We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”
Review of Kings House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings House Hotel
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Four of us stayed in this historic and legendary highlands hotel for the first 4 days of June, 2011. It is located 10 miles East of the village of Glencoe in Argyll, Scotland. Kitty and Roderick Leitch are absolutely charming and knowledgeable inn keepers who goes out of their way to generously assist in any way they can. We are avid hikers and climbers and this area is a paradise for those who love the outdoors. Although the King's House is a classic country inn, with comfortable lounges, an attractive dinning room and 2 inviting bars, it has the warmth and personal touch of a family run bed and breakfast and is just as affordable. I can't say enough about how well we were treated but I'd like to add that this is my favorite part of Scotland and I couldn't imagine a better place to stay while exploring it.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkerHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed one night as part of WHW trip. Hotel is very dated but that's what makes it so special and full of character and interesting history. We stayed in room 11 which was clean, very cosy and warm (great radiator!) and had beautiful views looking straight on to Buachaille Etive Mor. The food served in the bar was very good. Breakfast is not included in the room price and costs extra. Would stay here again if passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkers_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

As an expat I get asked a lot by people who are planning a trip to Scotland. I will not be recommending this place, as it could definitely do with an upgrade and refresh.

The main problems are that the rooms are not en-suite, the furnishings are old, and the general decor looks like it hasn't updated in decades. It might be a historic building, but it could still definitely be brought up to date.

We didn't eat dinner there (went to the Clachaig instead) but the breakfast was reasonably good. Still, the facilities show how Scotland is sometimes still a long way behind other destinations around Europe.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richscrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Macs adventure organised our stop over at kingshouse, at my request as it was on 17th May and my 50th birthday. We were walking the west highland way.
We arrived looking like 'drooked rats' due to the poor weather, to a very warm welcome by staff. We were informed of a 'drying room' for our wet gear, which was very much appreciated. When we got to our room there was a complimentry bottle of chilled wine and a note to wish me a happy birthday from the kings house, a very nice touch.
Evening meal in the pub was excellent, and my birthday celebrations went on to go to the climbers pub, staff were quite happy to keep the bar open as we were guests, which again I thought a nice touch. (sadly we had to be good and get to bed for the next days walk to Kinlochleven!)
Breakfast was the best that we had through the whole walk, home made creamy porridge, followed by excellent smoked haddock and perfect poached egg, loads of tea, and anything else we wanted. Service was quick and pleasant, staff extremely friendly.
Another nice touch was that due to poor phone reception I was unable to phone home, On checking out the receptionist gave me messages that family had phoned in and all was ok.
We were unlucky with the weather, so the views were fog and rain, though I know our room would have looked onto the Buachaille Ettive Beag, having climed the mountain a few years ago, and a well earned drink in the kings house. Service, staff, and surroundings were excellent then and it was good to find things still first class!! keep up the good work!

Room Tip: book early if you want an ensuite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WHW17052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I still can't get the image of the view of Buchaille Etive Mor from the big window in the lounge, complete with roaring log fire, out of my mind- staggering! That and the deer feeding on the lawn right outside my bedroom window. I count myself as being lucky to have had the opportunity to stay in this particular hotel as I know so many people try but are turned away due to it's popularity - so to all the staff a huge thank you for fulfilling part of my dream. My room, although basic was clean and comfortable, the bathroom I shared with one other guest was also spotless, the service in the bar was excellent as was the food - especially the Cranachan! I will definitely be back - and you may have to crowbar me out of the door to get me to leave next time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidgeQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed in the Kings House hotel as part of our walk of the West Highland Way.

We had a nice room which was a little tried and dated. The room was clean and tidy except a used bar of soap had been left after the room had been cleaned.

The evening meal and breakfast was good. We had a packed lunch which was very nice.

Staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Fantastic location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean, beds were very comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't have been more spectacular. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, espically in May - Aug
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parpprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
13.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
162 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
355 reviews
11.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,227 reviews
19.8 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
6.7 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings House Hotel

Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Glencoe Village
Kings House Hotel Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing