We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weekend stay for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A weekend stay for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We returned yesterday from a two night stay, my my husband and 8 year old daughter to attend my brothers wedding which was all held at ~The Grand. From start to finish we were looked after so well. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Hotel is in a beautiful spot right on the beach. The room the ceremony was conducted in was light, spacious, beautifully decorated and looked out to the sea. The rooms are spotlessly clean and breakfasts are delicious! The evening reception was held in the room downstairs and was great fun, the pig roast buffet was gorgeous. All in all a fantastic weekend!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but if you can get a sea view, its a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimjr0berts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    188
    78
    36
    20
See reviews for
164
259
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed for one night as it was the venue of a friend's wedding reception.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful from the receptionists to the waiting staff.

Rooms are furnished with a great eye for detail. I was in a twin room (106) with a comfortable double bed and further bed made up from a sofa. It was at the back of the hotel and there was some external noise from the flats across the street. Bathroom was very swish with an amazing power shower. I'm not a fab of frosted glass bathroom doors though!

Food throughout stay was excellent with a great breakfast the following morning and morning coffee in the lounge overlooking the sea.

All in all a comfortable nights stay and a fantastic venue for a wedding reception - we even went in the beach between the wedding breakfast and evening reception!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jkbmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The 3 bedroom suite in the Laurel Annexe was incredible. Large rooms, great views, and huge beds. A posh hotel with traditional interior. Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night and we would definately visit again

Room Tip: Book a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Grand was built in 1872 as a seaside residence for the Duke and Duchess of Northumberland, and is now a comfortable hotel with a huge lounge and dining room whose windows overlook the beautiful sandy beach. We stayed in Laurel House next door, a bay fronted Victorian town house now converted into en-suite accommodation, so named for Stan Laurel (Laurel and Hardy made a point of staying at the Grand when playing at the Theatre Royal in Newcastle). We had a seaview room and it was a wonderful scene to wake up to every morning. The breakfast, included in our room rate, was ample, with a good range of hot food freshly cooked to order including kippers, full English (with vegetarian option) and Eggs Benedict, alongside the usual cereals,croissants, fruit juice, etc. Copperfields offers good bar food during the day and into the evening if you don't want a restaurant meal. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the Metro, where there is a thriving market every weekend. The area is beautiful with some lovely walks - and great surf for the actively inclined. I went swimming one morning - and couldn't get my breath back, the water was so cold. A couple of locals thought I was mad! It was a marvellous few days away and we will definitely return. The only minor gripe was the service over the weekend, as there were several wedding parties at breakfast and not enough staff to cope.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at The Grand Annex, Laurel House, for 2 weeks many years ago when we were waiting to move into our flat. My kids are teenagers now and wanted a return visit. We love The Grand! The Laurel house room we had both times had amazing views of the sea and street below and plenty of space! It was so nice to sit in front of the windows with a drink and wind down at night. The beds and linens were super comfy (a much need upgrade from many years ago). The bathroom is great with a shower and a tub.
The front desk people are so friendly and helpful to call a cab or make a reservation.
The breakfast included is amazing! So many choices!
We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've just stayed a week at this lovey hotel in a seaview room for three. We were wowed.

The Grand strikes the perfect balance of providing old world elegance while not feeling at all stuffy or pretentious.

The building is right across the street from the ocean, with lovely views. There are lots of large windows to enjoy the view while keeping warm (Northern England is not known for its balmy weather after all). You could not ask for a better location for enjoying the view or the water (if you are brave enough) and are only a very short and easy walk from the old village with many shops and restaurants.

The hotel itself is a lovely old building, with sweeping central staircase, chandeliers, etc. It has much of the elegance of the period and has been kept in nice condition, but it does also have some quirks and shows its age in a few places, things that add to the charm and do not cause issues, in my opinion (such as the grand staircase tilting at a noticeable angle as you walk on it or some marks in the plaster of room walls, behind the curtains where older fixtures for curtain ties must have been).

It was very comfortable. Beds (we had a double and a twin), seating area, etc were in great shape and we slept well. There was plenty of hot water in the bathroom, free internet worked well, except for some spotty times in the afternoon (I realized towards the end of the stay that housekeeping was unplugging the repeater to run vacuums--so it would likely have worked had I known to sit in the lobby at that point).

Breakfast is provided in the lovely, ocean view, restaurant and is outstanding. Linen table cloths and china are on each table. There is a cold buffer of cereals, juices, fresh fruit, croissants, jellies, etc. Additionally, you can order a full English breakfast (eggs, fried toast, bacon, sausage, beans and black pudding), eggs Benedict or a continental breakfast of meats and cheeses. Service was quick and the food was really good and plentiful.

Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay and a great atmosphere for the price. I hope to return many times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were booked into the family suite (536) at the end of our family C2C trip. We were blown away by the amount of space this allowed us! Two generous doubles (one with a single in too) and a twin, over two floors in the apartment next door to the main hotel. Lovely bathroom on the 'top' floor with walk in shower. All very clean and well presented. Huge main room overlooking the sea, with ample seating area and en suite. Massive very comfy bed! Staff were reasonably helpful although they were very busy. Breakfast was excellent with good choice. The only down side would be that we had to climb two long flights of stairs to reach our rooms and there were no lifts....a bit of a pain with a family's worth of heavy luggage! We were also very lucky to get a parking space outside the hotel, (as there is no designated car park) but it could have been even harder carrying all that luggage if we had had to park in the street as was suggested by the receptionist. Overall a lovely bit of family luxury for us!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.8 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing