We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We recently attended a wedding at the grand hotel and stay overnight too. The room was lovely with a large very comfortable bed. The room was a bit small but probably down to the massive bed! The wedding reception venue was lovely with a great view of the beach! Lovely stay and great breakfast with plenty of choice. Clean and cosy!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LaurenC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

In a commanding position overlooking beautiful Tynemouth beach, the Grand is very traditional, but very well done.
The views out of the restaurant and rooms at the front are stunning especially on a sunny day. The room had been refurbished fairly recently and was modern, clean and well kept. The small bathroom had traditional style fixtures and fittings which were in keeping with the building.
Public rooms are nice and comfortable, with a fairly formal lounge bar, and more laid back pub (which did excellent pub food).
They aren't really set up for business meetings and were possibly a little amateur about it, but don't let that stop you staying.
The cherry on the cake was the cost- at about £80 per head B&B it was a bargain.

Room Tip: Get a room with at the front with a view, you will never want to go out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavetheFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a cheeky half day with a colleague so we decided to wander to Tynemouth for afternoon tea. We opted for the prosecco option. Delicious sandwiches, lovely fruit scone with jam and clotted cream then a delightful selection of mini victoria sponge, bakewell tart, lemon meringue and chocolate tart. Very enjoyable whilst overlooking the sunny beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Popster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We live about 100 yards from The Grand, and needed somewhere to stay whilst getting work done on our home.

We booked in for a single night. The room was okay - not sure why they would think a glass door on the bathroom is a good idea - not that keen on seeing the other half on the loo as I sit in bed. Otherwise the room was fine, a little small but with a comfy bed.

There was a private party going on down the hall but noise from this stopped before midnight.

We had dinner in the more informal restaurant. Food and drink was okay, but nothing special considering the price. I think perhaps you need to use the more formal setting to see the best they offer?

Breakfast was a shambles. The young ladies serving were clearly trying hard but run off their feet. We were shown to a table which was only partially made up. There where no bowls, plates or glasses available for use by the breakfast buffet..

After twenty minutes, and seeing other diners who had just come in being served, I had to go and ask for service. Breakfast then took an age in coming with items ordered missing (including the coffee). We had not cups on our table anyway..... They also managed the worst scrambled eggs ever - could only imagine they used out of date egg powder - why can't hotels get one of the simplest dishes right? A loud crash/smashing from the kitchen suggested it was going no smoother in there.

One server explained someone had rang in ill. I can only assume it was the manager, as right outside the breakfast room, several staff with apparently nothing to do where hanging around the reception. Can't have been that hard to reassign someone to help out.

If you have to stay in Tynemouth, the Grand would still be the best choice, but slightly wider afield there are better options available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoho0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Got took out for a treat off friends of ours, and he choose the Grand being on our doorstep I have visited this place before. I was really surprised when I arrived the place was lovely, I informed a member of staff we had a table booked, where told if we like could have a drink in the bar first, which we did since we were not in a hurry. Once in the restaurant the menu was really quite good,
I started with a breast of pigeon, which very nice indeed, the other 3 went for the king prawn starter again very good. we followed by 3 fillet steaks, and one salmon all were cooked perfect.
This place is well worth a visit, but I would recommend to book a table.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saferad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We attended a family wedding her on May 26th, the location was beautiful near the old town of Tynemouth,a lovely view out to sea and Tynemouth Longsands; a very grand stair case, lovely rooms, pleasant staff and nice buffet. All in all a lovely place to be for a wedding.
Family inform us it was comfortable and the bedrooms comfy and very good

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShippingForecast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had a wonderfully restful weekend at this lovely hotel. I particularly enjoyed the window seat in my room which overlooked the beach and the sea. Wonderful service and excellent food. I would love to come back here one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.1 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
765 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,883 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,204 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing