We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village in middle of nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Etive

Glen Etive
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Village in middle of nature”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This place is something else away from other natural places in Scotland, Its a must visit if you are any way around Fort William. The water and scenes are around this place is great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    30
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Takes a while as single track road but great scenery, saw 2 stags and a strange bird crossed the road in front of the car, maybe a ptarmigan?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mustang1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Amazing road”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We drove this single lane road on a rainy afternoon ( unusual right for Scotland). It was beautiful the waterfalls were running and the scenery spectacular. Lots of mountains clouds etc
The road ends at loch
Lots of people camping. Crazy
A worthwhile place to go

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first visit going all the way to Loch Etive. Tremendous views it's hardly surprising the Glen was chosen for a James Bond movie. the glen is about 12 miles long and is single tracked, however, there are numerous "passing places". The one fault with these though are that nor English speaking drivers do not understand what these are and there were numerous occasions over the 24 mile round trip that had moments of interest. Go, get out your car and walk for some of the greatest scenes on the planet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was the location of my first ever camping experience and I'm happy to say that I really enjoyed it. It was about 2 1/2 hours drive from Glasgow and around 4 miles down from the Glen Etive turning.

We camped close to a little waterfall with a view that money could not buy. The water was crystal clear and a few of our party stripped off to enjoy a swim. The sound of the running water put me to sleep that night, though the water was well swollen with all the rain the following day.

This is a gorgeous place to camp (no facilities) and the rain and midges did not spoil our fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glen Etive also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Glen Etive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing