We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Plaza Tandoori - CLOSED

Plaza Tandoori
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Adjacent to Tynemouth Park
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This restaurant has to be my favourite! Plaza tandoori has a warm and welcome atmosphere, thanks Dud!
The food it great and service is definitely with a smile :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toritoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking Indian ”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is just down the road from my dad's so I've been coming here for years. It's a cracking Indian with great staff. The staff are brilliant (especially Dud) and food is some of the best Indian food I've ever had. Definitely try any fish curry and the monster prawns.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I would recommend this place to anyone. The staff (especially Dud) are so welcoming and really made our 1st time in The Plaza feel special. The whole experience was hypnotising. Thank you Dud for your fantastic hospitality. We will definitely be recommending.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailorshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Always good to go for a curry with the family. Been to this place a few times before, but not for a while. Service was great. Poppadums came with nice pickles, especially the sliced onion which tasted fresh and went well with the other sauces. Varied menu, though would prefer some more interesting vegetarian dishes. In the end, i went for a veg balti which was nice, especially discovering that broccoli and curry can go well together which is a phrase I never thought I'd see myself type. Wife and kids enjoyed their meals, though the kids found the veg korma a bit spicy, good sized portions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Food was delicious. Very clean cosy restaurant lovely atmosphere and Dud the guy who served us made us feel very welcome was very friendly and attentive. Will be back very soon. Thanks for a lovely meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louise_wood09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plaza Tandoori also viewed

Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing