We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and sea front”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2008

AMAZING!
Was going to book the standard room, but booked a superior. As the only rooms with sea views are executive and up but the executive rooms were for business really. When we got there, they had upgraded us to the bridal suite!
Fantastic four poster bed, double jacuzzi, chaise longue and panoramic beach and sea views!
Desk staff are friendly and helpful, the bar is extremely comfortable. Have no hesitation in recommending this place for a romantic getaway.
Breakfast was delicious (although the waitress was a little stuffy). Right on the seafront, this is a gem!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphmalphshafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2008

this hotel is your typical old english seaside grand hotel
but thank goodness in this case it has not been allowed to go to rack and ruin
the public rooms are spotless airy with all new fixtures and fittings
superb chandaliers in the dining room and a grand hotel type staircase at the side of reception
my room was superb great view large bed with luxury bedding huge bathroom lovely fittings could not fault
bar snacks were good and varied breakfast fabulous good all round staff(all local people) makes a differance will definatly stay again
straw bear

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

we stayed in this hotel on new years eve , the room we had was lovely (room 444 - sea veiw) the best room we have stayed in so far. we celebrated the new year in the orchid room and had a fabulous time , the meal we had was just wonderful , i am so glad we stayed here for the new year celebratings will certainly do it again for 2008

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackrussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

We decided to book into the Grand as our usual B&B was full. We booked a twin room in the annex and were surprised and delighted to get there and be given a 3 storey town house to ourselves next door, overlooking the beach - for £80!

We could easily have slept 8 people in it and the rooms were enormous - the bathroom could have taken 4 cars parked in there! The furniture is a bit old fashioned, but there is plenty of it. The living room has a panaromic view of the beach and it was clean and tidy.

I think we must have gotten very lucky! The staff were ok, not exactly rude, but not most helpful either. I can't comment on the noise as we were not in the main building, but parking was a bit busy.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We stayed at The Grand last weekend and had a great time. We were warned before we booked that our superior room was over a disco but as we were going out it wasn't a problem. The room (219) was lovely - it looked out over the sea and had one of the best bathrooms I have been in. The wallpaper was a bit grubby in places but overall it was great.
The staff on the whole are very pleasant and helpful but there are a couple who are a bit abrupt and not very customer friendly.
The breakfast is fine with lots of choice.
The only problem we had was with a bar meal we had in the bar. My partners was fine but I ordered a greek salad which was suppposed to come with goats cheese instead of feta. It got worse when they didn't have any goats cheese and tried to substitute mozzarella!?. Instead I ordered a chicken ceasar salad which had mountains of red cabbage in it, this made it very bitter and spoilt what would have been a reasonably good salad. Overall I would recommend this hotel but try and get a superior or deluxe room with a sea view.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saldav9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We recently had our wedding reception in the Grand and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay. The location and views from the hotel are fantastic as is the entrance hall and staircase.

The reception went very smoothly and from our perspective, the service was excellent, particularly from Leonard, the Master of Ceremonies. The meal was great - couldn't manage any of the buffet though!

Admittedly, we stayed in one of the fancy rooms with a jacuzzi and sea view, which was lovely, so can't comment on any of the other rooms, but didn't hear any grumblings from any of the guests.

Some previous review seem to have found breakfast a problem and I can see how on a very busy day things could become hectic. Nevertheless this wasn't a problem for us and the cooked breakfast was great.

Only slight complaint was that prior to the wedding we arrived to discuss arangements and were told off at receptionfor being half an hour late, despite arriving at the time we were told. However, the wedding co-ordinator herself was extremely helpful and not involved in this "scolding". Thankfully none of this was repeated on the day.

Overall, a big thankyou to all the staff and we had an excellent day. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

This hotel was booked for my parents so that they could enjoy a quiet night in this hotel with its beautiful. However when they arrived they were told the hotel was fully booked and they were sent to The Windsor Hotel in Whitely Bay. The Windsor Hotel is in the middle of the stag and hen night area of Whitley Bay. They had no sleep. We asked the management of The Grand to phone us but they could be bothered.

If yoy do decide to book check that it isnt already full and get assurances that you will not be sent to The Winsdor.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank dptg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.1 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
730 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,508 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range: £98 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing