We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, modern b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strath Lodge Glencoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A fabulous stay with Ann and Dan. The B&B is gorgeous and modern. Extremely spacious with large windows everywhere. There's a great kitchen/dining room/lounge area with a deck that guests can relax in whenever they feel like. The views are phenomenal with mountains on either side. My bed was extremely comfortable and the shower high pressure and hot--exactly what one wants when done climbing the mountains at the end of the day.
The village of Glencoe is a 15min walk away. During my stay, the pubs where I ate dinner, closed their kitchens at 9pm. Considering the sun was setting around 8.30pm that meant I had to hustle to get there in time when coming late off the mountain.
Ann's breakfasts were delicious and filling. Lots of variety. I mostly spoke with Ann during my stay and she was extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and gave great ideas and advice for things to fill my days with. One of the best tips Ann gave me was to go sea kayaking with Paddle Lochaber. Also lots of tips on where to eat and drink, both within walking distance and with a car. I'll be staying here next time I'm in the highlands.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katbot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathLodgeGlencoe, Owner at Strath Lodge Glencoe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for taking the time to write it. We know how important it is after a day in the hills to have a powerful hot shower, relax and enjoy the scenery around you and finish off with a great nights sleep in a comfy bed, so it good to hear you felt our home delivered on those important things. Certainly if you are ever in the Highlands again, it would be great to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked the Strath Lodge purely by loving the website and we were not disappointed! In fact we had such a wonderful stay we would love it to be 'kept a secret!' Ann and Dan were so friendly and helpful and we had one of the best evenings of our vacation at the local Clachaig Inn!! The rooms at the lodge were super clean, modern and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. When you wake up in the morning all you can hear are the birds singing. Breakfast was incredible (go for the full Scottish!). Glencoe and the surrounding areas are just stunning and we will be back one day to explore more - hopefully with all of our family! We can honestly say that this was the best place we stayed for the whole of our holiday. Don't miss out, book!!! Nikki and Chrs

Room Tip: Both the rooms at the top of the house were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathLodgeGlencoe, Owner at Strath Lodge Glencoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We'd like to thank you for taking up your own precious time to write us such a lovely review - it does mean a lot to us. We do pride ourselves that our website is a great reflection of what our home is actually like, so it's great to hear that you think so too. We're so happy that you had such a fantastic time here in Glencoe and regard your stay here as the best place you stayed for the whole of our holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked last minute, looking for a high end b&b in the Glencoe area

Fabulous hosts
Beautiful huge room
Immaculately clean
Excellent food, beautifully cooked and presented
Fantastic location
Loads of nearby amenities incld excellent eateries


Absolutely faultless!!!

Room Tip: If your lucky enough to get availability you'll love any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathLodgeGlencoe, Owner at Strath Lodge Glencoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a kind review. We're so glad that all of your expectations for your stay both here at the lodge as well as in Glencoe were met, and that you had such a great mini break. A great relaxing break certainly is essential in today's hectic world, and we hope to see you again when you next need to unwind !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Where do I start……one word springs to mind ‘outstanding’ on every level. Location, quality, hospitality, food, accommodation, service, cleanliness…. I could continue. If you are looking for a warm, friendly, beautiful place to stay when visiting Glencoe then I would very much recommend Strath Lodge. Thank you to both Ann and Dan for making our visit to Glencoe so fantastic ….. the only thing they couldn’t deliver was the weather, in saying that, when you are staying in such a stunning location, the rain doesn’t seem to matter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolly_Lolly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathLodgeGlencoe, Owner at Strath Lodge Glencoe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so happy that you had such a great time here at our home, and hearing that you regard us as outstanding on every level, really makes us feel really great about our B&B. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us have some feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our one night stay at the Strath lodge was delightful. As we were only staying one night I booked the less expensive Standard room, the Rannock, which is on the lower level. There is some slight noise from the rooms up above and from the breakfast room/lounge, but not a big deal. Proprietors Ann and Dan are a charming couple who run a lovely B&B. We hit a curb on the road while driving and were having some tire trouble. Ann helped us greatly by locating an Esso garage at our next night’s stop and arranged for us to purchase a new tire. Way above and beyond. We were so grateful for her help. Our room was clean and modern. In fact, the entire house is extremely comfortable. For dinner we drove up their same road a bit and ate at the Clachaig Inn in their back Boots Bar. We loved it here and would highly recommend this great pub. Ann and Dan are very experienced hikers with loads of advice should you desire assistance. Breakfast was delicious. Their website is accurate. In all……we’d love to return someday!

Room Tip: The Standard room on the lower level is less expensive. You will hear some noise from up above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathLodgeGlencoe, Owner at Strath Lodge Glencoe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and it's great to hear you would love to come back one day. We were happy to help you out with your tire issues - we know that when anyone is in a foreign country sorting these types of issues can feel a little more daunting. Strath lodge is a modern built home and benefits from insulation between all floors and walls, but as with all family homes, there can on occasion be some awareness of people moving around when in our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. We had a lovely time here. Our room was beautiful with a stunning view and the hospitality spot on. Would definitely return again for longer next time. Great value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathLodgeGlencoe, Owner at Strath Lodge Glencoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We're so glad you had a such great time here in our home, and in Glencoe and would love to welcome you back if you head back to the area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights last week and had such a good time. Strath Lodge is by far the best B&B we've stayed in and we would go back tonight if we could! Ann and Dan are so extremely welcoming, attentive and thoughtful. It feels like you're staying with old friends and yet at the same time you're left free to relax and unwind. The attention to detail has been really thought about and the greatest care taken to ensure that you'll have nothing to worry about other than how soon you'll be able to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stickmanslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathLodgeGlencoe, Owner at Strath Lodge Glencoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We're so pleased you had such a great stay with us and managed to get some quality relaxation time. And it's great to hear that the way we approach running our B&B is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.9 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,265 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
3.6 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strath Lodge Glencoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strath Lodge Glencoe

Address: The Strath, Glencoe Village PH49 4HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range: £35 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome awaits at Strath Lodge, set in a quiet and secluded location with spectacular mountainous views all around and just a short stroll from Glencoe village. Our spacious and luxurious en-suite rooms have either superking or kingsized beds. Start your day off with the heartiest of cooked breakfasts in our bright and airy breakfast room looking out at the rugged mountains on all sides. Glencoe makes a fantastic base from where you can explore all of what the Scottish Highlands has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strath Lodge Glencoe Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing