We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts.”
Review of Ecclefechan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ecclefechan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hosts.”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The exterior of this hotel doesnt give a great first impression, and as I had no idea of what to expect (as I didnt make the booking) I was disappointed on arrival. However after a warm welcome from the owners, and they explained that they are currently refurbishing the place I was shown to my room. I was pleasantly surprised to put it mildly! My room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable - a total contrast to the exterior of the premises. The en - suite bathroom was spacious, again very clean, and best of all had a proper power shower (instead of the supposedly 'eco friendly' poor excuse for bad plumbing, bit of a dribble 'showers' provided in most hotels nowadays). I have stayed at 4* hotels with rooms nowhere near as nice as the ones here! My breakfast was served by Joe (the owner) and was very nice indeed. Ecclefechan would be a good base for touring in the area, and this hotel is hard to fault on any score (especially effort from the owners). I hope to stay here again and would heartily reccomend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLench186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    45
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
89
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

You will be welcomed by a warm jovial host, the one aim to please his customers. This is a great base to explore the West Coast of Scotland. The recently modernised rooms are very clean a good size and have all you need for a comfortable stay. The bar area is warm and inviting with a log fire and burner to melt away your chills following a day exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside. The Scottish breakfast is great plenty of it and very tasty, we didn’t eat in during the evening but the menu looked good and prices reasonable. My only criticism would be the toilets downstairs in the bar but as the title says this is a work in progress and his plans are to modernise the whole hotel starting with the rooms and bar area. If the hotel continues to be updated to the same quality as our room then he is onto a winner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to my daughter's wedding. The room was lovely and had been recently refurbished. The food was good and the welcome and the hospitality first class. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

When we arrived here, my heart sank and I wondered what we'd let ourselves in for. The building exterior is very shabby and there is a lot of rubbish at the back. The foyer is very shabby too. But.......when we went into our room - wow! What a surprise! Absolutely immaculate, very well decorated with a huge bathroom. The open stonework on the wall was very well done, all in all, very tasteful and comfortable. Our dog was made very welcome even though Steve (the owner) had to put his dog in another room while we were in the bar (our dog does not like other dogs, so it was safer this way). The bar is partly refurbished and very cosy with the open fire, where old bits of wood from the renovations were being burned. The locals we met were very friendly too and Steve sat and chatted with us after we'd had our Fechan burgers (very tasty!). After a good night's sleep we had a huge, tasty breakfast which set us up for the rest of the day. Steve showed us one of the parts of the hotel which was under renovation - he certainly has some task ahead of him, but is doing a grand job. All in all, we were very impressed and, even though the exterior could do with a little TLC, the rooms are excellent, the welcome is warm, and the beer is good. What more could we want?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attielattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Still a way to go with the building work but weel on the way, The room we had was very large and had every thing you would want for a stay plus a great E/S, They had a set evening meal which as was the other food good.We also found that the staff could not do enough for you. Would stay again when passing.

Room Tip: The new rooms that are up and running we found very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAWBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed one night in a very nice room which had been newly refurbished. the welcome we recieved was warm and friendly. A large number of the owners family were staying because of the village gala the next day. All of them were friendly and pleasant making us feel very much at home. The next day we wanted to stay to see the gala and once again we were encouraged to stay in the hotel as long as we liked even though they were busy.
it is clear that the refurbishment of the hotel is still in progress but the rooms and our food were fine. The gala was the smallest procession i had ever seen but that was not the responsibility of the hotel! overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A wonderful and so friendly hotel .Excellent room and food -we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
0.2 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
146 reviews
12.5 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
5.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
410 reviews
9.2 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
314 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecclefechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecclefechan Hotel

Property: Ecclefechan Hotel
Address: High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecclefechan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Ecclefechan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecclefechan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing