We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The staff were lovely very helpful the hotel is beautiful. I will definitely be staying here in the future. Beautiful views. Lively comfortable clean rooms. I have nothing to fault in this hotel. Breakfast was great. Not buffet but really good.
I can only recommend this place :-)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank TraceyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The staff and service in this hotel is of a high standard. If you get the right room the view is extraordinary. However the hotel is tiered and worn. The annex is appalling for a hotel with this rating.
If there are weddings on then it can be chaotic and the bar service for residents is hopeless. You can not get a seat in the lounge for wedding guests
I would not recommend this hotel nor would we use it again. It is expensive and particularly if you end up in the annex
Very disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I attended a wedding here in December. It's a good venue for a party and the wedding was lovely. However the bedroom room was tired and the bed like concrete, although it was immaculately clean. The staff were aloof and not very approachable but saying that they did not do anything wrong either. The food was tasty and the selection good. The wedding room was beautifully presented and nice and warm on a cold night. Parking is an issue. The bridal suite was simply fabulous and made it special for the happy couple. Would I go to another do there - yes

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here on a business trip, booked direct with the hotel, who said we would be staying in what we though was a extra wing or an annexe added on to the beautiful main hotel, well as you can see from the pics, I got that one wrong, I was still rather hoping for a sea view or even a sea glimpse would of been okay, the one window we had in the room had a miserable view as you can see, the only saving grace was the food in the hotel was very good indeed and the staff that attended to us for dinner, were brilliant! they were young, extremely attentive, polite and very slick, my girlfriend commented on the lovely home made piccalilli that accompanied her meal and the next thing our waitress came over with a jar of it to take away with us. Thank You Chef, top draw, sadly the security at the airport would not let us take it on board, I would stay hear again, only if I was in the main hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the room we stayed in 531
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonytony1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the 29th and 30th of November as we were part of a wedding party. We had a special offer for 2 nights which included a 3 course dinner, bottle of wine and a box of chocolates in our room and breakfast.
We were very impressed on entering the hotel, however when we eventually reached our room (the corridors were like a rabbits warren), we were disappointed. The corridor smelt of damp, our room was a bit dated and the bath was stuck in a corner which was quite awkward trying to put the plug in, there was a shower but no shower curtain. We felt the room could have had finishing touches for the price we paid.
When we seen the rest of the families rooms they were much more spacious and they also had walk in showers! We are not ones for complaining so we put up with it.
A very positive note, the wedding was a huge success and an excellent day. Lots of praise for the staff who had everything running to precision. The meal was excellent and made all guests very welcome.
I would definitely stay again however I would ask to change my room if it was not suitable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trotskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is second to none what a perfect location looking out over the renowned long sands Tynemouth out to the North Sea. It was good to see the surfers out there enjoying the very rough sea.
This hotel is perfect for a romantic break or business trip, The rooms are very comfortable as are the beds. You want for nothing in the rooms and the public rooms are also very comfortable.
The food and service is excellent, we ate in the Victoria's Restaurant just recently refurbished to a very high standard, a good choice of menu with service second to none, We will definatly be going back.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the front of the hotel overlooking to North Sea
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billmitchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for a Birthday and family get together, the Staff were friendly, we where given a room on the top floor overlooking the sea, but the previous resident either had very poor hygiene or very smelly feet, so we ask to be move which was done without drama and actually we where given a more modern clean comfy room, with a well presented bathroom.
The dinner in the banquet room on the ground floor which was served by friendly staff and the food was of good quality and plenty of it, Breakfast was served in the main restaurant which has a great view of the beach and is nicely decorated and was of good quality with a good variety. The hotel is in a good location close to the beach and main street where their are quite a few restaurants pubs and bars, I enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stay in 104
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.1 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
729 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,504 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range: £97 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing