We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxtongue perfect---we will return ! :-)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxtongue Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our first visit to Parkway and we were impressed! the cottage (for 2) was very clean and well appointed, with a completely new kitchen area, very comfortable beds, adequate bathroom, BBQ and outdoor chairs, too. We did not use the inside table/chairs as the late August weather was perfect for eating out on the deck. An added bonus is the free use of canoes/kayaks for exploring the lake and evening 'paddles' along the river to Ragged Falls. The beach is raked each day to remove any debris that has 'floated' ashore. The cottages are well spaced to make each one more private. The store is well stocked for basic needs, PLUS they sell Kawartha Dairy ice-cream....need I say more?......

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanner_4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

It seems the owners are trying to squeeze some more money out of every guest. They will try to blame non-existant problems on you or anything bad they can see fit to ruin your stay. We stayed for two days and we did not know that one of the window net was broken. We could not figure out why there were millions of mosquitos in our cottage. Then we found out the culprit broken window mesh. We left the place very clean but the owners found one pan that was not fully clean and charged us $50 dollars. Then they were very rude and obnoxious to us. Well we will never go there again and will tell all of our frends to stay away from that hidden hell.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CyrusSyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkwaycottages, Owner at Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

It would appear that the truth is as much a stranger as a dishcloth and brush. The cottage was left in a disgusting condition with food ground into the laminate floor, filthy work surfaces and cooker top, dirty crockery and cooking utensils and yes the burned pan that they mentioned amongst other things.

We discovered the pushed out screen after they had left, needless to say we were not informed that it was broken and the previous renter will testify that it was Ok when they left and when we checked it.

Strange that they have omitted to mention that they left a barbecue lighter on the stove top, melted it and blew it up and that I was threatened and sworn at in front of witnesses on our forecourt when I confronted them about the state that they had left the cottage in. It took two of us over five hours to clean and effect repairs before we could allow the next guests to occupy the cottage.

We have retained the photographs we took of the cottage when they left and of course we kept the melted barbecue lighter.

They got away extremely lightly with only a $50.00 surcharge (incidentally these are the only ones we have had to charge this year) If we had known the full extent of the abuse to the cottage and the time it would take to put it right it would have been substantially more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Lovely little place to stay. A double cottage offer 2 beds a small table with 2 chairs, a kitchen with everything in you need (fridge, gas stove, dish) and a very tiny bath with shower. Cottages for 4 or more people are closer or have acess to the beach to the oxtongue lake. Cottages for two are in the back. The owners are very, very friendly and offer some basics in their little shop.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillimanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

When you are looking for a home away from home this is the place to go! I had the opportunity to take some American friends to Algonquin Park and show them what Northern Ontario is all about and staying at Parkway enhanced that experience. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The ability to use their kayaks and canoes as opposed to renting or bringing ours all the way from North Carolina is a great benefit. Their helpful hints about where to go to in the park and when were greatly appreciated by my friends who went out on their own. Colin, Brenda and James were very nice and we enjoyed talking with them all. We have already booked to go again next year with the same friends from North Carolina!

Room Tip: We rented the cabin that sleeps six and were quite comfortable. The beds were hard but after a day o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrees12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We last stayed at Parkway over seven years ago before the present owners took over. The place was rundown and overgrown but in a beautiful location and handy for Algonquin Park.
The new owners have built a new Lodge, replaced roofs, kitchens and beds etc.
The beach is a Gem as are the surroundings (they tell me that they have planted over 400 trees), it is relaxing and allowed us to chill out after a long trip.
The store and Trading Post sell just about everything you could want .
The only drawback was an untidy group of familys that had taken over the beach area and let their kids run wild.
The new owners are friendly and we were not told about the antics of previous guests but then we did not ask.
On the whole a relaxing, friendly resort. Good value for money.

Room Tip: It is quieter away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddevil609113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

It's with sadness that our family will be moving on to another resort for next summer. We have been to Parkway for nearly 15 years as a family and have enjoyed the rustic cottages on a very quiet lake. Our concern is not one with the resort itself, but rather with the customer service of this resort over the last few years.

Both ourselves and other long-time guests feel the current owners complain about other guests and issues with the running of the resort too much. Upon check-in we were greeted with a complete rundown on all the problems with last weeks' guests. There was no "Hello! Welcome Back!" Just "Woe is us. Our life is so tough." Granted, running a resort is not for everyone, and I commend these folks for trying, but first impressions are everything.

As long-time customers, we appreciate how hard you work to keep the place looking great. Could you appreciate that we want to relax and enjoy ourselves and have paid good money to do so at your resort?
Again, it is not so much the cottages or the upkeep of the resort itself that has changed our minds, it is the feeling we get while we are there from the owners. I can only imagine the guests that checked in after us. I wonder what stories were told to them about us as guests? I would hope nothing as we have never been asked not to return, and in fact have been invited back every year.

We will be taking our money to another resort until we hear from our fellow cottagers and friends that things have changed. Perhaps if next summer's report from our vacationing friends from Parkway is better, maybe then we'll reconsider.

Such a shame.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyT2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkwaycottages, Owner at Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Don't know about this one, I did tell a kid to stop using a $60.00 canoe paddle as a shovel but they were first timers and did'nt know better, but all the ones that have been coming for years have rebooked for next year. We had some twenty year olds in one of the cabins who left it in a mess and we charged them for the extra cleaning etc. But I can,t remember telling any of our regulars about it. We have put in two new kitchens replaced a patio type door and done a ton of maintenance this year and over the winter so the cottages are not run down or neglected. If it was a regular who wrote this why did'nt they say something or tell us they would not be returning instead of stabbing us in the back on tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

if you dont mind feeling unwanted or a burden then this is the place for you, owners have become very rude and unappreciated of paying customers, they spent most of there time complaing about other guests and what they did or did not do during there stay. customer service is not present at this resort. besides the new cottage #3 they build the rest are old rundown and expensive for the area, you can get better cottages across the lake with cleaner beaches and more to do for kids without having to always look over your shoulder to see if the owners are going to roar at you for doing nothing wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkwaycottages, Owner at Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Once again I am at a loss with this one, We have had no regulars in from Toronto recently, it would seem that this and the previouse complaint were written by the same person. Once again if there was a problem why not say while they were here or when they left.
When the four twenty year olds that left a cottage in a mess were charged for the cleaning etc they did threaten us, maybe this is their revenge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxtongue Lake
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
0.1 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
10.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
10.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,370 reviews
20.2 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post

Address: 4412 Hwy 60 | Dwight- muskoka, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkway Resort borders Algonquin Provincial Park with 8 one, two & three bedroom lakeside housekeeping accommodations, along with it's own Trading Post & store. Parkway Cottage Resort is located 6 minutes fro Algonquin Parks west gate and 30 minutes from Huntsville Ontario. We are Situated on the beautiful Oxtongue Lake off of hwy 60 and set in a wooded 7 acres. The lake shore cottages offer a wonderful view and we are the closest housekeeping resort west of the Park. NOW WITH FREE WI-FI IN REC HALL. 2016 Rates plus tax Cottage 1 $109.00 Daily $680.00 Weekly studio MAXIMUM 2 PEOPLE Cottage 2 $109.00 Daily $680.00 Weekly studio MAXIMUM 2 PEOPLE Lodge 3 $212.00 Daily $1,340 weekly 3 bedrooms MINIMUM 5 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 6 Cottage 4 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly 2 bedrooms MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 Cottage 5 $142.00 Daily $840.00 Weekly MINIMUM 3 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 4 Cottage 6 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 6 Cottage 7 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 Cottage 8 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing