We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor poor and poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Montagu Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Reviewed 3 January 2014

on arrival the girl who i think was new was not sure of how to check me in using credit card, when she asked for help she was told she should know. not a great way to speak to staff. the room had wallpaper hanging off the wall, crisp packets in between the double glazing as padding and paint on the windows. asked what time the bar stayed open to at night, we told them we would be back in at midnight and told they would still be serving at that time. arrived back after walking passed several bars at quarter to 12 and it was all closed. breakfast was a joke. no cooked option and couple of boxes of cornflakes and what looked like supermarket mega save bread for toast (banged my head plugging the toaster in under a table). i have twice e-mailed them with my gripes and still no reply.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Pictures on sites look good. You walk in and it's not. Very shabby. Old fashioned. My friend and I checked out.
Dirty windows. Glass and frames.
Old furniture.
Old carpets.
Creaky floor.
It's like a place that's been closed for years and has just been reopened but not revamped

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank TraceyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We held a conference at the Park Hotel for 50 staff and were incredibly impressed with the quality of service. Every request was catered for and there was always a member of staff on hand to ensure our event ran smoothly.
After training, we enjoyed a carvery meal in the restaurant as well as an overnight stay. The bar was a perfect place to relax at the end of the day with plenty of space for us all.
The hotel is in the process of being modernised and many of the rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and all are very comfortable.
The location is excellent right on the sea front and we will certainly use the Park Hotel again!

Room Tip: Request a recently decorated room with a sea view- gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Around about this time of year hundreds of scooter enthusiasts descend on The Park Hotel for two days of fun , music and meeting up with old friends. We always book a room for bed and breakfast. The Park Hotel almost seems like 2 hotels in 1 . The reception area , the bar, the function rooms and the restaurant are all clean and very acceptable , however the bedrooms are at the very best poor. Our bedroom was very stale smelling and I had to open the window fully to try and freshen it up. There was a tv in the room, but no remote to switch it on. the small wall lamp didn't work, neither did the make up light above the mirror. The carpet and curtains were both dated and dirty and the wall next to the waste basket was stained. The seat in the toilet would not stay up and had to be held up when it was being used and the small bar of soap wasn't even new.
For the last three years we had never managed to get a breakfast, it is a buffet style breakfast but there has always been insufficient food for the number of guests. This year however when we went down for breakfast we were one of the first down and there was ample to choose from ( the toaster wasn't working though ).
So I would say the hotel is a great place to have a function , lots of room and friendly staff, but the bedrooms need a major overhaul.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ukscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spend an evening here a few weeks ago as my friend was taking part in a boxing match here. The bar was averagely priced, the area where we were expected to sit didnt have enough seats however. Staff coped well with the amount of people. Wouldnt stay here overnight.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank KH2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

after reading previous reviews i was dreading going to the hotel,but once there most of the remarks made were unfounded.yes the hotel in parts wants some upgrading, it was clean and the staff were excellent although they could have done with extra hands.we were a party of 50 and the waitress must have found it hard to attend to us although the manager chipped in.the barman i think his name was gary was great and joseph was very obliging.there is nothing much to do at this time of year near the hotel and was a good 20 minutes walk to the village.the breakfasts were very good you did your own toast/evening meals had a choice and was buffet style.overall i could not fault the hotel for the money we paid.

Room Tip: room 212 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tingtong37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A group of us went to the Park Hotel for Sunday lunch recently - it was the first time I had been in the place and, as far as the food was concerned, and I was pleasantly surprised. They have a two course, main and dessert, menu for £7.95 p (children £4.95) which, considering how much food there was excellent value. The main meal is a carvery with chicken (or was it turkey), roast beef and ham which is all carved at your request. You can even have all three if you wish and the servings were large. Fresh veg and roast potatoes were buffet style - everything was served hot and was very tasty. There was a choice of desserts which again were very good. Everyone enjoyed their meals without complaint. The staff were very polite and courteous. They were quick without being pushy and their smiles and positive attitudes went a long way.
The Park Hotel is a very imposing building and for anyone wanting pre dinner drinks the bar has tremendous views out to sea. The only down side as far as I was concerned was that the place appeared to be rather tired - chipped tables (covered with clean white table clothes) and some stained chairs. A small price to pay for an excellent value for money Sunday lunch. Given the chance I will go to the Park Hotel again for Sunday lunch!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
734 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,812 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
342 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montagu Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montagu Park Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Tynemouth NE30 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range: £57 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montagu Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly reberbished Art Deco hotel overlooking Tynemouth Longsands with 55 en-suite bedrooms, 6 function suites, bar and restaurant. Our multi-purpose function suites can hold weddings from 70 to 1000 people. For corporate and entertainment events we can hold up to 2000 people depending on the type of event. We are situated in the historic coastal village of Tynemouth with its award winning beaches and charming village front street. We are in a great location if you wish to explore the spectacular Northumbrian coast or wish to shop in Newcastle city centre or the Metro Centre. We have 200+ free parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Montagu Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing