We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine simple hostel nearby a beautiful place in Highland, Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glencoe Youth Hostel
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It`s rather common hostel, convenient and clear. We got there by car and I`m not sure there are any other means of communication in this place are awailable. We leave the car for free in the hotel yard. Hotel is aimed for young people going to Highland for sport activities. Friendly and communicable receptionists.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NataliaR_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

great location, very friendly manager.Room was good size and condition for a hostel.Kitchen is in a need of update but is kept clean.Lounge is tiny comparing to some other SYHA hostels and it is used as a walkthrough, not exactly a 'quiet area' as it is called.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergei V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good accommodations all around--clean, comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit small, but it helped to have a sink in the room. Bathrooms were modern and clean. Doors are a bit noisy and the bedrooms are far enough from the reception that there is little monitoring of other guests' noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Thomas and Kirsty were wonderful: helpful, enthusiastic,and funny. We enjoyed putting the world to rights everyday with Thomas and listerning to Kirsty's plans for the future.
The hostel itself is in a perfect location-easy to reach by public transport (a bit of a walk from the bus stop but easy and through amazing scenery) and within walking distance of a fab pub (look out for deer and frogs on the way). Clean rooms, hot showers and a quiet lounge with no TV but board games instead.
Easy to reach the mountains and the West Highland Way but some stunning low level walking as well. Glencoe Village has a cafe and village stores and a little stony beach full of seabirds.
This hostel is highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It was a unique experience that my whole family will remember forever. It was in the centre of the tiny village of Glencoe. Super market a hop step away and the village notice board right behind the cash counter really cought my attention. Bravo!
Went to church for Sunday mass and had a wonderful wonderful experience of the livelihood in beautiful Gleancoe.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank flowersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

lost in the woods before reaching Glencoe, still at walking distance of a pub, is this youth hostel. Friendly welcome and service, clean but not-thrills amenities and bathroom, 10-bed dormitories with ok beds.
no breakfast included but you can buy one you cook yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Pretty much go along with the other reviewers. The sole member of staff I met was polite, enthusiastic, and very helpful. I arrived without any idea of what to expect but knowing the high standards of YHA hostels, and wasn't disappointed.

The room was fine, if a little too warm for my comfort, but easily rectified. The sleep was great and even sorted out my sore back; it was a very quiet period however, and the location will mean it gets busy in the season(s).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
4.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
2.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,249 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 11 in Glencoe Village
657 reviews
8.8 mi away
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
#27 of 33 in Fort William
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Youth Hostel

Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glencoe Village
Price Range: £35 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencoe Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe Youth Hostel is ideally located away from the main A82 in the quiet countryside of Glencoe, surrounded by fields and trees with stunning view of the hills. The youth hostel is popular with walkers, climbers and families as it offers budget multi-share accommodation but also private family friendly rooms too. Glencoe Youth Hostel has a large open plan kitchen/ dining room with ample cooking facilities and dining tables. According to one of our customers, Glencoe Youth Hostel has one of the best drying rooms in the Scottish Highlands! Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Glencoe Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing