We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the road to paradise”
Review of Glen Etive

Glen Etive
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“the road to paradise”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Bliss bliss bliss all the way...
On a clear day few roads anywhere on earth can compare with this...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baggybobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    31
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Me and my brother went camping at Glen Etive on August bank holiday weekend and I have to say, this place is beautiful and is perfect if you are looking to wild camp in Scotland. It is really easy to find, it is simply signposted along the A82. Whatever you do, do not arrive late like we did as there was stags and deers everywhere on the road and we came a bonnet's view away from hitting one of them with the car. Once you turn into the small road, you can go along the small road as far as you want. I do recommend you travel around 5 minutes+ in the car as it is marshland as soon as you turn onto the Glen Etive road. After 5 mins or so, you will begin to find perfect pitch sites. We found one that looked straight towards Glencoe mountain with the stream that flows below it. It was simply breathtaking. We are going to come here again for sure.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil spot”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Worth a nip along the road just to re-create that famous Skyfall photo, the fact that it's utterly gorgeous is a bonus!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Village in middle of nature”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This place is something else away from other natural places in Scotland, Its a must visit if you are any way around Fort William. The water and scenes are around this place is great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Takes a while as single track road but great scenery, saw 2 stags and a strange bird crossed the road in front of the car, maybe a ptarmigan?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mustang1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glen Etive also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Glen Etive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing