We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Montagu Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Reviewed 6 February 2014

On arrival at reception i was greeted by a plate of uneaten french fries on the business side of the counter(unfished snack i assume?)
Rooms were very very distasteful indeed...a complete refurbish would be needed to become a well sought after hotel again(which it was in the 60's and 70's)
Television "table" was actually on the floor and i kept kicking it as i walked round the bed and i'm sure i had NHS blankets,bathroom very very grubby,toilet seat would'nt"stay up" ,windows were very dirty and had a lot of cobwebs .
All in all i would'nt recommend this hotel which is a shame as it has great potential..it was very very popular years back.

Room Tip: Tea and coffee in room was the only plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamesbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for a weekend the rooms had big holes in the carpets. We had two single beds put together. The bathroom was filthy. The bathroom door broken mirrors dusty cobwebbs everywhere. Sealent in bathroom mouldy. Extractor fan filthy. Ood trrrible no vegetarian option. Breakfast cold and I had to climb under a table to plug a toaster in. Pat testing last done on appliances in room in 2010.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We drove 400 miles to get to our hotel from Oxfordshire, after a really long and tiring drive we arrived late in the evening and immediately knew we had made a mistake. The only exciting thing for me and my other half was the beach and the sea view. Having arrived at our room, the bed was dressed with rose petals as requested by my other half but the overall look did not look £500 worth, we where paying £200 a night for this and looked like the whole place was falling apart. Heres the main issue I would like to address that made my blood boil, when you pay for a honeymoon suite you don't expect your bed to be put together with two cheap single mattresses! This was was meant to be a king sized bed but you could feel the gap of the single mattresses running through the middle! So don't expect to get a goodnight sleep! The online pictures are deceiving! The TV did not work and the staff did not resolve this issue even upon request. The lighting in the room was appalling, the headboard lights did not work and our room heating was not working so it was heated by two little heater fans that one can get from argos, which I had to get up in the middle of the night and switch it off because the whirring noise drove us mad. Breakfast in the morning, lets not even go there.. a full english fry up is not just beans and a egg! The most upsetting thing being we spent so much on this 3 day break and where not even listened to by the staff to atleast fix our tv. We checked out a day earlier because it was way too shabby for our liking, next time we will be stay by the quayside in the city. As this was nothing but a broken down hotel with shabby fixtures and fittings. Never again.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money! Biggest regret ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

on arrival the girl who i think was new was not sure of how to check me in using credit card, when she asked for help she was told she should know. not a great way to speak to staff. the room had wallpaper hanging off the wall, crisp packets in between the double glazing as padding and paint on the windows. asked what time the bar stayed open to at night, we told them we would be back in at midnight and told they would still be serving at that time. arrived back after walking passed several bars at quarter to 12 and it was all closed. breakfast was a joke. no cooked option and couple of boxes of cornflakes and what looked like supermarket mega save bread for toast (banged my head plugging the toaster in under a table). i have twice e-mailed them with my gripes and still no reply.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Pictures on sites look good. You walk in and it's not. Very shabby. Old fashioned. My friend and I checked out.
Dirty windows. Glass and frames.
Old furniture.
Old carpets.
Creaky floor.
It's like a place that's been closed for years and has just been reopened but not revamped

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank TraceyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We held a conference at the Park Hotel for 50 staff and were incredibly impressed with the quality of service. Every request was catered for and there was always a member of staff on hand to ensure our event ran smoothly.
After training, we enjoyed a carvery meal in the restaurant as well as an overnight stay. The bar was a perfect place to relax at the end of the day with plenty of space for us all.
The hotel is in the process of being modernised and many of the rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and all are very comfortable.
The location is excellent right on the sea front and we will certainly use the Park Hotel again!

Room Tip: Request a recently decorated room with a sea view- gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Around about this time of year hundreds of scooter enthusiasts descend on The Park Hotel for two days of fun , music and meeting up with old friends. We always book a room for bed and breakfast. The Park Hotel almost seems like 2 hotels in 1 . The reception area , the bar, the function rooms and the restaurant are all clean and very acceptable , however the bedrooms are at the very best poor. Our bedroom was very stale smelling and I had to open the window fully to try and freshen it up. There was a tv in the room, but no remote to switch it on. the small wall lamp didn't work, neither did the make up light above the mirror. The carpet and curtains were both dated and dirty and the wall next to the waste basket was stained. The seat in the toilet would not stay up and had to be held up when it was being used and the small bar of soap wasn't even new.
For the last three years we had never managed to get a breakfast, it is a buffet style breakfast but there has always been insufficient food for the number of guests. This year however when we went down for breakfast we were one of the first down and there was ample to choose from ( the toaster wasn't working though ).
So I would say the hotel is a great place to have a function , lots of room and friendly staff, but the bedrooms need a major overhaul.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ukscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
713 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Whitley Bay
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
738 reviews
1.4 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montagu Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montagu Park Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Tynemouth NE30 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montagu Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly reberbished Art Deco hotel overlooking Tynemouth Longsands with 55 en-suite bedrooms, 6 function suites, bar and restaurant. Our multi-purpose function suites can hold weddings from 70 to 1000 people. For corporate and entertainment events we can hold up to 2000 people depending on the type of event. We are situated in the historic coastal village of Tynemouth with its award winning beaches and charming village front street. We are in a great location if you wish to explore the spectacular Northumbrian coast or wish to shop in Newcastle city centre or the Metro Centre. We have 200+ free parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Montagu Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing