We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Glencoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glencoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We could not have asked for more from Roger and the team at Glencoe House. On arrival we were greeted in the Great Hall with a roaring log fire and a glass of champagne after a long journey.
Our cases were then taken to our suite whilst we continued to enjoy the whole ambience of the building.
The suite itself was wonderful with 3 bedrooms a private dining room and sitting room with a log fire prepared every day.
Breakfast was served in the dining room every morning and we had a wide selection , all was delicious.
We then ventured out to the highlands and as expected after a lovely walk returned soaked. Once again Roger was there to take out boots and coats to the drying room. They were then placed outside our door for the next day.
We also dined in and the food once again was fantastic.

Thank you all again.

Kevin, Helen, Isabella and Theo

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. As you know, it has been known to rain a bit here in the West coast of Scotland...we have been there too so we are very happy to help you dry out your boots and clothes! The log fire in your own sitting room also provides a warm welcome when you have been out and about. A glass of champagne is waiting here for your return!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
80
172
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After spending a week between the Fairmont St Andrews and 3 nights at Gleneagles for honeymoon - we were hotly anticipating our stay at Glencoe House. It surpassed all expectations, and moreover, in our opinion provided higher luxury than both of our previous hotels.

Nestled in woodland, overlooking Glencoe Village with unrivalled views of the mountains and Loch Leven, its setting is as beautiful as the house itself. On arrival Roger and Anne provide a warm welcome into the painstakingly and sensitively restored house which they have much to be proud of.

We were shown to our suite which had twin roll top baths, monsoon shower, 2 bedrooms, a logburner in the sitting room and an open fireplace in the bedroom.

Although our intentions for this trip was skiing, we found it difficult to choose between the baths, open fire, DVDs, fully equipped minibar (which rivalled gleneagles at a fraction of the price) and snowsports!

Roger tells us they hope to start providing evening meals - and if the breakfast is anything to go by I will definitely be returning to try this.

Overall, there are not enough superlatives to describe this gem, if anyone is planning on staying -I can assure you will not be disappointed. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CYPY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have been told that Glencoe House can sabotage virtuous intentions of walking, climbing and skiing. Once you get into the confines of your suite, it can be difficult to leave that woodburning stove to hit the hills. Don't worry, we don't tell anyone...! We are indeed starting dinners, which like the breakfast is served at your own dining table in your suite. We hope you can come back to test them out!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My boyfriend and I visited just after New Year and had booked in for 1 night. On arrival, we were greeted with a glass of champagne by Anne and Roger who were both very welcoming and attentive. We stayed in Suite One and I have never seen anything quite like it. The suite was absolutely beautiful and we could see the Loch from every window! We were so impressed that we booked in for a second night. We had the best nights sleep in the enormous and comfortable bed and the bathroom facilities were pure luxury.

The food was exquisite and it was lovely having it served in your very own dining room. Huge compliments to the chef!

Breakfast was wonderful and it was lovely sipping champagne with the morning paper and watching the world go by.

The minibar was well stocked with great wines and spirits. We had a delicious bottle of Prosecco and a few bottles of Red that complimented dinner - all very affordable at supermarket prices. My boyfriend enjoyed the local beers.

The house is beautiful and there is so much to see. Anne showed us floor prints of the house in its original state and we found pictures of the house as a maternity hospital. The difference is incredible - Roger and 'the guardians' have spared no expense.

The grounds are well worth exploring and we cannot wait to return - we owe Connor the dog a walk!

Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Suite One - excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thanks you for taking the trouble to post a review. It sounds as though you really got into the Glencoe House 'vibe'. Relaxing in front of the fire, a lovely dinner and a glass of bubbly at breakfast time while looking at the loch. We were delighted that you could stay with us another night so you could re-charge your batteries properly. We look forward to welcoming you back and I have to tell you that Connor has your names in his black book which is titled 'my walking friends'. You are indeed in the section on 'walks owed'. Just warning you!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A charming and relaxing spot to stay! It surpasses all the rest!
No detail has been left out. A well trained staff is there before you need ask. They are knowledgeable,experienced and so pleasant.
Glencoe House gives the feeling of your own luxurious home, not a hotel . I hope we will return soon!
Alice and Sid

Room Tip: There are no rooms that are not good. We saw most and each is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice ff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We would like to thank you for writing a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and indeed we do try and make your stay as memorable as possible. This includes letting you in on some of the local knowledge of where to go and where not to go... Also given the spacious suites, we are hope that guests have the holiday that they need at that time whether you are minded to bound up the hills or lounge on the sofa in front of the fire reading a great book. Your choice! We hope to welcome you back to your new home soon.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I attended several meals and meetings at Glencoe House in May of 2013 as a part of my visit to my souvenir plot of land at the Highland Titles Nature Reserve a few miles away. The food and the service were superb and the staff was friendly and professional. I did not stay in one of the rooms, but from what I saw they looked very impressive. I hope to stay here on a future trip.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room, but they all look impressive, with views of Loch Leven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Melnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We remember the event last May very well - everyone was clealy having a lot of fun, which is just what the house needs! We are delighted that you find our suites impressive; we hope to tempt you to stay for the May 2014 meeting (if you can attend) or maybe some other time...!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in a suite for just one night but we are seriously considering moving in! It's very hard to describe a stay at Glen Coe house, the closest we got to it was imagine you have some really rich friends who invite you up to stay for a few days, it just doesn't feel like a hotel. The amazing surroundings and historic property do not prepare you for the free wi-fi, mobile phone in your room, 3D TV, amazing sound system, the well stock maxi bar (Roger certainly knows his wines) priced to compete with the local supermarket! A perfect place to relax in the evening. The only problem with staying at Glen Coe house is that it is so wonderful, you might just forget to go and explore the wonderful surroundings outside. We will certainly be returning.

I can't recommend this place enough and I was not surprised to find its so well rated here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank your for giving us some feedback. We are delighted that you feel that Glencoe House is more like a home rather than a hotel. It is exactly the atmosphere we are trying to create. You know a well chilled glass of wine while watching the flicker of the fire...well that is relaxing! We hope you will be returning to your 'home from home'!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We visited for two nights at the beginning of January for a "milestone" birthday. My wife sourced the hotel on the net we didn't quite know what to expect. Both of us travel a lot and stay in many plastic hotels around the world. This knocks everyone of those sideways.
We were welcomed with a glass of champagne by Ann the General Manager and Roger the owner. The building has a distinguished history but most recently was an NHS hospital. Roger and his team has created a country house hotel in the heart of the Highlands which is just superlative in every respect.
We were shown to Suite 5 - after climbing the impressive main staircase a door was opened into a corridor which we thought then lead to our suite. No this was the door and corridor in our suite. It was enormous complete with baby grand piano in the lounge. When we were shown the bathroom I knew my wife was thinking where's the bath? Ah that's in the other bathroom complete with another bath beside it.
Roger has all the touches you need. Candles in all the rooms with matches. iPod Dock, flat screen tv etc etc.
Two things really blew us away. Our own private dining room where breakfast is served in the comfort of your suite. On a sideboard is the 'honesty' bar with an excellent selection of spirits, whiskies and wines. You just fill in a slip with the drinks you've had and all at very reasonable prices compared with the hotel we're in now. £3 for a gin (Bombay) or £12.50 for a good quality white wine.
No rushing to get downstairs before breakfast finishes. We had dinner cooked by the chef and served by his wife the first evening. On the second night we were going to go out to a local restaurant but changed our mind and had the same meal delivered and served in our suite for probably not much different a price than if we'd gone to the restaurant.
Roger, you have created a five star plus experience at a price that many establishments provide an extremely mediocre offering for.
To all you need to stay at this hotel for that special occasion.
We will definitely be back

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and particularly given it was such a special occassion. Our aim is to cater for all guest needs and also to give a little more... from the decadent twin baths to the a reasonably priced bar within your suite. Our in-suite dinners is a new feature here at Glencoe House and we feel that the 5 course dinner at your own dining table is the icing on the cake! We are glad you enjoyed dinner so much; no need to face the winter weather in the evening. We hope to welcome you back and a glass of champagne is waiting for you...!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe House

Property: Glencoe House
Address: Glencoe House, Glencoe Village PH49 4HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glencoe House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe House offers elegant accommodation located in 10 acres of private gardens in the heart of Scotland's Highlands. This historic mansion, the former home of Lord Strathcona, offers tranquillity and outdoor adventure. Suited equally to those who wish to gaze at the Pap of Glencoe from their window and those who want to walk up it, Glencoe House invites you into the comfort and refuge of your own suite.Any one of our seven suites will welcome you with an open log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glencoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing