We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Absolute Gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Salt Cay, Turks and Caicos

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MisseyMue...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Words cannot describe how quickly all your stress melts away when you arrive at these cozy cottages! The ocean breeze, the donkeys coming to visit, the gorgeous views, the crystal clear ocean at your doorstep....the list goes on. This place is absolutely perfect for a true getaway and extremely comfortable, as well. The rooms are clean, well-appointment, and have all the comforts of home! The snorkeling right off the private beach is out of this world! We saw tons of beautiful fish, squid, and anemones and each morning, there was a fresh dusting of beautiful sea glass to pick up on the beach. It's also wonderful to have the bikes to get around the island and explore. There's just no place like Salt Cay and these Seaside Cottages are the place to stay!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything we needed.”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the Conch Cottage. Although we had stayed in open air places before, the AC was much needed during this time of year in Salt Cay. The cottage had almost everything we needed including: mini fridge, hot plate, toaster, cooking safe and dining safe. The room also had towels, a hair dryer, cooler, and we left a beach paddle ball set. The only thing I needed and couldn't make out of something else was a pot lid so we could simmer food -which isn't really a big deal. There were several strangely good movies in the room as well and a DVD player. Although we never watch movies on trips, we found ourselves coming back in the room after a long day of beach time and thoroughly enjoying a movie before bed. Maybe it's because we don't seem to have uninterrupted movies at home anymore (kids 5 and 3). The bed was comfortable and there is a great outdoor shower. We didn't cook outside because we couldn't really figure out how to cook without charcoal, but we ate several meals and had numerous drinks in the outdoor kitchen. We didn't try the beach by the cottage until the last day of our trip because it is pretty rocky past the shoreline but I wished we had beachcombed every morning. There was great seaglass, numerous urchin shells and sand dollars. The property is conveniently located in South Distict just down the road from Mr.and Mrs. Dickenson's store and M&Ps store where we got many provisionals. We loved the island and we will be back with our kids. Thank you for a wonderful 10 year anniversary!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferO...
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots to offer, loved outdoor dining area”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves at Coral Cottage. It was our third time on Salt Cay. The room was comfortable and well equipped. Nice bathroom. The mini fridge met our needs. We opted to take our hot plate + an extension cord from the shed and place in in the beautiful outdoor dining area and cook out there. There are pretty lights and nice breezes - such a nice place to enjoy the evening. There are a lot of grounds here including a large lawn overlooking the sea (beach right next door). We used the loungers and the chairs. Bikes worked well. Overall great experience. The only thing I suggest to host is to, over time, include additional cooking items such as pot covers as eating out in Salt Cay is expensive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parents2
Hamptonville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brand new cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at "end of the world" on a Monday and stayed until the next Monday (not long enough!). Met by Isaac, property caretaker (kind, extremely helpful) and taken by golf cart to residence. We were the only renters on the property the entire week. The Conch Cottage is brand new and has everything you need. My wife spent sunny days lounging in the backyard while I took diving classes with Salt Cay Divers. You can stroll through the donkey gate to the sandy beach area next door if you like. I snorkeled out a little way one day but the water was a little rough this particular week. Two covered outdoor seating areas for relaxing out of the sun. Kayaks available for use. Used the bicycles for the first five days to go back and forth to supper and some of the shops. Rented a golf cart from Enrique for two days to explore the gorgeous north shore beaches and the south creek to watch the flamingos. Enjoyed most of our meals at Porter's Island Thyme (which is closing the end of March 2017) and Coral Reef Bar and Grill, with a special meal at Ms. Pat Simmons' home. She spoiled me with a loaf of her gingerbread for my birthday. It was quiet and truly a step off the grid for maximum relaxation. All of the local shop owners are "belongers" and are the salt of the earth, pun intended. The history is rich and in my heart hope it will not be lost as they pass from this world. Free range livestock love to bed down along the walls of Victoria Street in front of the cottages as a wind break. During the day they wonder to the bush to find shade. They won't bother you and are fun to observe. Once you have been to the "end of the world", you will want to return. Owner, Shelley, was in constant contact and answered all of our questions. Details in her "notebook", menus, and a flip phone for local calls were little things she provided that made you feel like she had your comfort in mind. This cottage has air conditioning but the breeze and sound of the ocean will encourage you to turn it off and enjoy paradise. Don't miss the public beach at Dunscombe Point...it will probably be empty and pristine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: could only access wi-fi outside the cottage, but if you don't need it for work, who cares
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyNJ
Central NJ USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect place to unwind and relax.”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottages are in a perfect location directly on the beach, and overlooking the crystal turquoise waters of Salt Cay. They are tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable, and you will feel completely at home while staying there.
You can watch magnificent sunsets from your own private beach, and might even be lucky enough to experience a 'green flash'.
Humpback whales can frequently be seen as you lounge in your deck chair, and enjoy the beautiful breezes that blow gently over this island paradise. Snorkeling from your beach is excellent with a great variety of beautiful tropical fish, and quite often you will see turtles.
There's nothing quite like being lulled to sleep by the waves gently lapping the shore.
We cannot wait to re-visit in 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The dining room which is a separate building and only a few feet from the ocean.
Liked least: Leaving Salt Cay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriciaC...
1 review
“whale watching while dining al fresco”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in February 2015

We knew we'd made the right choice the moment we walked through the gate into the charming and spotlessly clean 150 year old cottage which had been part of a salt barons estate. Stretched out comfortably on deck chairs in the sun while watching for whales made it hard to get up and grab a bike for exploring the island, but we were always glad we did.
The dining room is a separate building just a few feet from the ocean shore and is incredibly romantic as it has a huge old fireplace where the cooking for the manor house was done. We loved whale watching while eating breakfast or lunch!
The private beach goes out to one of the best reefs for snorkeling on Salt Cay and we saw tons of fish and coral...and even saw turtles and squid passing by.
Apparently the owners give water and treats to the many feral donkeys on Salt Cay and everyday we enjoyed the donkey visits including a sweet baby who loved to be scratched after getting a treat of some carrots and dried apricots that we had with us.
We never had a problem, but it was nice to know that the very nice manager, Willey, was always available to answer any questions that we had.
We can't wait to return February 2017 and have booked already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet, peaceful, and a feeling of going back in time. AND whale watching !!
Liked least: honestly, we didn't find anything wrong
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing