We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stop in the Highlands”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glencoe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glencoe Inn
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short stop in the Highlands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Glencoe is a boating, biking & hiking sort of place. We stopped there on the way to Culloden. Glencoe has some beautiful sights and a great drive. We saw the infamous Highland cow in the pastures and everyone was very friendly. The Glencoe hotel was ran by a great staff and were very helpful. Relative to other locations we stayed at during our 10-day visit, the hotel was pricey. We did have a great view of the lake and food was good. Apparently many of the locals dine there. I would pass though next time and head north.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Bum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBirdManager, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on trip advisor, I was sorry to read that you felt that we were a bit pricey, this is our main season and we do offer specially discounte out of season rates. I have passed your kind comments on to my team. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    189
    94
    60
    47
See reviews for
107
332
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I am just back today from a friday-sunday stay.staff was amazin and friendly.nigel was great arranged for us t have a sauna at another hotel.have only great things to say about hotel.great food and amazin customer service.will defo go back.even dried our wet clothes after bootcamp

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkibarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBirdManager, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
What a fabulous review, thank you for taking the time to place your comments on trip advisor. My team work very hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience at the hotel and it is always very rewarding to receive positive comments which confirm that we are getting it right. Once again many thanks and I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend. Kind Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We recently visited The Glencoe Hotel and thought that we would try something else and explore new surroundings, away from the normal routine that we normally do and found a great deal on the Crerar website including Bed and Breakfast, which we upgraded to a loch view.

We tried the Hotel to experience something different, away from the normal routine of staying where we normally go and found the Glencoe Hotel still very enjoyable as there is different amenities around the area to see and do,our room was very nice as was the view,the only down side was the ensuite which is slightly outdated but this I'm sure they already know.

Our Breakfast in the morning, a Full Scottish was excellent,very hot, and just one of the choices from a varied menu and definitely set you up for the day, our waitress was very pleasant and wasted no time in serving us, asking what we required... Full Marks ...

We enjoyed our stay at the Glencoe Hotel and found it different than what we were always use to and found out that all staff work very hard in making your stay a pleasant one, all have a smile and a friendly greeting, I would like to say that Cinnie on the Reception is a credit to the Hotel and to Crerar Hotels in general and well deserves a special mention for her work, to show that it’s appreciated, she too,always had a warm and friendly welcome.

We certainly enjoyed ourselves and would certainly return to the hotel as a friend and a guest...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBirdManager, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, we are constantly striving to ensure that we deliver high standards of service and hospitality to our guests. My team are delighted with your comments.Thank you for taking the time to place your review on trip advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My wife stayed for a short break as the last (and as it turned out best) part of a longer holiday travelling around Scotland and found the management (Nigel), staff, food and service absolutely first class. Everyone was friendly, hard working (Jackie must run on duracell batteries) and pulled out all the stops to make sure our stay and experience was relaxed and enjoyable. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The food is excellent and the portions are generous. Should you want formality then it will not be for you. If however you enjoy good food, are not looking to diet! and like a place/people with personality and atmoshere look no further. Steve & Evelyn, Stockport

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBirdManager, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you for your very kind review,it is always extremely gratifying to hear first hand from our guests how we are performing in terms of service and hospitality.My team are delighted with your comments as they take a great deal of pride and are passionate about the service they offer to our guests. I hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We booked this hotel 1hr before we arrived, after a stressful day rock climbing we decided to treat ourselves to a local bnb instead of another night camping. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Jackie who was exceptionally friendly and despite having no knowledge of our booking quickly sorted out an upgraded 'loch view room' for us at the discounted price of £65. We couldn't wait to see our room and relax and for the most part we were pleased, the room was very clean and contemporary, the bed was comfortable and ample towels were provided. As afore mentioned the bathrooms are somewhat of a letdown for the hotel, a pink suite with peeling paint/wallpaper and an overall terrible finish is not the most welcoming sight. The 'loch view' was obscured by the smoking deck and not something I would of paid a premium for - but perhaps after camping on beautiful loch side beaches I am a bit biased. Our rate included breakfast and after looking at the breakfast menu provided in the room we were very much looking forward to the morning especially after clocking that the price per person for breakfast was £17.95! After an excellent nights sleep (despite knocking my head on the too tall bedside table) we went for breakfast at 9am , the breakfast area is beautiful and the waitress promptly asked us whether we wanted tea/coffee and toast which was then bought to the table - my only complaint being that the coffee and toast arrived lukewarm. The cereal, croissants, fruit and yoghurts were set up buffet style alongside the juice which was great but never replenished whilst we were down there. I could see that the young girl working was rushing around trying to serve everyone herself so perhaps she didn't have time to take note of the diminishing supply of juice and condiments. Alongside this you also got to order a hot dish from the extensive menu and my partner ordered poached eggs whilst I had French toast with bacon and maple syrup, both were of very good quality although rather meagre portions - to sum the breakfast up it was enjoyable but not worth anywhere near almost £20 per person! After researching the hotel rates our stay would cost over £150 at full price and despite the warm welcome and adequate rooms we would never pay this price - if you can get a deal it's a good find but make sure breakfast is included!

Room Tip: Shop around for last minute deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBirdManager, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on trip advisor,I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on to my team with a special thank you and well done to jackie.Kind Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I read the bad reviews of the Glencoe Hotel after we'd checked in which I know is not how you should use trip advisor, but I'm very glad this was the case or my family and I would have missed out on the warmest of welcomes, friendliest of staff, and tastiest of dinners. Yes, the bathrooms could do with updating or a lick of paint, but the rooms were clean and welcoming. Jackie took us under her wing and ensured we were well looked after all night. After asking at at least five B&Bs in the village and being made to feel very unwelcome because we had our four year old in tow, I wasnt sure this was really a family place. Perhaps you were only welcome here if you had hiked the stunning trails nearby and whiffed of mint cake? Fortunately The Glencoe Hotel makes you feel welcome no matter what your age, hiking boots or not, and the restaurant serves a mean steak. We would thoroughly recommend it. Sarah C

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBirdManager, General Manager at The Glencoe Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you so much for placing your review on trip advisor, I must say I have found the last few reviews extremely puzzling as I know that the team at the hotel work extremely hard and are passionate about providing a very high standard of service and hospitality at all times. My team are absolutely delighted with your comments.Once again thank you for placing your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We booked by phone the day before arrival and agreed the £130 b and b for our party, assuming it reflected the quality of the hotel . In addition we asked for a folding bed to accomodate our son, in the room . The room, 104 ,was tiny and the en suite bathroom was grotty with peeling wall paper and black mould .

On the plus side the staff are excellent and friendly and the food is good . The staff were hugely over worked at evening meal as they were trying to manage a full restaurant and act as a take away chip shop for the local campers.

The website boasts guest real ales , these were non existent and there was no bottled beer from the excellent very local brewery.

I would avoid this hotel unless you can secure a "deal " or some comfort that other rooms arent as bad as room 104 .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigb562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
23.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glencoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glencoe Inn

Property: The Glencoe Inn
Address: Glencoe Village Tyndrum Road | West Highlands, Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glencoe Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Glencoe Village, this traditional highland hotel offers informal and friendly hospitality where nothing is too much trouble. We serve delicious homemade local food all day. There is an excellent atmosphere in our well stocked bar each evening. There is a great choice of family, twin and double bedded rooms available - many with stunning loch views. A friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glencoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glencoe Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing