We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
415
17
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
17
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubglass of champagnebell towerdining tableliving roomhonesty barthe main housemaxi barprivate terracebath bombsroom barhonor barsupermarket pricesthought of everythingside by sidegrand pianocourse meal
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Dear Roger, Anne, Judy, Brian, Craig, Tabi and all the staff - thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. Your warm and friendly welcome made a luxurious experience very special. The library suite is just wonderful - it's so good to see the house so well restored but knowing that it saw years of public service somehow makes it even more loveable. Picture the scene - sunday morning around 8.30 - I stoat in to the lounge from the pitch darkness of the shuttered bedroom to find a private breakfast for my best pals in full flow - all of us in fluffy robes and the fire already lit. For me - blueberry pancakes with bacon, fruit salad, maple syrup served under a silver cloche, excellent pastries and a big pot of good coffee. We passed on the champagne on the second morning as the drive home was looming. We did take a small glass at Saturday breakfast tho - then a walk in the chilly grey February day was just the contrast needed to fully enjoy lovely homemade biscuits for afternoon tea (and another bottle), a soak in Aveda rosemary and mint bubble bath, a bit of jazz on the Bose sound system, a jigsaw! Brian's 5 course dinner with more friends in suite 4 was relaxed, refined and delicious. Modern luxuries can be bought, but expert and genuine hospitality is sadly harder to find. Glencoe House is our new favourite place and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites are great value and I think suite 3 might be the best of these, but just trust the staff to choose : )
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for posting a review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your gang! You were all up for a good time with the birthday celebrations and you were a fun group to have around. Brian's 5 course private dinner just adds to the occassion and means that there is no need to hold back on the laughs. We were also happy to cater for the 'morning after' and you can't go wrong with good coffee, blueberry pancakes in your fluffy dressing gown with all your friends. We hope to well you and your chums back.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 and from driving up to the we were completely blown away. The service at the hotel is wonderful, staff are really friendly and made your stay really personal. The suites are gorgeous, log fire and beautiful music playing in your suite for your arrival. The breakfast was served in your suite in the morning and was very good, could not fault it at all and excited to hear dinners are soon to be served personally in your own suite also. Oh and they have Aveda products in the bathroom wow! We are coming back to stay again in August 2014 and cannot wait! Best place I have ever stayed hands down.

Room Tip: we stayed in suite 2, extremely large living area with gorgeous views!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMS2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to give us some feedback. Our aim is to make your suite a home from home and the log fire and music is part of that. The same holds true for the breakfast - why get dressed and go to a restaurant when you can simply tumble out of bed, put your dressing gown on and sit at your dining room table in your own suite. We have started out dinner service, which is again in your own suite and it sounds a though you might be persuaded to try our 5 course dinner offering. We are looking forward to your return in August.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We could not have asked for more from Roger and the team at Glencoe House. On arrival we were greeted in the Great Hall with a roaring log fire and a glass of champagne after a long journey.
Our cases were then taken to our suite whilst we continued to enjoy the whole ambience of the building.
The suite itself was wonderful with 3 bedrooms a private dining room and sitting room with a log fire prepared every day.
Breakfast was served in the dining room every morning and we had a wide selection , all was delicious.
We then ventured out to the highlands and as expected after a lovely walk returned soaked. Once again Roger was there to take out boots and coats to the drying room. They were then placed outside our door for the next day.
We also dined in and the food once again was fantastic.

Thank you all again.

Kevin, Helen, Isabella and Theo

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. As you know, it has been known to rain a bit here in the West coast of Scotland...we have been there too so we are very happy to help you dry out your boots and clothes! The log fire in your own sitting room also provides a warm welcome when you have been out and about. A glass of champagne is waiting here for your return!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After spending a week between the Fairmont St Andrews and 3 nights at Gleneagles for honeymoon - we were hotly anticipating our stay at Glencoe House. It surpassed all expectations, and moreover, in our opinion provided higher luxury than both of our previous hotels.

Nestled in woodland, overlooking Glencoe Village with unrivalled views of the mountains and Loch Leven, its setting is as beautiful as the house itself. On arrival Roger and Anne provide a warm welcome into the painstakingly and sensitively restored house which they have much to be proud of.

We were shown to our suite which had twin roll top baths, monsoon shower, 2 bedrooms, a logburner in the sitting room and an open fireplace in the bedroom.

Although our intentions for this trip was skiing, we found it difficult to choose between the baths, open fire, DVDs, fully equipped minibar (which rivalled gleneagles at a fraction of the price) and snowsports!

Roger tells us they hope to start providing evening meals - and if the breakfast is anything to go by I will definitely be returning to try this.

Overall, there are not enough superlatives to describe this gem, if anyone is planning on staying -I can assure you will not be disappointed. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CYPY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have been told that Glencoe House can sabotage virtuous intentions of walking, climbing and skiing. Once you get into the confines of your suite, it can be difficult to leave that woodburning stove to hit the hills. Don't worry, we don't tell anyone...! We are indeed starting dinners, which like the breakfast is served at your own dining table in your suite. We hope you can come back to test them out!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My boyfriend and I visited just after New Year and had booked in for 1 night. On arrival, we were greeted with a glass of champagne by Anne and Roger who were both very welcoming and attentive. We stayed in Suite One and I have never seen anything quite like it. The suite was absolutely beautiful and we could see the Loch from every window! We were so impressed that we booked in for a second night. We had the best nights sleep in the enormous and comfortable bed and the bathroom facilities were pure luxury.

The food was exquisite and it was lovely having it served in your very own dining room. Huge compliments to the chef!

Breakfast was wonderful and it was lovely sipping champagne with the morning paper and watching the world go by.

The minibar was well stocked with great wines and spirits. We had a delicious bottle of Prosecco and a few bottles of Red that complimented dinner - all very affordable at supermarket prices. My boyfriend enjoyed the local beers.

The house is beautiful and there is so much to see. Anne showed us floor prints of the house in its original state and we found pictures of the house as a maternity hospital. The difference is incredible - Roger and 'the guardians' have spared no expense.

The grounds are well worth exploring and we cannot wait to return - we owe Connor the dog a walk!

Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Suite One - excellent views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thanks you for taking the trouble to post a review. It sounds as though you really got into the Glencoe House 'vibe'. Relaxing in front of the fire, a lovely dinner and a glass of bubbly at breakfast time while looking at the loch. We were delighted that you could stay with us another night so you could re-charge your batteries properly. We look forward to welcoming you back and I have to tell you that Connor has your names in his black book which is titled 'my walking friends'. You are indeed in the section on 'walks owed'. Just warning you!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews