves a lot to be desired in my opinion.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Naturally it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel but do feel that it is extremely unfair when reviewers are so damning about aspects of their stay.

Yes, breakfast service can be extremely busy over the weekend and of course a cold breakfast is simply not acceptable - had we been informed of this at the time we would of course offered a replacement.

Our breakfast service runs from 7am until 9.45am each day. At the weekend, most guests choose to come down for breakfast between 9.15am and 9.45am at the weekend which does bring about its own challenges for the hotel as our breakfast restaurant can only accommodate up to 70 guests at any one time. Occasionally guests may need to wait a short while for a table to become available. In proportion to other hotels, (bedrooms to restaurant capacity) our restaurant is relatively large. I can confirm however that I am currently in talks with the team to review our breakfast timings on weekend days however it may be the case that increasing times will simply push back the busy period to a later time.

With regards to the allegations of food poisoning, these guests reported this incident to the hotel at the time they were feeling unwell. A table of 8 guests not 10 attended the restaurant on the Friday night. The only common item that all guests ate on that night was the duck appetizer which had been freshly cooked and prepared that day by the chef. On the same night we had 32 diners to our restaurant all of which ate the same duck appetizer and there were no other reported incidents of guests being unwell. Whilst we do accept that the guests may have been unwell, due to the severity of the allegations a full investigation was done at the time and we strongly refute that the illness was due to the food that they ate at the hotel.

Our standard rooms are the smallest in the hotel. Due to the historical layout of the building these rooms vary in size. Whilst some may be compact all rooms offer full ensuite facilities including the same in room toiletries found in all of our other rooms. We do find that our standard rooms are more than acceptable to the majority of our guests however if a larger room is required we would recommend upgrading to one of our executive rooms.

You do of course have our sincere apologies with regards to your disappointing stay at the hotel and hope that you may be willing to give the hotel a second chance should you be visiting the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    200
    82
    39
    22
See reviews for
179
272
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stay at this hotel fairly regularly through work and love it. The rooms are mostly very good and are always well maintained. If you're fortunate enough to get a sea facing room, the view is spectacular. The food in the restaurant, the bar and even room service is fantastic and more than enough (Scampi & chips - 17 pieces of scampi). Breakfast is cooked to order and nothing is too much trouble. Staff are very friendly and well presented. VERY GRAND

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSKentnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
The hotel staff work extremely hard in an attempt to make every guests stay a very enjoyable one. It is fantastic to receive such a positive review in recognition of the hard work of the team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

A very grand entrance and show-stopping staircase. Very Grand. Stayed in a suite over-looking the sea which had a lovely window seat. Comfiest bed ever. Lovely relaxing lounge and bar. Can't fault this hotel and breakfast was delicious too.

We would definately stay again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with sea views, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Very pleased to hear about your faultless experience at the hotel. Our sea view rooms really are special, Longsands beach is literally just across the road from the hotel. Even on cold and windy days it is fantastic to relax in the warmth of your room and watch the waves as they roll in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have recently spent 4 nights at the Grand Hotel...our first time there and it wont be our last.
Lovely room at the front with great sea and sand! view.
The staff were all very efficient and friendly.We ate in 3 out of the 4 nights the last night being with out friends who lived locally who hadnt been there before.The staff and the chef that night went out of there way to accomodate us with our dining requests even though it was busy in the restaurant (13th Sept)....realy is a lovely dining room.Breakfast also served in there with very good choice and freshly cooked to order.The Bar/lounge area is also good with plenty of tables for lunch or dinner.
The hotel struck us as being very well run.....and standard of cleaning high.Magnificent stair case up from the recption area.....Impressed!
Also before we booked I read previous comments and I thought how good it was that the General manager responds on here.....certainly has his finger on the pulse....and cares!
Thankyou to all the friendly Staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room, service and the food offerings during your stay. The team try very hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay with us and it is very nice to receive positive reviews such as yours.

Whilst we always prefer for customers to provide feedback directly to the hotel, I do feel that it is important to reply to reviews listed on this site even if it is just to say Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Had a wonderful 7 day stay in June of this year.
Excellent five course dinner in the restaurant every night ( could have possible more fish and chicken options available).
Good service, great views from the bedroom at the fron over the bay.
Lovely coast to explore.
Regards
Gary

Room Tip: At the front overlooking the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation, food and service.

Our restaurant dinner menu offers a choice of 6 starters, 6 main courses and 6 desserts. It is a seasonal menu which changes 5 times per year with the aim of offering the best of ingredients for each season. Just £24.50 for a 4 course meal or even cheaper if you book on one of our dinner inclusive accommodation rates.

We hope to have pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have reviewed this lovely hotel previously a number of times but here's another short review to keep everyone updated. My hubby & I celebrated our joint birthdays September 2012 & always have room 22 the largest luxury suite, unfortunately we were unable to obtain the room as there was a wedding taking place & feel it was booked already with that particular party, we were given room 218 the opposite suite which was lovely but slightly smaller, it still housed a nice jacuzzi & a seperate shower cubicle which was lovely & the larger suite does not have.

We ate out at sonny's restaurant for our evening meal & ordered room service breakfast the following morning which was really nice, & have to say spot on time for delivery, once again staff very pleasant but a different receptionist who was a tad "haughty" as I felt the wedding party took priority but we only had to collect our room key, give a little information then go to our room.

All in all a nice evening, room beautifully clean room 5 stars to housekeeping staff, have booked again for new year.

Room Tip: Book luxury suites if finances allow good sea views nice & light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry to hear that your regular room was not available on this occasion but glad that you enjoyed the other deluxe room that you were offered.

Our housekeeping team do maintain very high standards and this is something that we are all very proud about at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again next year if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

In August nine of my family went to the Grand for afternoon tea. It was slightly disappointing to me as I had hoped that the cakes would have been more like home made. I was surprised to find that when we asked for more tea we were charged extra for it, that has never happened in the past when I have been to afternoon teas at many different places I do wonder if that was a mistake.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squibs187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Sorry that you were disappointed with our afternoon tea.

I'm a little confused about your comment on the cakes not being home made - I can confirm that all of our cakes are freshly prepared by our Pastry Chef each day and this includes Scones, pastries, cheesecakes, biscuits, desserts and even our restaurant breads.

We believe that our afternoon teas offer very good value for money at just £10.25 per person to include pot of tea, scone, choice of 2 sandwiches, choice of 2 cakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.1 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,402 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,112 reviews
1.8 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing