We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect balance of superb luxury and feeling at home”
Review of Glencoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glencoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect balance of superb luxury and feeling at home”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I would like to thank everyone at Glencoe House for a wonderful two-night stay - we only wished we could have stayed longer!

The whole team were extremely helpful and friendly, and even welcomed our collie dog with open arms. The service is really excellent without being over the top or obsequious. The team made sure we always had everything we needed without fussing over us or disrupting relaxing atmosphere they have created in the suite.

We were in Suite One, which was stunning and incredibly spacious with a roaring open fire and fabulous views over the loch even from the bath. We had our own access to the garden which was perfect for the dog, and they are in the process of completing a private terrace which will be lovely for sipping champagne in the evening sun.

The house itself has been lovingly restored to its former grandeur and the team at Glencoe House has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and luxurious. All the little touches make it perfect - from a glass of fizz on arrival to the in-suite honesty bar (with a wide range of whiskies, spirits, wine and beer at supermarket prices) to bath bombs, candles and lovely toiletries, to an i-pod and DVD player (and even 3D glasses for the TV).

Having breakfast and dinner served at your own private dining table is a real luxury. The hearty breakfasts are delicious with an extensive menu with something to suit everyone. Although the 5-course dinner was not available during our stay, the team more than compensated with a sumptuous seafood platter one night and a fondue feast the other - both were enormous and delicious.

If you can drag yourself away from your lovely suite, there are lots of things to do in the area from skiing at Glencoe Mountain Resort to a visit to the Glencoe national trust centre or just taking in the scenery on one of the lovely walks from the house itself.

I thoroughly recommend this delightful haven in the highlands!

Room Tip: Suite 1 is pet-friendly. It is one of the smaller suites but is still enormous and has spectacular v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that all members of the family enjoyed their stay including your your lovely Collie dog! It is important to us to give guests a warm welcome but without encroaching on your personal space so we are glad that we managed to hit the right balance and tone for you. We hope to be able to welcome you back for the champagne one the private terrace before you have the 5 course dinner in your suite... I am sure that your dog still has a few walks to do in the area...!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
80
172
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dunblane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Dear Roger, Anne, Judy, Brian, Craig, Tabi and all the staff - thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. Your warm and friendly welcome made a luxurious experience very special. The library suite is just wonderful - it's so good to see the house so well restored but knowing that it saw years of public service somehow makes it even more loveable. Picture the scene - sunday morning around 8.30 - I stoat in to the lounge from the pitch darkness of the shuttered bedroom to find a private breakfast for my best pals in full flow - all of us in fluffy robes and the fire already lit. For me - blueberry pancakes with bacon, fruit salad, maple syrup served under a silver cloche, excellent pastries and a big pot of good coffee. We passed on the champagne on the second morning as the drive home was looming. We did take a small glass at Saturday breakfast tho - then a walk in the chilly grey February day was just the contrast needed to fully enjoy lovely homemade biscuits for afternoon tea (and another bottle), a soak in Aveda rosemary and mint bubble bath, a bit of jazz on the Bose sound system, a jigsaw! Brian's 5 course dinner with more friends in suite 4 was relaxed, refined and delicious. Modern luxuries can be bought, but expert and genuine hospitality is sadly harder to find. Glencoe House is our new favourite place and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites are great value and I think suite 3 might be the best of these, but just trust the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your gang! You were all up for a good time with the birthday celebrations and you were a fun group to have around. Brian's 5 course private dinner just adds to the occassion and means that there is no need to hold back on the laughs. We were also happy to cater for the 'morning after' and you can't go wrong with good coffee, blueberry pancakes in your fluffy dressing gown with all your friends. We hope to well you and your chums back.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 and from driving up to the we were completely blown away. The service at the hotel is wonderful, staff are really friendly and made your stay really personal. The suites are gorgeous, log fire and beautiful music playing in your suite for your arrival. The breakfast was served in your suite in the morning and was very good, could not fault it at all and excited to hear dinners are soon to be served personally in your own suite also. Oh and they have Aveda products in the bathroom wow! We are coming back to stay again in August 2014 and cannot wait! Best place I have ever stayed hands down.

Room Tip: we stayed in suite 2, extremely large living area with gorgeous views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMS2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to give us some feedback. Our aim is to make your suite a home from home and the log fire and music is part of that. The same holds true for the breakfast - why get dressed and go to a restaurant when you can simply tumble out of bed, put your dressing gown on and sit at your dining room table in your own suite. We have started out dinner service, which is again in your own suite and it sounds a though you might be persuaded to try our 5 course dinner offering. We are looking forward to your return in August.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We could not have asked for more from Roger and the team at Glencoe House. On arrival we were greeted in the Great Hall with a roaring log fire and a glass of champagne after a long journey.
Our cases were then taken to our suite whilst we continued to enjoy the whole ambience of the building.
The suite itself was wonderful with 3 bedrooms a private dining room and sitting room with a log fire prepared every day.
Breakfast was served in the dining room every morning and we had a wide selection , all was delicious.
We then ventured out to the highlands and as expected after a lovely walk returned soaked. Once again Roger was there to take out boots and coats to the drying room. They were then placed outside our door for the next day.
We also dined in and the food once again was fantastic.

Thank you all again.

Kevin, Helen, Isabella and Theo

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. As you know, it has been known to rain a bit here in the West coast of Scotland...we have been there too so we are very happy to help you dry out your boots and clothes! The log fire in your own sitting room also provides a warm welcome when you have been out and about. A glass of champagne is waiting here for your return!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After spending a week between the Fairmont St Andrews and 3 nights at Gleneagles for honeymoon - we were hotly anticipating our stay at Glencoe House. It surpassed all expectations, and moreover, in our opinion provided higher luxury than both of our previous hotels.

Nestled in woodland, overlooking Glencoe Village with unrivalled views of the mountains and Loch Leven, its setting is as beautiful as the house itself. On arrival Roger and Anne provide a warm welcome into the painstakingly and sensitively restored house which they have much to be proud of.

We were shown to our suite which had twin roll top baths, monsoon shower, 2 bedrooms, a logburner in the sitting room and an open fireplace in the bedroom.

Although our intentions for this trip was skiing, we found it difficult to choose between the baths, open fire, DVDs, fully equipped minibar (which rivalled gleneagles at a fraction of the price) and snowsports!

Roger tells us they hope to start providing evening meals - and if the breakfast is anything to go by I will definitely be returning to try this.

Overall, there are not enough superlatives to describe this gem, if anyone is planning on staying -I can assure you will not be disappointed. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CYPY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have been told that Glencoe House can sabotage virtuous intentions of walking, climbing and skiing. Once you get into the confines of your suite, it can be difficult to leave that woodburning stove to hit the hills. Don't worry, we don't tell anyone...! We are indeed starting dinners, which like the breakfast is served at your own dining table in your suite. We hope you can come back to test them out!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My boyfriend and I visited just after New Year and had booked in for 1 night. On arrival, we were greeted with a glass of champagne by Anne and Roger who were both very welcoming and attentive. We stayed in Suite One and I have never seen anything quite like it. The suite was absolutely beautiful and we could see the Loch from every window! We were so impressed that we booked in for a second night. We had the best nights sleep in the enormous and comfortable bed and the bathroom facilities were pure luxury.

The food was exquisite and it was lovely having it served in your very own dining room. Huge compliments to the chef!

Breakfast was wonderful and it was lovely sipping champagne with the morning paper and watching the world go by.

The minibar was well stocked with great wines and spirits. We had a delicious bottle of Prosecco and a few bottles of Red that complimented dinner - all very affordable at supermarket prices. My boyfriend enjoyed the local beers.

The house is beautiful and there is so much to see. Anne showed us floor prints of the house in its original state and we found pictures of the house as a maternity hospital. The difference is incredible - Roger and 'the guardians' have spared no expense.

The grounds are well worth exploring and we cannot wait to return - we owe Connor the dog a walk!

Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Suite One - excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thanks you for taking the trouble to post a review. It sounds as though you really got into the Glencoe House 'vibe'. Relaxing in front of the fire, a lovely dinner and a glass of bubbly at breakfast time while looking at the loch. We were delighted that you could stay with us another night so you could re-charge your batteries properly. We look forward to welcoming you back and I have to tell you that Connor has your names in his black book which is titled 'my walking friends'. You are indeed in the section on 'walks owed'. Just warning you!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A charming and relaxing spot to stay! It surpasses all the rest!
No detail has been left out. A well trained staff is there before you need ask. They are knowledgeable,experienced and so pleasant.
Glencoe House gives the feeling of your own luxurious home, not a hotel . I hope we will return soon!
Alice and Sid

Room Tip: There are no rooms that are not good. We saw most and each is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice ff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We would like to thank you for writing a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and indeed we do try and make your stay as memorable as possible. This includes letting you in on some of the local knowledge of where to go and where not to go... Also given the spacious suites, we are hope that guests have the holiday that they need at that time whether you are minded to bound up the hills or lounge on the sofa in front of the fire reading a great book. Your choice! We hope to welcome you back to your new home soon.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe House

Property: Glencoe House
Address: Glencoe House, Glencoe Village PH49 4HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glencoe House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe House offers elegant accommodation located in 10 acres of private gardens in the heart of Scotland's Highlands. This historic mansion, the former home of Lord Strathcona, offers tranquillity and outdoor adventure. Suited equally to those who wish to gaze at the Pap of Glencoe from their window and those who want to walk up it, Glencoe House invites you into the comfort and refuge of your own suite.Any one of our seven suites will welcome you with an open log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glencoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing