We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kings House Hotel(Glencoe Village)
Pier House(Glencoe Village)
Scorrybreac Guest House(Glencoe Village)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strath Lodge Glencoe(Glencoe Village)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glencoe Inn(Glencoe Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencoe Youth Hostel(Glencoe Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
393
14
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
14
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubglass of champagnebell towerdining tableliving roomhonesty barprivate terracethe main housebath bombsmaxi barspecial occasionroom barsupermarket pricesseafood plattercourse meallog firehuge suite
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We recently stayed at Glencoe House (September 2013) in a 1 bedroom suite, and I honestly didn't want to leave. We paid 250 pounds for a one night stay, and for that we received basically our own wing: a dining room and attached living room (including a piano), a large bedroom, a sumptuous bathroom and get this - a large room dedicated to a chandelier, a fireplace and two elegant bathtubs. We paid 200 pounds to stay in a tiny (maybe) four star hotel room in Edinburgh. OMG was that 50 pounds and 2-1/2 hour drive from Edinburgh worth it. We were greeted by the owners when we arrived, and they are such a lovely couple. They took us on a tour of our rooms, and I'll be honest, when she started off in our private living and dining room area I started to panic inside, that surely I had missed a zero in that hotel rate. They have paintings from a local artist throughout the hotel that you can purchase if you like (I really wanted that cow in the entrance hall), and the whole place just has a warm feeling to it. The views were stunning, and they really thought of everything. My husband and I have stayed in some of the finest Fairmont Hotels in the world, and this was comparable in grandeur and elegance. We've decided that when we return for another Scottish holiday, we will definitely make this our base and sightsee from there. Thank you for such a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for giving us this feedback. When designing the rooms at Glencoe House we wanted to give guests a sense of living in such a historic building rather than a conventional hotel experience - it seems for you, we have gone some way to achieving this. In addition, we are happy that you felt looked after and the 'warm feeling' that you describe; this is really important to us as a team at Glencoe House. We look forward to welcoming back!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We started our honeymoon with a night at Glencoe House and it was the perfect start to our trip. The welcome by Roger with a glass of champagne, a beautiful walk around the property's lake,
the suite with its spacious five rooms (including the double baths referred to by others), and the gorgeous views across the Loch.

As others have said, it's not just the accommodation (which is outstanding) but the friendly and warm welcome from Roger and the team that make you feel like you don't want to leave.

Breakfast was also delicious and I can echo other recommendations about the porridge with cream and whisky.

Next time we'll stay for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claracbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for posting a review and we felt privileged that you chose to stay with us on such a special event as your honeymoon. We try to make our guests feel at home and to ensure that the reputation of 'Highland hospitality' is a reality rather than a myth. We have to agree with you, the whisky in the porridge does add a little something..! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This review is much overdue. My husband and two teenage daughters stayed here in early June. Roger and his staff could not have been kinder or more welcoming. We were in Suite Three with its own private dining room, overlooking the lawn and the lake. The suite was absolutely beautiful, and we enjoyed walking the lovely trails on the property. We ordered in a seafood platter for three (Roger kindly provided pasta for our non-seafood eater) that was truly spectacular (much more than we could finish), and the breakfasts were delicious (even the haggis), and my husband enjoyed the whiskey with his porridge. Lord Strathcona's manor house is very grand, and we felt like honored guests at a country house

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for posting a reply and we are delighted that you felt like honoured guests as we do try to spoil our guests! It sounds as though we have managed to convert you to the Scottish way of eating - great seafood, whisky in the porridge and even the haggis seems to have gone down well with you! The next step is to try the Scottish fizzy drink, Irn Bru, although it may take some doing as it is bright orange.... We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

How often does one see a property on tripadvisor with nothing but excellent reviews? My husband and I stayed here with our two adult children in July and we all agreed that it was the highlight of a great trip to Scotland. That our two kids, adults though they be, agreed on anything was a miracle. Our rooms were lovely, the view was amazing, the breakfasts were beyond plentiful and absolutely delicious. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londontobrighton50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and that you enjoyed your stay so much. When Lord Strathcona built the house, he certainly selected a beautiful location and we never get tired of looking at the views of the loch and mountains ourselves. With regards to breakfast, our chef has a fear of anyone leaving Glencoe House hungry so we would rather give more than less...as far as we know no one has left hungry yet! We hope to welcome you back to Glencoe House in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stunning location, beautiful hotel. A warm welcome from Roger the owner with a nice chilled glass of champagne.Truly the best I've stayed in. Suite was very comfortable and spacious and for me worth every penny. I'll certainly be returning - for a longer visit next time. Cant fault it

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Glencoe House. We are aiming to give the suites a luxurious but homely feel so you can relax in your own sitting room. We hope to welcome you back - the champagne is waiting!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews