We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Invercoe Highland Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Campsite”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place. We got a tent pitch overlooking the loch and were treated to excellent views, especially in the evening with a glass of wine!
Everything is clean and well organised and the staff are pleasant and helpful.
The only (very minor) thing is that the on site shop could be open a little longer. Other than that no complaints.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil_L_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Owner at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about the park. Sorry the shop wasn't open longer for you when you were here but as we are just a small family owned business and we are all very much 'hands on' and have to juggle shop/ toilets cleaning / admin etc .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    22
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
85
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have camped and caravanned all over Europe for over 45 years. Invercoe is by far the best.The amenities are spotless the site layout second to none,Iain and Lynne who run this site are top people who guarantee you a Highland welcome.The scenery is breathtaking.The site has chalets,static caravans and also two Hobbits to rent also a well stocked shop.Some sites get it right,Invercoe certainly has.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Owner at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your great endorsement of our park, and your kind comments. It makes all the hard work very worthwhile if we get happy campers like yourselves!
Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this sight for two separate nights while touring Scotland by motor home. It is in a stunning location in Invercoe, which is a 2minute walk from the village of Glencoe, with fantastic views across the loch and surrounded by the high ranges, including the dominant pap of Glencoe. The facilities are the best we encountered with a very clean shower and ablution block, plenty of grey water disposal areas and a small shop on site. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pitches are spacious and level, and all had electric and water plug ins. The views are spectacular and the village of Glencoe, with a pub and restaurant etc is only a couple of minutes walk away. The famous walkers pub, the clachaig inn, is a 2 mile walk from the site and is well worth a visit for its atmosphere and great beer and food. All in all this camp site is an ideal base for seeing around this area of Scotland, either by walking or driving, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Owner at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your very good report on our park. Much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked into one of the Hobbit homes for a one night stop on our way up to Applecross. The setting was breathtaking and the campsite was fantastic. All the facilities were spotless and the site is beautifully maintained. The Hobbit home was perfect with a fridge, microwave and tv inside. Outside there is a veranda with a table and chairs to sit and watch the sun set. The only down side are the midges. Would strongly recommend anyone going up in the highlands near the lochs to take some really good insect repellent as the Scottish midges have no mercy. Would definitely stay there again (I am a secret hobbit at heart).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink36x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Owner at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Good to hear you liked the hobbits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I first visited this campsite as a small child, with my parents and brother. We'd come every year, with tent and bikes in tow and spend a couple of glorious weeks exploring the surrounding area.
This year my husband and I decided to take our children here. We didn't stay for as long as we were touring up to the Outer Hebrides in our camper van, but I really wanted to show our kids a camp site that held so many happy memories for me. Thirty years later I was concerned that it may all have changed. In subtle ways it has, it's obviously had to keep up with the times and the shower blocks have been modernised, etc. But in the important ways it is just as I remembered. Stunning, friendly, still owned and run by the wonderful Brown family, peaceful, clean and relaxing. Our children loved it, they had a view from their beds right over Loch Leven and they enjoyed the little stony shore, just as I used to. Happy memories still intact and a new generation to carry it forward. All in all, we were very happy campers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Owner at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are so glad that your memories of the place were good and that you weren't disappointed on your return.
Also glad to hear that our changes and improvements are for the better without spoiling the ambience of Invercoe.
Hope to see you another time.
Lynn and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed three nights in one of Invercoe's two hobbit houses. The campsite is in a truly stunning location, nestled between the mountains and next to a loch. We enjoyed fabulous weather the entire time we were there, but unfortunately this made the hobbit houses unbearably hot. They heat up during the day time and are like an oven come late afternoon and then all night. We opened the doors and window to let the breeze blow through but this meant we had a hut full of midges who have left us both with awful, itchy bites all over, the repellant was a waste of time. It was however better than roasting as we didn't sleep a jot the first night because of the heat. This problem could have been easily resolved by having a fly screen on the window - I don't know why one isn't provided.

The campsite facilities are excellent and the hobbit houses themselves each had a nice balcony to enjoy the wonderful views. The site was quiet and we would definitely stay in a hobbit house again at this site but not in summertime when it may be hot.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Owner at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We have never had a complaint that it has been too hot in Glencoe!!
You usually can leave windows open as long as you don't have a light on
although when you were here the weather was exceptional.
We will bear in mind your suggestion though and many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINLITHGOW
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have stayed here previously in a tent and thouroughly enjoyed our stay and the facilities. We used to tour a lot with a caravan and mainly stayed at Caravan Club sites, the amenities at Invercoe are first class, very clean, and well thought out, and much more relaxed as a real good mix of holiday makers. There are only two Hobbit houses and it is difficult to get availabilty as they are so popular with good reason. We booked in adavance which is advisable. At 6ft 6ins a Hobbit my husband is not, plenty of room inside. Good value. Can recommend the Laroch in Ballachulish village for eating and drinking, the fish and chips are great. Looking forward to our nest visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllLynn10, Public Relations Manager at Invercoe Highland Holidays, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, we do try to give everyone a great experience and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
3.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,188 reviews
5.5 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
471 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invercoe Highland Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercoe Highland Holidays

Property: Invercoe Highland Holidays
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Invercoe Highland Holidays Glencoe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing