We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and lovely flat inside”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jodie A
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and lovely flat inside”
Reviewed 28 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This is a great place to rent for a week or so in tynemouth. The location and views from the large windows in the living room and bedroom are stunning. Very clean and tidy. The kitchen and bathroom are very modern, and it's just over all a lovely space to be in as the rooms are very large and tastefully furnished. Its a lovely quiet spot and only 5 minutes walk to tynemouth village, and some scenic walks along the water are just across the road. There are some good toys/games for kids if needed. My only suggestion would possible be that a spare bed ie a fold up bed, be taken if you have children, as the main bedroom is very spacious and you could set up a spare bed in there instead of the living room sofa bed having to be used.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Views and location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay R
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquil,Tasteful, Timeless Tynemouth”
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

A beautiful apartment with great views. Quiet location and a great base to explore the beautiful coastline and countryside of the North East.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the apartment itself
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenfrom...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, comfortable apartment in an excellent location”
Reviewed 18 January 2012 for a stay in June 2011

We know the area well and chose Collingwood House for its convenient location and wonderful views. It lived up to expectations; we were made very welcome and very much enjoyed our week there. We found the apartment comfortable and spacious for two and the bed settee in the lounge was a bonus when we had a surprise overnight visit from our son. The compact kitchen was well equipped. Regular shower users may be disappointed because there is no separate shower but we prefer baths anyway. Whilst suitable for a couple it is worth mentioning that the impressive steps up to the entrance may be a drawback for those with mobility problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Kitchen rather small compared with lounge and bedroom
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2012
Thank you we have just fitted a luxurious new bathroom, with a bath and shower.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslieang...
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“would like to come back in summer”
Reviewed 16 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

My husband and I stopped off in England on our way back to U.S. from Greece. I wanted to see the area and do research on my ancestery. My grandfather, and his family were from this area so we needed a place to stay a few days and we found Collinwood House. A lovely place with everthing you need. It has a kitchen stocked with plates, pots, silverware, ect.. All you need is food, which there is a grocery store around corner. It was cold and rained of course it was October, but we got out took trains, buses, and taxi's with no problem. The only thing I didn't like was there was no shower. There is a tub, but if you have any back or neck problems as I do, it is very hard to bend against the wall to wash hair and get out of tub. I did see a attachment for a hand held shower head, and maybe they just didn't attach it yet. If that was fixed it would be great! Having washer was a plus.The view was nice. Would like to go back when weather is a bit warmer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the tub
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2012
Thank you for your review I am pleased to say that we have just updated the whole bathroom and fitted a shower. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel H
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect tonic in a wonderful setting!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed at Collingwood house for a week in Summer 2011 shortly after it became available for holiday lets. We were coming up for a friends 30th birthday party in Tynemouth and as we used to live in Newcastle, decided to make a week of it. After looking for holiday lets in Tynemouth I was excited to find Collingwood house as it is far from the other holiday lets available in the town. It is located a short walk from the main street in Tynemouth with sea views on a lovely quiet street of terraced period properties of a wonderfully large scale. The owners were lovely to deal with and have clearly put a lot of consideration into the decor and style of the apartment. Unlike the ther holiday lets which were more cottagey in style and a bit drab looking for a similar price, Collingwood house has a lovely entrance hall, a huge living/dining room flooded with light from 2 large original bay windows which was extremely spacious, a large bedroom with another huge bay window filled with period furniture done up with a subtle contemporary style, a lovely bathroom with roll top bath (no shower, the only drawback) and a small but perfectly functional kitchen as we did eat out most evenings. We have recommended it to friends and would certainly go back there without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, style & location of the property
Liked least: No shower
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2012
Thank you for your review, the bathroom has now been done up and it has a fantastic shower too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$154
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing