We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just re-opened”

Glencoe Folk Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the picturesque village of Glencoe, Glencoe & North Lorn Folk Museum is a must see for history enthusiasts and tourists alike. Housed in an Eighteenth Century thatched cottage, the museum collection includes a vast array of objects including costume and textiles, taxidermy, china and Jacobite memorabilia. The museum allows a unique insight into the rich, local history of Glencoe.
Ayr
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just re-opened”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The museum just opened the day of our visit. It is feather small but is an exceptional insight into past life and not just of Glencoe. Id recommend if you've a half hour to spare then pop in. The staff are so friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“interesting visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you love Glencoe and the history surrounding this village then you must visit the Folk Museum.

very helpful staff who will explain anything you ask and lots to look at, I wish it was a bit bigger as i could spend more time there. worth looking if you are in Glencoe and situated right in the village.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gregmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to learn about Glen Coe”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a great tour of the museum, with many anecdotes of the local history. A good collection of local artifacts and history of the Glencoe Massacre.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Will_Melnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

You could easily miss this lovely wee museum, but don't!

Its set in a stunning thatched cottage. Inside is a treasure trove of local and Scots history. It brought some fascinating times to life for us.

The volunteer was very knowledgeable and a lively story telling. She was also fabulous with our then 1 year old, letting her explore fully.

Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank martinkeane_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the history of the glen”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

the history of the glen told very well in the small buildings outside, quite a few things to look at inside too. although the day I was in the atmosphere was lost because of the staff having a moan to each other. I was the only person in the museum and I didn't stay very long because I kind of felt as if I was disturbing their chat. it is still worth a visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glencoe Folk Museum also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 

Been to Glencoe Folk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing