We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dwight Village Motel(Dwight)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Resort(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King William Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
35
21
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
21
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson sitealgonquin parkincluded in the pricepark passcolinwalkwaycottagegiftslakestoreoxtonguefishingsummerboatsfamiliesedgehighway
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I were on a 2 day getaway to the Algonquin area. We made no advance reservations due to the last minute trip and we wanted to see where we would stay. We looked at 2 locaitons on Oxtongue lake before stopping at Parkway. One was good but the available cabin had no view of the lake, the second was beautiful but way beyond our budget. Parkway Cottage Resort was affordable and the only cabin available was #8, a beachfront cottage. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the cottage and resort. The beach was well groomed and even the fire pit was well cared for. Our only negative was the size of the bed. We are used to a king bed and a double is quite an adjustment. I think in general, all cottages should have queen beds rather than double beds. Of course, a queen would not fit in these rooms but I must say they could ask a higher price if the beds were larger and more comfortable. The hosts were quiet but after a short conversation, the British wit became apparent. We definitely recommend this resort but probably not for romantic getaways. Then again, it's not priced as high as the romantic getaway resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our first visit to Parkway and we were impressed! the cottage (for 2) was very clean and well appointed, with a completely new kitchen area, very comfortable beds, adequate bathroom, BBQ and outdoor chairs, too. We did not use the inside table/chairs as the late August weather was perfect for eating out on the deck. An added bonus is the free use of canoes/kayaks for exploring the lake and evening 'paddles' along the river to Ragged Falls. The beach is raked each day to remove any debris that has 'floated' ashore. The cottages are well spaced to make each one more private. The store is well stocked for basic needs, PLUS they sell Kawartha Dairy ice-cream....need I say more?......

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanner_4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

It seems the owners are trying to squeeze some more money out of every guest. They will try to blame non-existant problems on you or anything bad they can see fit to ruin your stay. We stayed for two days and we did not know that one of the window net was broken. We could not figure out why there were millions of mosquitos in our cottage. Then we found out the culprit broken window mesh. We left the place very clean but the owners found one pan that was not fully clean and charged us $50 dollars. Then they were very rude and obnoxious to us. Well we will never go there again and will tell all of our frends to stay away from that hidden hell.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CyrusSyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkwaycottages, Owner at Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

It would appear that the truth is as much a stranger as a dishcloth and brush. The cottage was left in a disgusting condition with food ground into the laminate floor, filthy work surfaces and cooker top, dirty crockery and cooking utensils and yes the burned pan that they mentioned amongst other things.

We discovered the pushed out screen after they had left, needless to say we were not informed that it was broken and the previous renter will testify that it was Ok when they left and when we checked it.

Strange that they have omitted to mention that they left a barbecue lighter on the stove top, melted it and blew it up and that I was threatened and sworn at in front of witnesses on our forecourt when I confronted them about the state that they had left the cottage in. It took two of us over five hours to clean and effect repairs before we could allow the next guests to occupy the cottage.

We have retained the photographs we took of the cottage when they left and of course we kept the melted barbecue lighter.

They got away extremely lightly with only a $50.00 surcharge (incidentally these are the only ones we have had to charge this year) If we had known the full extent of the abuse to the cottage and the time it would take to put it right it would have been substantially more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Lovely little place to stay. A double cottage offer 2 beds a small table with 2 chairs, a kitchen with everything in you need (fridge, gas stove, dish) and a very tiny bath with shower. Cottages for 4 or more people are closer or have acess to the beach to the oxtongue lake. Cottages for two are in the back. The owners are very, very friendly and offer some basics in their little shop.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillimanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

When you are looking for a home away from home this is the place to go! I had the opportunity to take some American friends to Algonquin Park and show them what Northern Ontario is all about and staying at Parkway enhanced that experience. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The ability to use their kayaks and canoes as opposed to renting or bringing ours all the way from North Carolina is a great benefit. Their helpful hints about where to go to in the park and when were greatly appreciated by my friends who went out on their own. Colin, Brenda and James were very nice and we enjoyed talking with them all. We have already booked to go again next year with the same friends from North Carolina!

Room Tip: We rented the cabin that sleeps six and were quite comfortable. The beds were hard but after a day of fun in the sun and water we got used to it!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrees12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews