We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth climbing the hill to find this guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scorrybreac Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scorrybreac Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“well worth climbing the hill to find this guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

scorrybreac was immaculately clean. checking in was very efficient and everything was explained very clearly. the hosts were very knowlegable about the area. breakfast was excellent and plentiful - try the home made yoghurt!
the bathroom may have been small but the space was very efficiently used we loved the power shower and what a luxury to have a shower cubicle with enough room to wash without knocking the side of the shower enclosure, the toiletries provided were good - i liked the fact that they were 'proper' sized containers not silly little travel packs
some rooms had better views than others but because of the quiet situation there was nothing to find fault with in any of the rooms
we stayed a total of 3 nights and slept very well every night, my fears of not being warm enough at night in scotland were totally unfounded - we were lovely and cosy
there was plenty of parking and it was very clearly marked out

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ienjoymyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    7
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
88
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed at Scorrybreac last month for 2 very comfortable nights. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and equipped with all necessary items. The bathroom products were an unexpected bonus. The power shower was excellent - at last, a B&B where you don't have to run around to get wet! Graham and Emma were perfect hosts providing enough information to make us feel welcome without intruding upon our stay, and exceptionally helpful to another couple who had serious hire-car problems.
It was great to be able to choose our preferred breakfast time, and ordering the previous evening, meant that it all came freshly cooked. The porridge was gorgeous and breakfast choices were tasty and varied. We would have no hesitation in recommending Scorrybreac to other travellers, and will stay again if ever back in the area.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a lovely view over the loch and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the Scorrybreac Guest House. The rooms were very clean, and well appointed. There were 3 of us traveling. We had 2 of the 5 rooms. There are only 5 rooms in the guest house. Some have fantastic views. There is also a lovely reading/sitting room with lots of info about the area.

The hosts were friendly and gracious. Graham gave us some excellent recommendations for dinner. There is a couple of short easy hikes (1-2 mile ) from the guest house with great views of the mountains. The breakfast and coffee were great. We probably should have stayed an extra night and explored the area.

This was one on the better B & B we stayed at as we traveled around Scotland.

Room Tip: book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldorado850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Had 2 very relaxing nights at Scorrybreac Guest House with my friends. The rooms and communial rooms were clean, warm and well kept as always. This was my 5th or 6th time (if not more!) staying here. We were given a key so that we could come and go as we pleased. The breakfast was outstanding - just what was needed for a day snowboarding in the nearby resorts of Glen Coe or Nevis Range. Will be back again soon. Sarah

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

The hosts had plenty of rules - we were told what to do when we returned from our evening meal out (felt like we were teenagers given our curfew instructions by our strict parents). Then in the morning, our bedroom was knocked on at 8.30am, to remind us that we would be late for breakfast.

Some B&Bs feel like a family home, that makes customers feel like they're intruding upon a private house with private family rules, and which the business is a secondary afterthought - this felt like one of those. If you want to stay in a place where you feel like you're intruding into a private home rather than staying as a paying customer then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEHG, Owner at Scorrybreac Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Everyone is entitled to their own option. It is a shame that it has taken this person 11 months after staying with us to write this review as we are now unable to recount any of their experiences whilst with us (?).

We feel these comments are unwarranted and unsubstantiated.

We are not sure where this person got the “Curfew instructions” from as we do not have a curfew or curfew instructions - whatever these are. We provide all our guests with a front door key so they can come and go as they like at any time of the day or night. The only thing we ask is for guests to lock the front door on their return for the security and safety of everyone in the house. I struggle to imagine how a door locking request could be confused with a curfew.

We are a family run business as stated in all our advertising. We take pride in our business and work hard to provide a home from home and take offence to the reviewer stating the business is a secondary after thought. We are committed to providing the best quality and standards we can to all our guests including breakfast where we cook everything fresh for 8.30 as we do not wish to leave cooked breakfast ingredients on hot plates. We would knock to advise guests that breakfast is ready, after all other tables have been served and before we start to clear down the kitchen. We do not employ any staff and do everything in house.

Over the last nine years we have continued to upgrade and improve all areas of the guest house so we do resent the comment made suggesting that the business is a secondary after thought. This reviewer has left us a little confused with his opinions, perhaps this reviewer was looking for a hotel??

Over the years we have built up a significant percentage of guests that have stayed with us many times before. We are sorry on this occasion we did not meet this reviewers expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed here for one night in September. Directions given on Visit Scotland website very good and Scorrybreac well signposted from the main road.
Room was lovely. Very comfy bed and lovely luxuriously soft bedlinen.
Breakfast was fantastic- so much better than all those faceless hotel chains. Started with the best yoghurt I've ever tasted along with apricots then a fried breakfast which was really good. Liked the fact that you ordered breakfast the night before so no delays at all in the morning.Porridge was also on offer but was too full up with the other items I chose.
Shower room/toilet area was good. Good quality toiletries provided which was great. Hairdryer and TV in room also and heating controlled from your bedroom so no need to be too hot or cold. Tea,coffee, biscuits provided.
Nice secluded and peaceful spot. Only a 10 minute walk from Glencoe village for evening meal purposes/post office/village shop and a good base for doing a bit of walking/sightseeing in the area. Great views.
Hoping to make another longer visit in 2011.
Very highly recommended and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macbee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Even though Scorrybreac is a little off the beaten track, it's very easy to find. Arrived to a friendly welcome from Graham after our 9 hour drive. We were shown to our good sized and exceptionally clean room. The bathroom was a sufficient size with a lovely power shower. Breakfast was served at a time to suit you with a range of options. Graham and Emma couldn't have been more helpful hosts and made excellent recommendation for walks, meals and sights to see. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
0.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scorrybreac Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorrybreac Guest House

Property: Scorrybreac Guest House
Address: Glencoe, Glencoe Village PH49 4HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scorrybreac Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scorrybreac Guest House was built in the historic grounds of Lord Strathcona's estate. It is surrounded by forest and mountains in a quiet, secluded, isolated spot of Glencoe, with views over Loch Leven and beyond, yet only 800 yards from the centre of Glencoe village.The house is just a few minutes walk from Glencoe Lochan which makes a relaxing easy stroll for all and a great photo point, with stunning reflections of the mountains in the water. Scorrybreac Guest House is a small family run business within an acre of grounds where we live and work. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scorrybreac Guest House Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing