We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ecclefechan Hotel(Ecclefechan)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Corner House Hotel(Annan)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Townhead Hotel(Lockerbie)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
89
36
18
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
36
18
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastbath waternothing too much troublewarm receptiona lovely evening meallots of hot waterquirky hotelspent two nightscomfortable bedhomemade fooddecorated to a very high standardovernight stopsteak piesalmonhome madedouble roomfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After reading reviews on line I was expecting the worst but it wasn't as bad as I'd imagined. John was very welcoming and friendly.
The room could do with freshening up, there were some odd stains on the carpet and the wallpaper was lifting in the bathroom, nothing that wouldn't take much fixing.
I was a bit concerned that their 5 year old granddaughter was wandering around and joined us in the bar at nearly 9pm.
Overall, it wasn't a bad stay but I expected a bit more for the money. I'd paid £90 and would have liked a more substantial breakfast and a fresher decor for that price.
If you don't mind the eccentricities (such as the reception room, a Fox stole in the dining room) then you're in for a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolacube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hello,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & bringing 1 or 2 minor issues to our attention which you encountered during your stay with us, we sincerely hope that they did not detract from your visit to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, and will not deter you from returning again in the future.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed on the way back from the Isle of Mull and couldn't have had a warmer welcome after 6 hours in car. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners - so accomodating. Rooms are light, clean and spacious but it is the ambience and relaxing atmosphere that really make this place special. Food is excellent, home cooked and great value for money and the bar is well stocked with pub rather than hotel prices!
Our dog had graet fun with both Louis and Felicity!!
We cant wait to come and visit again - well done John for creating a unique but refreshing product in this market of corporate bland hotel chains!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSargeant, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind & complimentary review, it does mean a great deal to us that our patrons enjoy their stay & our hospitality.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

John & Babs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We needed to arrange a last minute trip to Scotland and after searching found this hotel.
We booked one night on their own website.
However the following morning they cancelled our booking because the room was not available as it had been rented out by phone.
No help to find another room in the same area and not even a phone call to cancel just an email.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

As explained on the intitial email to you, a telephone call was attempted as is our policy & when this failed we immediately contacted you by email within 24 hours of your booking being processed and over 72 hours prior to your arrival.

A full refund was immediately processed and this was highlighted on the correspondence to you, both emails also stated to contact us if you required any further assistance and you chose not too.

As you can clearly see from our other reviews, we have had excellent feedback from all aspects of our customer service and on this occasion we apologised to you profusely for the error and I offer our apologies to you again.

I hope you enjoy your trip to Dumfries & Galloway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our second visit was for a single night on the way home from a visit down south. It was lovely to go back and find all as we left it before. John couldnt do enough to make us comfortable and the food was excellent at both dinner and breakfast the following morning. We had been given a large room at the front of the hotel this time and it was lovely to have spacwe to move around and a really comfortable bed again. Johns grand-daughter was there and poor wee Louis was being walked off his feet...lol. Clean as a whistle throughout and something interesting everywhere you turn....We'll be back!

Room Tip: Both we have had were good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSargeant, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Firstly thank you very much for your most generous review of our property, it put a smile on my face and also that of my team.
We appreciate the fact you chose to return to stay with us again and hope you will choose to do so in the furture, you will be glad to know that Louis survived is marathon walking sessions and has been sleeping ever since!!!!!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were amazed to read Ledgie1's description of Kirkconnel Hall.
We have stayed 3 times and have popped in for coffee twice and we have never had anything but good service and a warm welcome.
Kirkconnel is a 3 star hotel. It doesn't pretend to be the Ritz. The whole ambience is totally relaxed and friendly and rests on the personalities of John and Babs, the owners. They do appear to have other staff but John is always front of house, which is what gives Kirkconnel Hall it's unique flavour. We always find that he cannot do enough to make guests comfortable and happy - what more could you ask for? Babs works quietly behind the scenes, cooking delicious food and overseeing the domestic arrangements and has a lovely, welcoming approach, as well.
Whenever we stay at Kirkconnel we curl up in the huge armchairs and read by the log fires. It is a totally individual hotel. Long may it remain so!

Room Tip: We have always slept well at Kirkconnel Hall. However, as it is close to the motorway people who are light sleepers might want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchy68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Many thanks for your very kind review of our property, and we do indeed hope you continue to visit us many more times in the future.
We pride ourselves on being individual and unique as you so accurately portrayed in your review, and we are overjoyed you decided to share your experiences with our travellers.

Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews