We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martineau Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Tynemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here and used this as our base hotel for riding the coast-to-coast, Hadrian's Wall route in England. The room we had was excellent, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean Clean, there was full size toiletries, wonderful breakfast, easy to find on front Street. And above all some of the best service you will ever experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
83
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife in the collingwood room. Sally the owner is very friendly with a easy going way about her and makes you feel welcome. The room had a sea view and was very clean the bed comfortable so had a great sleep. Ensuite is ideal. Breakfast was superb the best cooked breakfast I have had. Lovely fresh fruit also. I have stayed at the Grand hotel a few times but will go back here in future it's not cheap but you pay for what you get and it's definitely good value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Auchtubh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Went on the recommendation of a friend and it was just the perfect place. Only minutes from Newcastle, and on the metro, whilst feeling the sea breeze as if you were a million miles away. We were welcomed by the lovely Sally and immediately made to feel at home. The room was clean a great view and had all the small touches that make the difference ... Decent drinks, homemade shortbread, even an extra toothbrush. The house is stocked with new DVDs , games and books perfect for relaxing. We had plenty of places in tynemouth for ann evening meal. Raising for breakfast was joyous and the choice perfect. I went for smoked haddock, which was amazingly fresh and beautifully cooked. If you are in the area this is the guest house for you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was so lovely and Sally was welcoming. What's lovely about this property is the history...Lady Byron, one of the Bronte sisters not to mention Harriet herself. Sleeping in her room looking out at a view that inspired her to write... So very English.... And of course a breakfast with fresh fish x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickieLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

A warm welcome from Sally and an offer of Christmas cake to start our stay. A room at the top with a view over the river and the priory. The sunrise on our second morning stopped our rush to be ready for the day. Breakfasts were delicious and we wished we were staying longer so we could try everything on the menu. We explored the town, market and river walk. The suggested restaurants were good choices. It was the perfect location for a weekend to recover from the business of Christmas and New Year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Felinelli
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Sally’s Taste of the Sea Weekend at the Martineau House is a unique experience and was a great success for our Mum and Daughter trip. We wanted something special and memorable, particularly as it was part of my friend’s big birthday celebration too, and we weren’t disappointed. Tynemouth is an attractive location and the historic Martineau House is well positioned on Front Street where old and new blend together well. The sea and ancient Priory are at the end of the street while several smart eateries, bars and interesting shops are in easy walking distance.
The rooms were warm, clean and well appointed. Even though we had a room looking out on the street, we were not disturbed by the Saturday night Christmas party atmosphere. Sally's kitchen was open and available and the breakfasts, cooked in front of you, are superb - the Best hollandaise sauce on the poached eggs I've had! Sally loves cooking and has created a clever concept for the weekend which not only includes staying in a comfortable, historical place, eating food in great local places but also being shown how to cook and prepare seafood, then eating it! The trip to the fish quay at 7am was a great part of this experience - and I'm not a morning person - with the chance to meet some lovely people in the local fish industry who gave us a tour and lots of information. We had a tutorial in the afternoon on how to prepare the seafood which I found very useful. Then in the evening Sally created a lovely dinner party with the fish we had prepared in her homely kitchen /diner. This was a quality experience and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

A really friendly welcome from Phil & we were very well looked after in Sally's absence! Well equipped room with some nice personal touches. Fantastic breakfast & close to the beach to walk it off! Right in the centre of Tynemouth which has loads of bars, restaurants and little independent shops, and even on a busy Saturday night, our room (at the back) was very quiet. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheGetawayGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martineau Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martineau Guest House

Property: Martineau Guest House
Address: 57 Front Street, Tynemouth NE30 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martineau Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martineau Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing