We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. In dire need of refurbishment”
Review of The Glencoe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Glencoe Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing. In dire need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The dated 70s/80s decor should have set alarm bells ringing immediately. Things didn't improve when we checked into our room unfortunately - the bathroom was incredibly dated, the shower head wouldn't stay in place, the windows could not be opened and, worst of all, the bathroom door didn't even close enough to offer any privacy whatsoever.
Our room was also facing the main road (and it is a very busy main road) and felt like an earthquake was shaking the hotel to its very foundations whenever a big lorry would drive past (and the lorries would drive past very regularly).

The only saving grace was the breakfast which was very nice in fairness, and the menu did offer a good variety of hot breakfast choice. This was also slightly marred by a waitress who seemed surprised and a little put off by the fact that we arrived down for breakfast at half 9 (breakfast service finishes at 10) and loud discussions between herself and who I assume was her boss, which could be heard by everyone in the dining room. A bit unprofessional from both of them if you ask me.

Anyway, I'm normally laid back and pretty low maintenance when it comes to hotels but I really can't recommend this one based on the price we paid for it. Best to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road involve a trade-off. You get the nice view (even though the windows are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    197
    97
    64
    50
See reviews for
117
339
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Not the best experience at the Glencoe Inn. The rooms are very much dated and shabby. The bathroom was adequate - but only just. In the bedroom, the dressing table had the surface removed and the cheap MDF was coming away.

Also if you can't deal with noise...big trucks go by late into the evening and from first thing in the morning, which manage to shake the entire building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and myself stayed here for 3 nights for a leisure trip around the Scottish highlands. Our welcome from Natasha was welcoming and reassuring. The hotel reception is nice with the tartan sofas and designs. The rooms are a little on the small side with limited view but we didn't mind as we where out and about all day. The bed was big and comfy and a nice warm shower. The food was outstanding!! We both loved the food from breakfast and dinner. You can either dine in the hotel restaurant which offers a 2 course or 3 course dinner or next door which is just as good but more informal and relaxed (great after a hard days walking when you just want to relax) Natasha who I mentioned before was great and June (I believe her name is), was also a great asset to the small team. Thank you.

Our only small criticism is that you need more front of house staff. as the person who is on reception is also running the restaurant and bar, and in busy periods this was obvious. This didn't hinder our stay and we would stay on our next trip to the highlands

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saspin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I had been looking for a hotel in Glencoe/Fort William to accommodate my work colleagues and I for around a week. I was corresponding with a lovely lady called Cinnie prior to our arrival who organised our stay. It was very confusing but the staff were so accommodating.

When we arrived at the Glencoe Inn, we were greater by a lady called Natasha. Throughout our stay, Natasha ensured we were looked after and really couldn't to enough for us. She understood we were working until late in the day so she took it upon herself to book a table in the restaurant/Glencoe Gathering for us. The hotel also made us packed lunches for our working day in the mountains.

We had up to 9 rooms in the Glencoe Inn. A couple of the rooms were a bit smaller and didn't have as good a view as the others but this was never an issue. We were outdoors a lot so the room was a place to sleep and shower, the rooms with the stunning views were a bonus.

Dinner in both the restaurant and the Glencoe Gathering was great. Very well cooked, empty plates every night from the entire crew and cast. Breakfast was also lovely!

The bar was fantastic. Great range of wines and whiskeys. The guys were also very complimentary of their ales.

Overall, we have had a great experience at this hotel. I cannot express how helpful and attentive the staff are. We felt so welcomed from the word go. The waitresses and waiters were great too. If there is anything you need they will be happy to help.

I will definitely be returning in August.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abery13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good looking dining room which has a couple of tables overlooking the loch. Reserved by others at breakfast on our visit.
The only other room I have stayed in which was this tiny was in the middle of Paris. Don't take any back pack/luggage in, which is bigger than your wallet because there is no room. (Your wallet has to be large in order to pay the bill)
Good Scottish tartan and friendly but claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Not 103 unless you want to view a wall.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JANET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Doesn't look much from the outside, but don't let that fool you, this is a lovely wee hotel. The rooms are a good size and well presented, although the bathrooms could do with a bit of decor upgrading. Restaurant is well positioned to overlook Loch Leven as you eat. Dinner menu had great selection, and the food did not disappoint! Breakfast was also very good.

Bar in the main lounge was not always open, meaning that you had to nip outside to go into the bar next door during the day. Child friendly with toys and games available.

Would definitely return!

Room Tip: There is a fabulous view from every corner, so unless your stuck in a room behind a wall you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judgeatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here en route for the Inner Hebrides, and were well pleased. The rooms were clean and adequately appointed; the staff friendly and helpful. The evening meal and breakfast the following morning were freshly cooked and excellent. Would thoroughly recommend for a stop-over.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view - not a view of the pool room next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary27652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
23.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,727 reviews
3.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,167 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glencoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glencoe Inn

Property: The Glencoe Inn
Address: Glencoe Village Tyndrum Road | West Highlands, Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glencoe Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Glencoe Village, this traditional highland hotel offers informal and friendly hospitality where nothing is too much trouble. We serve delicious homemade local food all day. There is an excellent atmosphere in our well stocked bar each evening. There is a great choice of family, twin and double bedded rooms available - many with stunning loch views. A friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glencoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glencoe Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing