We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stay here”
Review of Kings House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings House Hotel
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When we walk the West Highland Way we always stay here. You have to book at least 6 months in advance so really that says it all. Its really old fashioned and some might not like the dated decor but the bed linen is always clean and the food is good which is always welcome after a 20 mile hike from Tyndrum.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolmcg1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed here 3 times, leading groups on WHW trips. Firstly I cannot speak highly enough of Jessie and Mary who take reservations, they have helped me tremendously over the years as the group bookings have needed changes and even organized things such as birthday cakes etc. - always an absolute pleasure to work with. Rooms have always been clean, the ones with views are wonderful and lots of character, and lovely living room. Even though I've been in large groups dining service is fast and efficient and food is good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you appreciate a place for it's history, uniqueness, and superb location this is the place to stay. If you are looking for a nicely appointed room go elsewhere.

My wife and I travelled from Canada to walk the West Highland Way. Our Scottish Tour Company booked us a room with ensuite washroom.

This hotel is a diamond in the rough. The surrounding scenery is spectacular. We stayed in room #12 with a beautiful view, deer were running right outside our window. The room itself is quite dated with old wall paper and twin beds. The bathroom is also dated yet functional with old towels. I didn't trust the water in our bathroom for drinking which was not a problem as our breakfast server was happy to fill our water bladders with drinking water. There is no television or WiFi in your room. There is WiFi on the main floor in a designated hallway near the bar.

There are two nice sitting rooms near the front of the Hotel. In the larger room are spectacular views of Buchaille Etive Mhor 3,345 ft. It is a very cozy room, nice place to chat and have tea. Deer are often found on the front lawn just outside this room.

We checked-in at the bar as the registration desk was closed. The bar staff are very nice. We shared dinner and drinks with some fellow hikers in the pub which was very cozy, food very good, great menu selection. Breakfast was also good the next morning in the dining room, service excellent.

The Hotel's interesting history dates back to the 17th Century. This is truly a one of a kind place. If management invested in some much needed renovations to their rooms this place would be spectacular on a grand scale.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RickyLeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Like a shining jewel after the longest day of hiking (20 miles) this hotel marks salvation and celebration. It is completely isolated - with deer wandering the parking lot. It is run down and a bit shabby but has character, charm and service that make you feel like you are at the Shangri La! Be sure to go to the bar that is outside and around the back of the hotel. We spent a glorious night with 20 new friends met along the West Highland Way singing war songs and celebrating the 20 mile victory. The staff are simply amazing. Special thanks to the bar staff who let us be rowdy - and cared enough to find a room for one of our group that had a really tough day on the trail. DO NOT MISS BREAKFAST. Kitty the 80 years young owner has a lot of tales to tell about what this old hotel has seen.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank JPBCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a very nice lunch in the Climbers' Bar at the hotel while walking the West Highland Way. The menu included a selection of hearty, tasty pub-food options and the bar was a nice place to sit.

The staff were friendly and, when an order got lost, quite sincerely apologetic. We had a nice hour sitting-in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesAFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a setting, walking in off Rannoch Moor. A very hospitable welcome from reception staff set the scene and all other staff we encountered were the same - helpful, efficient, cheerful, attentive without breathing down your neck. The food was very good both in the bar and at breakfast - best porridge I had on the WHW (of the places that offered it). The rooms were comfortable and we had great views. The bathrooms looked very dated ("sad" describes them well) and the towels were atrocious - clean yes but threadbare best describes them (& this was our most expensive night on WHW so we would have expected better).
We loved the lounge and thought it was an asset to the hotel ads it enabled you to get away from the bars if you wanted to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camelliaFerndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location and friendly place to stay with 'pub grub' in this rambling old building - full of character. The staff are helpful & young and must enjoy working/living in this remote location. When we finished breakfast there were campers waiting to come in and use the tables for the generous breakfasts as we all set off walking or climbing.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank johnsuggestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
13.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
11.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,251 reviews
15.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
14.7 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings House Hotel

Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Glencoe Village
Kings House Hotel Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing