We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martineau Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Tynemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Y Felinelli
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Sea”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Sally’s Taste of the Sea Weekend at the Martineau House is a unique experience and was a great success for our Mum and Daughter trip. We wanted something special and memorable, particularly as it was part of my friend’s big birthday celebration too, and we weren’t disappointed. Tynemouth is an attractive location and the historic Martineau House is well positioned on Front Street where old and new blend together well. The sea and ancient Priory are at the end of the street while several smart eateries, bars and interesting shops are in easy walking distance.
The rooms were warm, clean and well appointed. Even though we had a room looking out on the street, we were not disturbed by the Saturday night Christmas party atmosphere. Sally's kitchen was open and available and the breakfasts, cooked in front of you, are superb - the Best hollandaise sauce on the poached eggs I've had! Sally loves cooking and has created a clever concept for the weekend which not only includes staying in a comfortable, historical place, eating food in great local places but also being shown how to cook and prepare seafood, then eating it! The trip to the fish quay at 7am was a great part of this experience - and I'm not a morning person - with the chance to meet some lovely people in the local fish industry who gave us a tour and lots of information. We had a tutorial in the afternoon on how to prepare the seafood which I found very useful. Then in the evening Sally created a lovely dinner party with the fish we had prepared in her homely kitchen /diner. This was a quality experience and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
88
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

A really friendly welcome from Phil & we were very well looked after in Sally's absence! Well equipped room with some nice personal touches. Fantastic breakfast & close to the beach to walk it off! Right in the centre of Tynemouth which has loads of bars, restaurants and little independent shops, and even on a busy Saturday night, our room (at the back) was very quiet. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheGetawayGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WREXHAM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Beautifully clean, welcoming and homely place. stylish but with character.Sally was attentive without being intrusive. Excellent breakfast, and facilities.Free Wifi appreciated.Smooth book in and check out.If we could advise anything...maybe the addition of a winter duvet, but that is just splitting hairs and very much a personal preference.An additional heater was available to bring into the room. Thankyou.We will visit again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanglePantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend the rooms were excellent everything provided for you nice and warm too. Breakfast choices out of this world excellent food cooked to perfection. Are definitely returning and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philnlil1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed with sally at Martineau House for the Weekend. Our Room Priory View was Clean, Comfortable and Spacious. The view from the window was amazing looked out onto the Tyne and the sea using binoculars we could see all the Ships. My husband had the Big Geordie Breakfast and managed it all much to Sally's delight he would thoroughly recommend having it I had my usual Bacon Sandwich and Cereal. This was our 3rd visit and it won't be our last. Sally is very friendly and very knowledgeable on where to eat. Thank you Sally see u again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alisonnurserynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Enjoyed staying here. Lovely room with view over beach-even binoculars in the room. Bus stop nearby and easy walk to metro. Tynemouth was a delightful surprise with cafes, beaches, priory and easily accessible to Newcastle. Would stay here again rather than the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunaverty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for two nights while my partner was working unsociable hours (midnight to 4.30am) in Newcastle. Sally was great at accommodating our strange hours and was very helpful. For 50p a day you can get a scratch-off parking permit to park in the street outside the Martineau - very handy.

We had the Priory Room with wonderful views out over the sea and the statue of Collingwood - I was happy to just sit in the window and watch the world go by. The room was very comfortable, with a small ensuite shower room and a good hospitality tray. Fresh milk is always available for the tea and coffee.

The breakfasts are fantastic with a great choice in addition to the usual continental and full cooked options. Guests all eat together at one table, which is very sociable and pleasant.

Tynemouth is a small village with some good restaurants and lots of cafes (we ate at Davanti and Barca, both good). There are some great walks along the beaches and out on the piers. All in all a lovely place to visit and I would recommend the Martineau as a base.

Room Tip: Priory Room has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
2.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
714 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 10 in Whitley Bay
115 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martineau Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martineau Guest House

Property: Martineau Guest House
Address: 57 Front Street, Tynemouth NE30 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martineau Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Martineau Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing