We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just Love it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxtongue Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It is a very nice cottage!

It is small but you have everything. The price is good too. They are doing renovation now (some already done). If you go there next year, it should be done! You will like it!

We stayed at cottage #7, which is right next to the lake. The view was very good. You can smell the fresh air when you wake up in the morning. It was so relaxing.

It is only 10 minutes away from Algonquin Park, and the rent out pass to the park too, so you can save a few bucks.

It was just too cold for us to do the water sport, otherwise we would have much more fun.
I believe it would be great if you go there during summer time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenTT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Clean cottages, extremely friendly and helpful staff and beautiful landscape!! Cozy cottages with all the basics to return to after a long day of hiking in Algonquin Park with friends. Facilities such as a rec hall with satellite TV, ping pong and free use of canoes, kayaks and paddle boats were a bonus.
Also discount Algonquin park passes were offered at a cost of $8.00 per day well worth it as the regular admission price is $16.00 daily.
The closest & most affordable resort to Algonquin with only a 10 minute drive to the park entrance. Would definitely come again!

Room Tip: There are 2 cottages right on the beach with other cottages set back through out the wooded resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homediy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I wanted to show my partner a wilder part of Canada, and in a way I experienced it as a child, in a cabin by a lake. We booked last-minute and were lucky to get the Parkway. The cabins are cabins, not houses. I felt as if I were in the North, not in a suburb. The cabins are very plain, with minimal decks, but our deck had chairs and a propane BBQ. The inside seemed quite plain, but it actually had everything we needed: plenty of cups, cultery, utensils, and bedding. The electric heater kept us very snug. The shower looked very basic, but was brilliant, and there seemed to be endless hot water there and in the kitchen. I liked it.

We had a cabin in the trees. The others are more exposed. Two sit right at the water's edge. Ours was a little back, but we had a lovely view to the water. Squirrels and chipmunks were playing all over the place. There are plenty of canoes and kayaks you can use for free, and we did, from the property's small dock. Oxtongue is a nice lake to paddle.

The owners stress that this is NOT a place for parties, and we were happy about it. At night, we were surrounded by the quiet of the woods. Yes, the highway is very close, but we were further away than other cabin businesses, some of which are fully exposed to the highway. The little bit of road noise did not bother us. And it meant a very quick drive to Algonquin Park. The owners sell Park day passes at half price. Their little shop had a surprising amount of choice of groceries, and they stock and sell Kawartha icecream, both by the tub and the scoop. Kawartha ice cream was the culinary discovery of the trip. YUM.

The owners are very, very clear about the rules. If you are clean, tidy and quiet, and want a clean, tidy and quiet place, then Parkway is your place. It had everything we wanted, and I would be happy to stay there again.

Tip for overseas guests: the Parkway, like other cabin rentals, Parkway do not offer towels (although they do offer sheets--the beds are made up). Stop in at the Canadian Tire in Huntsville on the way there and buy a micro-towel in the camping section for $14CDN. Very big, really works, and then it takes no room at all in your suitcase.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is set back in trees. There are two cabins right on the lakefront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carocgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our first time at Parkway after our horrible stay at the Algonquin Lake side Inn next door.
Great place to stay for the price and one of the closest places to Algonquin park, the cottages are modern with all the amenities you might need, clean and comfortable with a spectacular view of Oxtongue Lake.
Kayaks,Canoes and paddle boats are included free with your stay,
It's very convenient having a store on site which seems to stock all the basics with reasonable prices.
The owners are very social and accommodating and know a lot about the different walks in Algonquin and the the best walks to do for the views .
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Cottages 7 or 8 are the closest to the lake and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmerdell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family has been staying with the Smiths at the Parkway since they owned it. It is a beautiful spot nestled in the natural environment on Oxtongue Lake. It is a quiet resort which caters to families not partiers. You get a clean 1,2 or 3 bedroom cabin set so you have some privacy. You only need to bring your food,towels and toilettries - everything else is included. You have the use of canoes,paddleboats etc. and a natural sand beach. Colin,Brenda and James are wonderful people who will make you feel right at home. They have steadily been improving the resort and endeavour to keep it as natural as possible. The store has all the little things you will need as well as a wonderful collection of gifts. We can't wait to return - we go 3-5 times as year and would live there if we could. Check it out,if you want to relax with NO party animals !!!

Room Tip: no tv's so it's quiet. The 2 cabins on the water are close together but still quiet. The ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I were on a 2 day getaway to the Algonquin area. We made no advance reservations due to the last minute trip and we wanted to see where we would stay. We looked at 2 locaitons on Oxtongue lake before stopping at Parkway. One was good but the available cabin had no view of the lake, the second was beautiful but way beyond our budget. Parkway Cottage Resort was affordable and the only cabin available was #8, a beachfront cottage. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the cottage and resort. The beach was well groomed and even the fire pit was well cared for. Our only negative was the size of the bed. We are used to a king bed and a double is quite an adjustment. I think in general, all cottages should have queen beds rather than double beds. Of course, a queen would not fit in these rooms but I must say they could ask a higher price if the beds were larger and more comfortable. The hosts were quiet but after a short conversation, the British wit became apparent. We definitely recommend this resort but probably not for romantic getaways. Then again, it's not priced as high as the romantic getaway resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our first visit to Parkway and we were impressed! the cottage (for 2) was very clean and well appointed, with a completely new kitchen area, very comfortable beds, adequate bathroom, BBQ and outdoor chairs, too. We did not use the inside table/chairs as the late August weather was perfect for eating out on the deck. An added bonus is the free use of canoes/kayaks for exploring the lake and evening 'paddles' along the river to Ragged Falls. The beach is raked each day to remove any debris that has 'floated' ashore. The cottages are well spaced to make each one more private. The store is well stocked for basic needs, PLUS they sell Kawartha Dairy ice-cream....need I say more?......

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanner_4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxtongue Lake
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
195 reviews
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
0.1 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
485 reviews
10.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post

Address: 4412 Hwy 60 | Dwight- muskoka, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range: £62 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkway Resort borders Algonquin Provincial Park with 8 one, two & three bedroom lakeside housekeeping accommodations, along with it's own Trading Post & store. Parkway Cottage Resort is located 6 minutes fro Algonquin Parks west gate and 30 minutes from Huntsville Ontario. We are Situated on the beautiful Oxtongue Lake off of hwy 60 and set in a wooded 7 acres. The lake shore cottages offer a wonderful view and we are the closest housekeeping resort west of the Park. NOW WITH FREE WI-FI IN REC HALL. 2016 Rates plus tax Cottage 1 $109.00 Daily $680.00 Weekly studio MAXIMUM 2 PEOPLE Cottage 2 $109.00 Daily $680.00 Weekly studio MAXIMUM 2 PEOPLE Lodge 3 $212.00 Daily $1,340 weekly 3 bedrooms MINIMUM 5 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 6 Cottage 4 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly 2 bedrooms MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 Cottage 5 $142.00 Daily $840.00 Weekly MINIMUM 3 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 4 Cottage 6 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 6 Cottage 7 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 Cottage 8 $153.00 Daily $955.00 Weekly MINIMUM 4 PEOPLE MAXIMUM 5 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing