We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little site....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Invercoe Highland Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Invercoe Highland Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little site....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My partner suggested we tried a weekend away under "canvas" as a relatively cost effective way for some R and R. I admit to being a little worried as to how things would be as it was over 30 years since I'd been camping (as a guide). The site was recommended to us by a work colleague who's family regularly go camping. Having checked out the website, we decided that this site seemed to tick all the boxes for us and it actually did exactly "as it said on the tin."
The area that we were directed to was right at the front overlooking the loch - this area seemed to be where there was a mixture of small and mid sized tents. The view was amazing, despite the almost constant rain - really putting the tent through its paces! The shower/toilet block was kept very clean. The showers provided a good supply of hot water. The only minor negative comment I would make is that the hairdrier was lacking somewhat in power.
We didn't make use of the covered eating area, but could see that you could use it for heating as well as eating food. The small shop could provide you with your basic foods and camping extras and the staff that we met were very friendly.
We ate our first evening meal at the Glencoe Hotel in the village - the food was well cooked and tasty and the staff made you feel welcome.
The site was pretty quiet at night - the only noise was the lapping water on the loch and the "dawn chorus"
Although we were only there for a couple of nights, it was long enough for us to decide that we would certainly return to Invercoe and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadow560, Public Relations Manager at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback and for highlighting the issues with the hairdrier and we will look into this asap. Thanks again for your feedback and lookforward to seeing you at the site again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    20
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
78
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had come from Mortonhall campsite in Edinburgh to this and wish we had stayed there!
Don't get me wrong, the location is beautiful and the gent who appears to run it is very friendly, but the facilities available aren't the best they could be. Spotlessly clean though, we couldn't fault them on hygiene. But the "hairdryers" listed on the website consists of 1 hairdryer that costs 20p and takes forever to get your hair close to dry. The kitchen area is a sort of solid gazebo type structure with open sides that was freezing to sit in. My boyfriend didn't get a hot shower on one of the coldest days because there wasn't any hot water. The rain didn't help at all and maybe in the sunshine these things wouldn't have mattered, but the camp should be more equipped for bad weather situations, especially in Glencoe.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Public Relations Manager at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Zoe Simpson

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your review seems to be very confusing so I would like to clear some points with you, I hope you don't mind?
You have said our location and Service is both beautiful, very friendly and spotlessly clean. Yet you have marked us very low on everyone? The rooms you have also marked down, yet you stayed in your own Tent not our accomodation? We do appologise for your boyfried not being able to have hot water, and that you thought it was freezing it was exceptionally cold on the days you stayed. Maybe you would preffer to stay in one of our Lodges or Cottages where there is hot water and heating to keep you warm? Kind regards Invercoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invercoe Highland Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercoe Highland Holidays

Property: Invercoe Highland Holidays
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Invercoe Highland Holidays Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing