We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Hotel in a Beautiful Setting”
Review of Glencoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glencoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you want to be totally relaxed and laid back you could not find a better place than Glencoe House Hotel.
From the moment you arrive and are greeted, your luggage is taken to your suite and then when you get to your suite you are enveloped in a world of peace and tranquility. When we arrived there was a large log fire burning in the grate, our bags had been put neatly in the bedroom and our clothes holders were hanging in the wardrobes.
We had two large rooms (Bedroom & Lounge) and a beautifully appointed bathroom and large shower. The view from every window was breathtaking. On top of this we had in room dining at our table overlooking the Loch. The staff enjoyed meeting our every need. Wow what a treat!
Candelabra and elegant place settings enhanced the dining experience. We had beautifully cooked and presented food. The Chef Brian visited daily and on two occasions devised an extraordinary meal for us. Wines and spirits were on a honour basis and were not at all expensive.

Even though in the pouring rain, we had some lovely local walks with interesting wild life. As my wife has already said, Roger, Judy and their staff have worked wonders and the place is still being improved on. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that despite the rainy weather that we could make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Indeed sometimes we have been told that the rain gives you a perfect excuse to stay in and indulge in all that the suite offers. Your feedback on Brian's dinners is welcomed as he takes great pride in what he does and seeks to offer the highest service.

We are indeed always looking for ways to further improve what we offer here at Glencoe House. We hope that you can return to experience the changes and of course to give us some feedback. Your glass of champagne is chilling as we speak!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in suite 1 and generally enjoyed ourselves. The privacy and the in-suite dining was just what we needed after the stresses of a recent house move - we dressed for dinner to suit ourselves and breakfast was a dream - we could eat in the lovely towelling robes the hotel supply if we wanted. The lovely view from our dining table over Loch Leven was well matched by the quality and variety of the food and to have your chef visit and discuss your wants - and come up with some superb 'off menu' meals - who would want more? Add in roaring log fires, luxurious slipper bath with a loch view and fantastic shower, staff who enjoy meeting your every need and that says it all really.There are lovely local walks even in the pouring rain. Roger, Judy and their staff have worked wonders and the place is still being improved. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for giving us some feedback. We are very happy that your visit was so successful. We are trying to be a little different from other hotels in that you can set the tone of your stay - whether smart, casual or indeed a mix of the two. There is something to be said, however, for a fully service breakfast in your fluffy robe! We were glad to that Brian was able to tempt you with his meals and that your discussion with him meant that your weeks meals could be varied and cater to your tastes on the day. We hope to see you next year!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at Glencoe House for Highland Titles' 2014 Homecoming and stayed to do some hiking. All staff were clearly oriented towards excellence in every respect, always welcoming and attentive. The room(s) were immaculate and beautifully appointed and much more than we needed. We at first questioned the en suite dining concept, but by the end of the week were converts; you get used to the service and privacy and don't have to deal with getting dressed up or putting on makeup -- making the whole experience less stressful and more relaxed for the ladies. We'd definitely return. It's in wonderful proximity to hiking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you were so happy with your stay here at Glencoe House. We seek spoil you in terms of the accommodation and its facilities but in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are glad that we were able to strike the right note with you. It would seem that the in-suite dinner added to that chilled out feel, which is excellent. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

When we arrived soaking wet and freezing late in the evening, we were very warmly welcomed by Ann. She guided us to a crackling fire in our room, and magic happened... The room was luxurious and spacious, with a table set for us to have supper in our own living room, which had an impressive view of the glen. During our 4 days stay, even if we are avid hikers, we were glad to have to stay inside a whole day because of the pouring rain! We enjoyed the confort of the house, and had really interesting discussions with Roger and Judy, our gracious hosts. Every person working in the house was really attentive to our every need. Each night, we ate in house, and Bryan the chef of the catering company who serves supper was very inventive every night in creating tasty vegetarian meals for us.
We will cefinitively come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karine_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Yes, as you know all too well, it does rain from time to time in Glencoe. We are glad, however, that we could welcome you back to your suite and your log fire, which always does the trick! We are delighted that the food was to your liking and that Brian could give you something that you have perhaps not tried before.

Your welcome champagne (and a bottle or two of Rully) is on ice waiting for your return.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely loved our stay here, it is so luxurious, that staff, the food where excellent, cannot fault this hotel, one of or if not best hotel we have ever stayed at in the uk, my husband and i are both serious climbers, so the location was superb, so looking forward to our next visit, i would give this hotel top marks across the board.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizandBobbyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Clearly there is much to entice you to the area with the the great walking and climbing in the area. Hopefully we can provide a refuge afterwards all your labours, which means that you get the best of both worlds. We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing the stories from you climbs.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It doesn't seem right Trip Advisor calling it B & B, it is sooooo much more than that. By far one the best places we have ever stayed in, Roger really does seem to know his market and has it spot on. Nothing bad I can say about the staff or venue. The suites are elegant, comfortable, tasteful, nothing is left out. From bedding, sound system, mini bar (giant variety), bathroom facilities to 3D tv, open fires and views over the Loch and a lake in the grounds for a romantic walk. The food is of a very high quality and served in your own dining room with a smile. For once the drinks are very reasonable, first time ever in a hotel, even the Champagne. The attention to detail and warm welcome from Roger and Ann make all feel special. Have been trying to think of any excuse to go back, which we most certainly will! I know we only stayed for one night, but it felt like longer as we were feed, watered, spoilt and left feeling totally relaxed. Thank you all..

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds as though we managed to help you unwind, relax and allow us to spoil you. Just what you deserve when you are on holiday!

If you need an excuse to return...the walking is really good around here, which is a great excuse because as you know the weather is often a bit changeable so you may be forced to remain on the sofa in front of the fire. That would be a shame...!! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were utterly blown away with the service and the quality of the rooms. This was, by far, the best "luxury hotel" experience we have ever had. When we first entered our four room suite, we walked around speechless with awe. No expense has been spared and no detail has been forgotten when it comes to making the guests feel special. The other reviewers have covered the many amenities and unique touches. You'll feel like royalty in this place, but without the snooty atmosphere of typical five star accommodations. A place like this could easily cost twice as much as what they are charging, so if you have the budget to spend even just one night here, you should. It will be an experience you'll remember for years to come.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have pretty views, but if you can get a view of the water, that is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montecatini13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We try very hard to create the right atmosphere for our guests and believe that luxury accommodation doesn't need to be accompanied with a stiff and somewhat impersonal tone. As a result our team is delighted that we struck the right note for you - being treated like royalty but with a smile and even a laugh...!

We hope to welcome you back soon. Six of our suites have water views so you have a few more to test out!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
11 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
720 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe House

Address: Glencoe House, Glencoe Village PH49 4HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Price Range: £345 - £818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glencoe House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe House offers 5-star luxury suite accommodation in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. The hotel comprises thirteen generous private suites (from 75-148 sq. metres) and contains two distinctive concepts. Firstly, The Glencoe House Suites that are located in the mansion house and have a wealth of period features together with sea or mountain views. Secondly, The Bell Tower Suites which are located 50m from the mansion and are more modern in look and feel and garden views; all have private walled gardens with hot tubs. Regardless of your choice, Glencoe House offers elegant but relaxed and sumptuous suites, with the space and privacy to really kick your shoes off and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Glencoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing