We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location but a bit tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings House Hotel
Sydney
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is situated in the stunning Glencoe valley and right on the West Highland Way. The views are astounding! I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom. It was compact but comfortable and functional with a sink in the room. It just lacked some of the modern touches but the view made up for it. Similarly the lounge and bar areas were fine but looking a bit dated. It seemed strange that neither bar capitalised on the view, the lounge bar having frosted windows. I ate lunch, dinner and breakfast here which were all OK. The staff were friendly enough. Stay here for the location and view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rml247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    252
    128
    67
    33
See reviews for
95
259
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Tiny room. Generally not well keep for the price (90pounds). Internet very poor connection, staff reason was that "we're in the middle of nowhere" however can't quite see the justification as next to major highway and other hotels along the road certainly didn't have this problem. Nice view though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The walkers bar was perfect to watch the World Cup final in. Excellent atmosphere. The food was good but my partner felt she didn't get much duck with her meal. Overall probably the best pub in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Saltychip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is an old hotel with history. We had an adequate 3 bed ensuite room - a bit cramped for 3 adults with luggage, and with no view. Everything was very clean and comfortable, but the towels were a bit old. Lovely bath with lots of hot water. We arrived very wet and were told to leave our wet clothes in the drying room on the 1st floor. This was very useful, and our things dried well overnight. The hotel has a couple of nice but old fashioned lounges, and the whole building was really warm. One has no choice but to eat in the hotel unless you have a car, but don't worry - the food served in the bar is excellent and very well priced. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast choice is very good, but I've had better porridge elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePatsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Despite being in a modern extension, our room was very tired looking with shabby furniture. Lots of DIY had been done with a huge mastik gun - and not done at all well. We had shared facilities and the shower and fittings were mouldy and dirty. This was very expensive at £90 for the room. The only saving grace was the magnificent view along Glen Coe. I feel the hotel should invest more in their facilities as this is a popular hotel and visited from people all over Europe who come climbing and walking the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lycragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped off here for a coffee to break up the journey up north, 6 coffees £7.50, with biscuits! Bargain.
Good friendly service albeit not refined, it is in the middle of nowhere remember.
Would I go again? Yes we did on the way back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fosterooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The advantage of this hotel is its location. It is the only hotel in this valley and this is the main reason why this hotel is always fully booked. The hotel is very basic and run by students/boarders (ver friendly though). I learned that during Winter this hotel is populair amongst snowboarders. The hotel reminded me to the cheap accommodations in the ski resort I stayed in when I was a student. For me this hotel is more a hostel than a hotel.

The hotel is not very clean and the interior very old. My (single) room was small and I had to share the bathroom. There was a hole in my door and the wallpaper on the ceiling in the bathroom (yes it still exists...) was falling down from the ceiling. The owner of this hotel hasn't invest in this hotel for many years and he/she probably will never do as there is no competition in this valley.

A lot of WHW walkers book a room in the next valley. Some owners of these accommodations transfer the guests to and from the valley for free. This is probably the best option...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
10.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
13.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.7 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
11.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
10.3 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 13 in Glencoe Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings House Hotel

Property: Kings House Hotel
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Glencoe Village
Kings House Hotel Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing