We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Plus...”
Review of Glencoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glencoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection Plus...”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Champagne welcome, luxurious and spotlessly clean room, and wonderful views we were enthralled from the minute we walked in! The staff and hosts are welcoming, professional and go the extra mile to make guests welcome and comfortable. Dining in our room just added to the air of indulgence and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for providing some feedback. We are delighted that you felt indulged and looked after - this is how you should feel when you are on your precious holidays! One of our key values surrounds providing true Highland hospitality where we can share some of the secret local places to go that not all visitors will find as well as welcoming you to Glencoe House itself.

We hope you will be able to return to the area and return guests (or now friends) get a special welcome!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
80
172
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you want to be totally relaxed and laid back you could not find a better place than Glencoe House Hotel.
From the moment you arrive and are greeted, your luggage is taken to your suite and then when you get to your suite you are enveloped in a world of peace and tranquility. When we arrived there was a large log fire burning in the grate, our bags had been put neatly in the bedroom and our clothes holders were hanging in the wardrobes.
We had two large rooms (Bedroom & Lounge) and a beautifully appointed bathroom and large shower. The view from every window was breathtaking. On top of this we had in room dining at our table overlooking the Loch. The staff enjoyed meeting our every need. Wow what a treat!
Candelabra and elegant place settings enhanced the dining experience. We had beautifully cooked and presented food. The Chef Brian visited daily and on two occasions devised an extraordinary meal for us. Wines and spirits were on a honour basis and were not at all expensive.

Even though in the pouring rain, we had some lovely local walks with interesting wild life. As my wife has already said, Roger, Judy and their staff have worked wonders and the place is still being improved on. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that despite the rainy weather that we could make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Indeed sometimes we have been told that the rain gives you a perfect excuse to stay in and indulge in all that the suite offers. Your feedback on Brian's dinners is welcomed as he takes great pride in what he does and seeks to offer the highest service.

We are indeed always looking for ways to further improve what we offer here at Glencoe House. We hope that you can return to experience the changes and of course to give us some feedback. Your glass of champagne is chilling as we speak!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in suite 1 and generally enjoyed ourselves. The privacy and the in-suite dining was just what we needed after the stresses of a recent house move - we dressed for dinner to suit ourselves and breakfast was a dream - we could eat in the lovely towelling robes the hotel supply if we wanted. The lovely view from our dining table over Loch Leven was well matched by the quality and variety of the food and to have your chef visit and discuss your wants - and come up with some superb 'off menu' meals - who would want more? Add in roaring log fires, luxurious slipper bath with a loch view and fantastic shower, staff who enjoy meeting your every need and that says it all really.There are lovely local walks even in the pouring rain. Roger, Judy and their staff have worked wonders and the place is still being improved. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for giving us some feedback. We are very happy that your visit was so successful. We are trying to be a little different from other hotels in that you can set the tone of your stay - whether smart, casual or indeed a mix of the two. There is something to be said, however, for a fully service breakfast in your fluffy robe! We were glad to that Brian was able to tempt you with his meals and that your discussion with him meant that your weeks meals could be varied and cater to your tastes on the day. We hope to see you next year!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at Glencoe House for Highland Titles' 2014 Homecoming and stayed to do some hiking. All staff were clearly oriented towards excellence in every respect, always welcoming and attentive. The room(s) were immaculate and beautifully appointed and much more than we needed. We at first questioned the en suite dining concept, but by the end of the week were converts; you get used to the service and privacy and don't have to deal with getting dressed up or putting on makeup -- making the whole experience less stressful and more relaxed for the ladies. We'd definitely return. It's in wonderful proximity to hiking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you were so happy with your stay here at Glencoe House. We seek spoil you in terms of the accommodation and its facilities but in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are glad that we were able to strike the right note with you. It would seem that the in-suite dinner added to that chilled out feel, which is excellent. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivieres
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

When we arrived soaking wet and freezing late in the evening, we were very warmly welcomed by Ann. She guided us to a crackling fire in our room, and magic happened... The room was luxurious and spacious, with a table set for us to have supper in our own living room, which had an impressive view of the glen. During our 4 days stay, even if we are avid hikers, we were glad to have to stay inside a whole day because of the pouring rain! We enjoyed the confort of the house, and had really interesting discussions with Roger and Judy, our gracious hosts. Every person working in the house was really attentive to our every need. Each night, we ate in house, and Bryan the chef of the catering company who serves supper was very inventive every night in creating tasty vegetarian meals for us.
We will cefinitively come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Yes, as you know all too well, it does rain from time to time in Glencoe. We are glad, however, that we could welcome you back to your suite and your log fire, which always does the trick! We are delighted that the food was to your liking and that Brian could give you something that you have perhaps not tried before.

Your welcome champagne (and a bottle or two of Rully) is on ice waiting for your return.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely loved our stay here, it is so luxurious, that staff, the food where excellent, cannot fault this hotel, one of or if not best hotel we have ever stayed at in the uk, my husband and i are both serious climbers, so the location was superb, so looking forward to our next visit, i would give this hotel top marks across the board.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandBobbyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Clearly there is much to entice you to the area with the the great walking and climbing in the area. Hopefully we can provide a refuge afterwards all your labours, which means that you get the best of both worlds. We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing the stories from you climbs.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It doesn't seem right Trip Advisor calling it B & B, it is sooooo much more than that. By far one the best places we have ever stayed in, Roger really does seem to know his market and has it spot on. Nothing bad I can say about the staff or venue. The suites are elegant, comfortable, tasteful, nothing is left out. From bedding, sound system, mini bar (giant variety), bathroom facilities to 3D tv, open fires and views over the Loch and a lake in the grounds for a romantic walk. The food is of a very high quality and served in your own dining room with a smile. For once the drinks are very reasonable, first time ever in a hotel, even the Champagne. The attention to detail and warm welcome from Roger and Ann make all feel special. Have been trying to think of any excuse to go back, which we most certainly will! I know we only stayed for one night, but it felt like longer as we were feed, watered, spoilt and left feeling totally relaxed. Thank you all..

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It sounds as though we managed to help you unwind, relax and allow us to spoil you. Just what you deserve when you are on holiday!

If you need an excuse to return...the walking is really good around here, which is a great excuse because as you know the weather is often a bit changeable so you may be forced to remain on the sofa in front of the fire. That would be a shame...!! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe House

Property: Glencoe House
Address: Glencoe House, Glencoe Village PH49 4HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glencoe House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe House offers elegant accommodation located in 10 acres of private gardens in the heart of Scotland's Highlands. This historic mansion, the former home of Lord Strathcona, offers tranquillity and outdoor adventure. Suited equally to those who wish to gaze at the Pap of Glencoe from their window and those who want to walk up it, Glencoe House invites you into the comfort and refuge of your own suite.Any one of our seven suites will welcome you with an open log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glencoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing