We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy +++” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glencoe Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glencoe Youth Hostel
swansea
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Noisy +++”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

i could not fault this hostel at first. The staff were helpful , the place v clean and well equipped. The location is simply stunning nestled in the mountains with great views.Unfortunately a number o the punters that night decided to have a noisy drinking session in the so called "quiet room". This went on until 3am.
Yes, they were asked to keep the noise down but did not.
The hostel need to emphasise that consideration for others is important/.
I also stayed in the inverness hostel which had 2 very large lively school groups in and they managed to be quiet by 11pm

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    32
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great hostel, clean, excellent staff, cheap, great location. Staff here could not have been more helpful! (And were far better than the neighbouring independent hostel staff.) Place was spotless, toilets, showers, bedrooms, kitchen all really clean and clearly cleaned regularly. Most impressive was the staff friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely stay at the end of a wonderful days cycling from Glasgow. Great location, secure lock up for bikes, comfortable beds and great staff made this the best hostel we stayed in. 10 mins walk from a great pub. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had a twin room as we visited with our Pooch Koru. The visit was brilliant in no short part to the welcome we got at the YH. Staff were lovely and the room was lovely. Beds very comfy and the WC and Showers were amazing. All in I all a great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

It`s rather common hostel, convenient and clear. We got there by car and I`m not sure there are any other means of communication in this place are awailable. We leave the car for free in the hotel yard. Hotel is aimed for young people going to Highland for sport activities. Friendly and communicable receptionists.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliaR_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

great location, very friendly manager.Room was good size and condition for a hostel.Kitchen is in a need of update but is kept clean.Lounge is tiny comparing to some other SYHA hostels and it is used as a walkthrough, not exactly a 'quiet area' as it is called.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergei V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good accommodations all around--clean, comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit small, but it helped to have a sink in the room. Bathrooms were modern and clean. Doors are a bit noisy and the bedrooms are far enough from the reception that there is little monitoring of other guests' noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
0.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 13 in Glencoe Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
#26 of 30 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Youth Hostel

Property: Glencoe Youth Hostel
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencoe Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe Youth Hostel is ideally located away from the main A82 in the quiet countryside of Glencoe, surrounded by fields and trees with stunning view of the hills. The youth hostel is popular with walkers, climbers and families as it offers budget multi-share accommodation but also private family friendly rooms too. Glencoe Youth Hostel has a large open plan kitchen/ dining room with ample cooking facilities and dining tables. According to one of our customers, Glencoe Youth Hostel has one of the best drying rooms in the Scottish Highlands! Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glencoe Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing