We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eternally popular yet under-prepared”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clachaig Inn

Clachaig Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
249 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Eternally popular yet under-prepared”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were staying in the lodges so ate here a few times in the week. The food is generally ok and not hideously priced. However, despite always being popular for food they seem under prepared and kept running out of mainstream dishes. The queues are long too. Not entirely helpful with our infant as we weren't allowed to take her into the other (quieter) bar. Acceptable but average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rampikino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    148
    59
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The food, the staff, the location, the scenery, the facilities, all were amazing.

If you're looking for a nice dinner and near the Clachaig Inn, i highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good character and food, but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went here for an evening meal when staying in Glencoe village. We ate here many years ago and had fond memories of it.

What an unusual place! It has a dining area and a bar area and they serve food to both. It looks a bit dated, but fits in with the area and has retained it's character.

We ate in the dining area and were served at our table, but we could hear order numbers being bellowed out to the bar area, as there was such a noise to overcome. Why don't they install a loudspeaker system?

There was only one barman on duty in our room, who took orders, served your drinks and helped deliver orders to the bar area. You had to wait for ages to get your order in, so don't expect to eat quickly! Food was fine (lovely soup) and helpings were generous, so no complaints there. It was also was served fairly promptly (after you eventually placed an order), so it helped to make up for the poor ordering system.

It really needs updating and a greater concern for customers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A major disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

At this pub, you ordered from the bar and they brought your food to the table. There seemed to be no one in charge here. The place was unkempt and the food was mediocre at best. The table where we sat still had food and drink stains on it, and the waiters didn't seem to care. At the very end of our meal, a staffer materialzed and said, "I'll get someone to clean your table." He then disappeared, and it was the last we saw of anyone. An amazing experience, and we don't mean that in a good way. We had much better luck at the dining room at the Glencoe Hotel. a fine-dining atmosphere with good service and excellent cuisine. The grilled salmon was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank windatourbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to have an inn! Dramatic scenery all around.
The food and drink selection here is cracking. My Cajun chicken and rice was delicious. There were loads of local options on the menu too. The range of cask ales is also fab.
One very minor drawback, the process of ordering at the bar/hatch isn't very good. When it's busy it queues right around the bar. It took ages to get served and ages for the food to arrive. We weren't in a hurry though. Might have been an issue if we were though.

Helpful?
Thank Phil_L_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clachaig Inn also viewed

 

Been to Clachaig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing