We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“line dance weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Montagu Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Montagu Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“line dance weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

well from the outside great big hotel with views out to the north sea. huge amount of car parking space. staff could not of been any better, willing to help you out as much as they could. they have been refurbishing rooms ours was well maintained. however heating and hot water had an issue with no hot water while getting ready to go out for the evening. Food was piping hot drink is very reasonably priced. would say need more staff as manager and depty seem to be jack of all trades. huge sprung wooden floor and large ballroom. Bus stop right outside to take you right into Newcastle city centre. Metro link to town . Over all i'm hugely satisfied and already booked to go back again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank postman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    85
    78
    77
    174
See reviews for
81
155
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here. My friend Chrissie and I went on a National Holidays trip and this was the Hotel we stayed at. Our room was spotless and we had a very pleasant sea view. Bathroom and toilet were spotless and the shower was great, lovely and warm and powerful too. The room was pleasantly warm so you weren't roasting when in bed. The evening meal was lovely and the english breakfast great too. The staff were all lovely, very pleasant and helpful. The hotel I think is being refreshed and some more work is required but I would definately go again. It's also in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View. We were in 324, nice and spacious. If you want 5 Star then pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pathol3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

First things first this hotel has the most helpful staff, they are keen to get things right...looking round the hotel it is clear to see that some refurbishment work has been done (it's a big place) and there are signs of on-going projects.

I hosted a dance event here, the ballroom is massive. I had 120 guests in total...yes there were complaints about bedrooms a TV not working, draughts (worth noting it was blowing a gale outside and very cold) and heating issues....but overall the majority of the problems were fixed. The hotel rooms were spotlessly clean (and yes I did check thoroughly) the food in the restaurant was well prepared and piping hot. Breakfast was plain but plentiful.

I have re-booked the hotel for next year because I know that the current owners are determined to put this hotel back on the map...they do their best to work with you, but are still encountering a few teething problems.

Over all the hotel was good value, clean, friendly, has free car parking, Wi-Fi on the bar and has the biggest dance floor in the area. A great combination for my purpose

Room Tip: as for a room at the front ...the sea view is remarkable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roomball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

On arrival at reception i was greeted by a plate of uneaten french fries on the business side of the counter(unfished snack i assume?)
Rooms were very very distasteful indeed...a complete refurbish would be needed to become a well sought after hotel again(which it was in the 60's and 70's)
Television "table" was actually on the floor and i kept kicking it as i walked round the bed and i'm sure i had NHS blankets,bathroom very very grubby,toilet seat would'nt"stay up" ,windows were very dirty and had a lot of cobwebs .
All in all i would'nt recommend this hotel which is a shame as it has great potential..it was very very popular years back.

Room Tip: Tea and coffee in room was the only plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tynemouth hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for a weekend the rooms had big holes in the carpets. We had two single beds put together. The bathroom was filthy. The bathroom door broken mirrors dusty cobwebbs everywhere. Sealent in bathroom mouldy. Extractor fan filthy. Ood trrrible no vegetarian option. Breakfast cold and I had to climb under a table to plug a toaster in. Pat testing last done on appliances in room in 2010.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We drove 400 miles to get to our hotel from Oxfordshire, after a really long and tiring drive we arrived late in the evening and immediately knew we had made a mistake. The only exciting thing for me and my other half was the beach and the sea view. Having arrived at our room, the bed was dressed with rose petals as requested by my other half but the overall look did not look £500 worth, we where paying £200 a night for this and looked like the whole place was falling apart. Heres the main issue I would like to address that made my blood boil, when you pay for a honeymoon suite you don't expect your bed to be put together with two cheap single mattresses! This was was meant to be a king sized bed but you could feel the gap of the single mattresses running through the middle! So don't expect to get a goodnight sleep! The online pictures are deceiving! The TV did not work and the staff did not resolve this issue even upon request. The lighting in the room was appalling, the headboard lights did not work and our room heating was not working so it was heated by two little heater fans that one can get from argos, which I had to get up in the middle of the night and switch it off because the whirring noise drove us mad. Breakfast in the morning, lets not even go there.. a full english fry up is not just beans and a egg! The most upsetting thing being we spent so much on this 3 day break and where not even listened to by the staff to atleast fix our tv. We checked out a day earlier because it was way too shabby for our liking, next time we will be stay by the quayside in the city. As this was nothing but a broken down hotel with shabby fixtures and fittings. Never again.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money! Biggest regret ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

on arrival the girl who i think was new was not sure of how to check me in using credit card, when she asked for help she was told she should know. not a great way to speak to staff. the room had wallpaper hanging off the wall, crisp packets in between the double glazing as padding and paint on the windows. asked what time the bar stayed open to at night, we told them we would be back in at midnight and told they would still be serving at that time. arrived back after walking passed several bars at quarter to 12 and it was all closed. breakfast was a joke. no cooked option and couple of boxes of cornflakes and what looked like supermarket mega save bread for toast (banged my head plugging the toaster in under a table). i have twice e-mailed them with my gripes and still no reply.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montagu Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montagu Park Hotel

Property: The Montagu Park Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Tynemouth NE30 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montagu Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel overlooking Tynemouth Longsands with 55 en-suite bedrooms, 6 function suites, bar and restaurant. Our multi-purpose function suites can hold weddings from 70 to 1000 people. For corporate and entertainment events we can hold up to 2000 people depending on the type of event. We are situated in the historic coastal village of Tynemouth with its award winning beaches and charming village front street. We are in a great location if you wish to explore the spectacular Northumbrian coast or wish to shop in Newcastle city centre or the Metro Centre. We have 200+ free parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Montagu Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing