We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oxtongue Kayak Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolf Den Hostel & Nature Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wolf Den Hostel & Nature Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oxtongue Kayak Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

As a base camp to a perfect paddling weekend, the Wolf Den Bunkhouse and Cabins was a perfect retreat! Hosts Jacque and his wife Jenn (I believe, correct me if i'm wrong) had just taken ownership 10 days prior. Both hosts were engaging and helpful even though Jenn had recently injured herself and was obviously in pain.
On the final weekend of May 2014 a lifelong friend and I decided to paddle the beautiful and historic Oxtongue River down from Canoe Lake to Oxtongue Lake in 2 legs. Day one was the shorter leg with our take out at Western Uplands hiking trial. We ended around 7 pm and headed for dinner and then a comfortable sleep at the Wolf Den. The accommodations and washrooms were super clean. We were in room 4 of the main building and beds were good but the pleasant surprise was the heated floors in the morning. Although we didn't use the kitchen, it was central and well stocked. The charming grounds and building are also well maintained.
Day 2 of our trip we encountered very do-able rapids and swift water. But watch out for Gravel Falls as there is no warning signage other than a portage route. Beautiful to encounter but would have been deadly to go over. Further down, the Oxtongue River meanders along with some more rapid/ swift water and then Ragged Falls.
As the river finds its way into the Oxtongue Lake you pass by a river access property also owned by the Wolf Den but currently under-developed. It will be very interesting to see what these folks will do with this perfect gem of a property in Algonquin Park.
Many of the early explorers and even Tom Thomson paddled the Oxtongue and to have the Wolf Den Bunkhouse and Cabins along this route makes the trip along a little bit of Canadiana a memorable and rewarding experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
32
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the lodge 2 weeks ago. This is our second time there and it was perfect!
Ben - the manager - gave us great tips regarding hiking option.
The place is great also for kids
We were 2 families at the main building with 5 kids
Lounge area at the second floor is relaxing, kitchen is well equipped and the rooms rad basic but we didn't need more.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barrydanino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driebergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a relaxed few days in 2009. Stayed in the main house and enjoyed the place. Great starting place for algonquin park. There is a lovely kitchen and reading / games area. You can also stay in private lodges.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OGeveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We can't wait to go back to this, homey, rustic, welcoming hostel. The space is conducive to socializing as well as having a quiet time. We stayed in the main building as part of an outing club and had a great time. The cost for staying here is very reasonable. Bring your own food and enjoy.

Room Tip: remember they also have a sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobie.mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a wonderful experience at Wolf Den from the minute we got there until we left. Very laid back. The place was full. A group was having a pre Thanksgiving dinner. The walks in the area were great - did not have to drive anywhere. My friend from England even got to Kayak with a member of one of the groups that was up there. They had a great bonfire and singalong in the evening. I cannot think of anything bad to say about the place. Great feel to it and I know I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7wondersajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

For price and location the wolf den won´t be beat!!! It is literally right on the doorstep of the Algonquin park for quick, easy access and the rates for a private room were cheaper than camping in the park. The atmosphere is cool, nice easy place to meet fellow travellers, and the fully equipped kitchen made meal time a breeze (although it did get a little crowded at times). Another big plus was the peace and quiet after 10pm ... unlike many other hostals!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voice_of_reason33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Amazing, the atmosphere is just what you are looking for to either getting out of the city or just experiencing the outdoors of Canada.
Algonquin Park is stunning and the rooms that you can stay here are fantastic, very clean and comfortable.
A fully stocked kitchen so that you can cater for yourself plus the Manager is just so helpful and welcoming it makes you want to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxtongue Lake
18.2 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
0.5 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
10.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolf Den Hostel & Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Den Hostel & Nature Retreat

Property: Wolf Den Hostel & Nature Retreat
Address: 4568 Highway 60 | Algonquin Park, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0H 1H0, Canada (Formerly Wolf Den Bunkhouse 'n Cabins)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Algonquin Park and stay just 5 minutes away, in a timber-frame log cabin! We offer affordable, clean accommodation and have friendly, knowledgeable on-site owners. There are a variety of private and shared sleeping options, a large fully equipped communal kitchen and a cozy, yet spacious lounge with a fireplace to relax by. Check out our cedar log sauna and meet people from literally all around the world by the campfire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wolf Den Hostel & Nature Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing