We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely spot.”
Review of Glencoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glencoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A charming and relaxing spot to stay! It surpasses all the rest!
No detail has been left out. A well trained staff is there before you need ask. They are knowledgeable,experienced and so pleasant.
Glencoe House gives the feeling of your own luxurious home, not a hotel . I hope we will return soon!
Alice and Sid

Room Tip: There are no rooms that are not good. We saw most and each is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice ff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

We would like to thank you for writing a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and indeed we do try and make your stay as memorable as possible. This includes letting you in on some of the local knowledge of where to go and where not to go... Also given the spacious suites, we are hope that guests have the holiday that they need at that time whether you are minded to bound up the hills or lounge on the sofa in front of the fire reading a great book. Your choice! We hope to welcome you back to your new home soon.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I attended several meals and meetings at Glencoe House in May of 2013 as a part of my visit to my souvenir plot of land at the Highland Titles Nature Reserve a few miles away. The food and the service were superb and the staff was friendly and professional. I did not stay in one of the rooms, but from what I saw they looked very impressive. I hope to stay here on a future trip.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room, but they all look impressive, with views of Loch Leven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will_Melnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We remember the event last May very well - everyone was clealy having a lot of fun, which is just what the house needs! We are delighted that you find our suites impressive; we hope to tempt you to stay for the May 2014 meeting (if you can attend) or maybe some other time...!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in a suite for just one night but we are seriously considering moving in! It's very hard to describe a stay at Glen Coe house, the closest we got to it was imagine you have some really rich friends who invite you up to stay for a few days, it just doesn't feel like a hotel. The amazing surroundings and historic property do not prepare you for the free wi-fi, mobile phone in your room, 3D TV, amazing sound system, the well stock maxi bar (Roger certainly knows his wines) priced to compete with the local supermarket! A perfect place to relax in the evening. The only problem with staying at Glen Coe house is that it is so wonderful, you might just forget to go and explore the wonderful surroundings outside. We will certainly be returning.

I can't recommend this place enough and I was not surprised to find its so well rated here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank your for giving us some feedback. We are delighted that you feel that Glencoe House is more like a home rather than a hotel. It is exactly the atmosphere we are trying to create. You know a well chilled glass of wine while watching the flicker of the fire...well that is relaxing! We hope you will be returning to your 'home from home'!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We visited for two nights at the beginning of January for a "milestone" birthday. My wife sourced the hotel on the net we didn't quite know what to expect. Both of us travel a lot and stay in many plastic hotels around the world. This knocks everyone of those sideways.
We were welcomed with a glass of champagne by Ann the General Manager and Roger the owner. The building has a distinguished history but most recently was an NHS hospital. Roger and his team has created a country house hotel in the heart of the Highlands which is just superlative in every respect.
We were shown to Suite 5 - after climbing the impressive main staircase a door was opened into a corridor which we thought then lead to our suite. No this was the door and corridor in our suite. It was enormous complete with baby grand piano in the lounge. When we were shown the bathroom I knew my wife was thinking where's the bath? Ah that's in the other bathroom complete with another bath beside it.
Roger has all the touches you need. Candles in all the rooms with matches. iPod Dock, flat screen tv etc etc.
Two things really blew us away. Our own private dining room where breakfast is served in the comfort of your suite. On a sideboard is the 'honesty' bar with an excellent selection of spirits, whiskies and wines. You just fill in a slip with the drinks you've had and all at very reasonable prices compared with the hotel we're in now. £3 for a gin (Bombay) or £12.50 for a good quality white wine.
No rushing to get downstairs before breakfast finishes. We had dinner cooked by the chef and served by his wife the first evening. On the second night we were going to go out to a local restaurant but changed our mind and had the same meal delivered and served in our suite for probably not much different a price than if we'd gone to the restaurant.
Roger, you have created a five star plus experience at a price that many establishments provide an extremely mediocre offering for.
To all you need to stay at this hotel for that special occasion.
We will definitely be back

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and particularly given it was such a special occassion. Our aim is to cater for all guest needs and also to give a little more... from the decadent twin baths to the a reasonably priced bar within your suite. Our in-suite dinners is a new feature here at Glencoe House and we feel that the 5 course dinner at your own dining table is the icing on the cake! We are glad you enjoyed dinner so much; no need to face the winter weather in the evening. We hope to welcome you back and a glass of champagne is waiting for you...!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I am a Yoga teacher from Canada and I bring groups of students to beautiful places in the world to enjoy Yoga in special settings. We brought a group of 18 people to spectacular Glencoe House a couple of months ago for 5 nights. We knew from the website that this would be a lovely place...we were not prepared for how truly stunning both the estate and the views were! What's more, the welcome we received and the care taken by, Roger and Judith, Anne, and the fabulous staff ensured an unparalleled luxury experience for our group. The suites are gorgeous and so comfortable you do not want to leave. We began each day with Yoga in a stunning suite with views to the Loch. This was followed by a "Royal" breakfast ...piping hot, plentiful and delicious! After a day of hiking or excursions we would return to a roaring fire and afternoon tea...delightful! Roger and Anne arranged a special seafood feast for our group... we had a piper escort us in and it was an incredible night that we will never forget...thank you all again for your warm hospitality and attention to detail...it feels like it was a marvelous dream and we can't wait to come again!! As the saying goes "Haste ye back".

Room Tip: All suites are unique and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOGINIfromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The seafood banquet evening was also memorable for us with the table set formally set for 20 and more seafood than we have ever seen before! Together with the piper, the roaring fire, the wine and whisky tasting and not to forget the elegantly dressed guests. We were delighted to tailor the house and the service to your needs and that we could help make your trip so special . Indeed 'haste ye back'!

Best wishes,
Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is my first ever review on here and my stay at Glencoe House prompted the effort - stayed here recently for 5 nights. Everything was fantastic; accommodation, food, attentiveness of hosts.

I have stayed at some great places all over the world and this ranks up there with them. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for posting a review and your first review at that! We were extremely happy to host you here at Glencoe House. The area has a lot to offer so I am sure the 5 days went far too quickly! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As Scotland fans we visited all kinds of accomodations throughout the country. During our last tour we chose Glencoe house as our final stop. Luxurious rooms, fantastic setting and a perfect service! We're looking forward to return next spring. By then it should also be possible do dine in the privacy of your own suite (now only on saturdays). PS: If your going for a walk in the surrounding gardens, don't hesitate to invite the owners dog Connor, he'll guide you all the way around the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Glencoe House. You will indeed be able to have dinner in your suite when you return so you are just a step away from the sofa for the post dinner drink! We have told Connor that you are returning in the spring time and there was a very enthusiastic wagging of the tail! We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
161 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
714 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe House

Address: Glencoe House, Glencoe Village PH49 4HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Price Range: £340 - £728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glencoe House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe House offers 5-star luxury suite accommodation in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. The hotel comprises thirteen generous private suites (from 75-148 sq. metres) and contains two distinctive concepts. Firstly, The Glencoe House Suites that are located in the mansion house and have a wealth of period features together with sea or mountain views. Secondly, The Bell Tower Suites which are located 50m from the mansion and are more modern in look and feel and garden views; all have private walled gardens with hot tubs. Regardless of your choice, Glencoe House offers elegant but relaxed and sumptuous suites, with the space and privacy to really kick your shoes off and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Glencoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing