We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surfing lesson!”

Longsands Surf School
Ranked #12 of 17 things to do in Tynemouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surfing on Longsands. We operate a Surf School and Surf Club on Tynemouth Longsands beach situated at the bottom of the ramp next to Crusoe’s cafe. Our surf instructors are fully qualified lifeguards and are qualified with either the Academy of surfing instructors or SurfingGB coaching certificates. All equipment is supplied, surfboards, wetsuits, boots and gloves if needed, all you need to bring is swimwear and a towel.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great surfing lesson!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My son's 1st try at surfing and he loved it, will definitely book again. Barry is very good with kids and made the lesson fun. My son now wants a lesson every time he comes to visit nana. Thanks Barry.
Cafe on beach to buy a coffee and watch the surfing, and plenty of public toilets and outdoor showers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank theantonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grandson learning to surf the waves!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our 7 year grandson has enjoyed every minute of his surfing lessons with Barry and Shaun. They are great with children. At 7 years old he can now stand on the surf board (well some of the time!) and is full of confidence. Really can recommend this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Parking a joke”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Don't bother my son went no changing facilities so got changed on the long sands bank toilets where used by others but not much better lesson was ok but son felt cold then had to get changed again outside so it didn't help

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry2bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best attraction at the coast”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

My Daughter loves Barry's club and goes every Sunday. The tuition is second to none and the structure of the teaching is great fun. All ages attend, Robson Green joined in for a session last year, and when my daughter had her birthday party at the club last September, all 10 of her guests had a fantastic party. A great way to enjoy the best the coast has to offer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley bay
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Myself and my 7 year daughter have enjoyed several lessons with longsands surf school.Barry shares his passion for surfing with his students making you feel confident and safe in the water.
Highly recommend this great experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longsands Surf School also viewed

Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Longsands Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing