We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Salt Cay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway, Salt Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castaway, Salt Cay
Ranked #1 of 2 Salt Cay B&B and Inns
West Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salt Cay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Accommodations were clean, well maintained and exactly as described. Staff was attentive and the beach was fantastic. We couldn't have been more pleased. This is not a place to be if you want typical resort activities and amenities. It is a place to kick back and relax and enjoy the solitude. The room doesn't have a TV, instead it has a million stars in the sky at night. The kitchen is more than adequate to prepare your own meals or you can have a continental breakfast delivered to your room.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Castaway and the Salt Cay Experience.

We look forward to having you back on Salt Cay and staying at the Castaways in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Clean, bright, well equipped, beautifully situated a few feet from the beach. Caretaker was right there by the house when we needed him. Beach was deserted and the sand was soft and white. Miles of deserted beach to walk on. The interior of the island is a bit run down, but this does not detract from the beach experience. Sea was turquoise and warm, sometimes a little rough for comfortable swimming. Excellent snorkeling right outside the cottage. A mile and a half to town on a rocky road. We biked, others hired golf carts. Porter and Haidee were very warm hosts and run a great bar and restaurant. Porter's Pinas were to die for. We passed on the zoo keepers challenge (don't ask, just try it ). Great diving at Salt Cay dive shop nearby where Debbie and dive master Richard are great. Conching with Dwight and clamming with Ranfuly were productive, unique and memorable experiences.

If you need a spa and a resort don't come here. If you want peace and quiet this is for you. It is a unique place.

Room Tip: Really liked the far end cottage that got the morning sun! Called Crusoe 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
It delights us that you enjoyed our little of paradise as much as we do...we look forward to your return to Salt Cay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here in August 2013..... rented 2 units (1) for husband/myself and (2) second next door for our 26 year old son for 5 nights....although I was warm (at that stage of my life at 57) for which I asked Haidee to provide a fan...son's unit was MUCH cooler and had natural breezes...(remember this WAS AUGUST and the hottest time of the year) ...Units were immaculate, view to DIE for and kitchens that were stocked as pre-requested. Golf cart made going in to town easy for dinner at Island Thyme each night a blast...delicious and easy. We had a great time and recommend this to everyone. I cried when we left. Haidee, Porter are great hosts and Cozzie was a great on site manager.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks for the great review! We strive to be your 24/7 Concierge while on Salt Cay.

There is always as much to do or as little to do as one wants on Salt Cay.. Clamming with Ranfully has been a highlight of many people's trip, or fishing with Kevin, conching with Dwight.

Want to see whales? We recommend Crystal Seas Adventures for your aqua adventures while on Salt Cay.

We look forward to having you back on Salt Cay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

It is hard to find a place that is off the beaten path, but Salt Cay delivers, and Castaway is the perfect place to stay for your visit. The only property on north beach, it is secluded, and you'll likely be the only person on the beach when you go for a stroll. There was another family staying at the other bungalow (in both rooms), but we didn't see them unless it was on purpose. It was quiet, secluded, and the only sound was the surf, aside from the occassional donkey. (Our neighbor learned why there are chains on the porches--they like to come visit!)

The property is exceptionally clean, and it doesn't even have that musty smell you usually come to associate with any tropical property. Kazie (the caretaker) is always behind the scenes and there to fix a buggy flat tire or get you some water. You won't always see him, but if you call, magically whatever needed fixing will be fixed. Porter and Haidee are a delight, and we enjoyed socializing with them and the others we met on the island. You don't even have to close (let alone lock) your doors, and I get the sense it's because Porter's the boss and no one on the island messes with his guests. (He sells them liquor, why would they want to piss him off?) I felt unbelievably safe the whole time I was there.

As others have mentioned, there isn't much on the island, but Haidee can order supplies from Grand Turk if you give her notice, or you can bring stuff with you from Provo. I brought just a few snacks and was fine with dinners/lunches at one of the two restaurants. You can also buy alcohol from Porter's and bring it back to your room with you.

I'll review Porter's Island Thyme (the restaurant owned by the same proprieters as Castaway) separately, but that place is a joy as well. Porter has a story to tell for everything, so it's a lot of fun hanging out and chatting with Haidee, Porter, the local residents, and the other guests.

I loved it so much, I am already planning a girls' getaway in the next few years. We're hoping to go in the winter (probably not this winter but the next) to see the whales. I just hope it Salt Cay can always stay the serene paradise it is now!

Room Tip: We were Crusoe suites (the room facing east) and I think that room gets the best breeze. Also, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ecmelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
We look forward to having you back on Salt Cay! Rates are going up modestly September 1, so if you can finalize your plans before then you will save a little.

Thanks for the great review and we look forward to having you back on Salt Cay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hard to top the already glowing reviews for Castaways. Suffice to say that there isn't a word of exaggeration in any of them. The units are beautiful, perfectly decorated and equipped (including high speed internet); the service is superb and the location absolutely idyllic. You can be as private or engaged as you choose and Haidee, Porter and Cazzie are the perfect hosts. We will definitely be back (often!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23SueB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Castaway's is the best kept secret in the Turks & Caicos. North beach on Salt Cay rivals Grace Bay on Providenciales with one exception the only footprints you may see will be your own.

Our TEAM strives to provide unparalleled service as well as your 24/7 Concierge on Salt Cay.

Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

First time to Salt Cay. We stayed at Castaway for a week and loved it. The room was comfortable, clean, quiet, and just right. So much better than a big resort or large hotel. Proximity to the beach was our main reason for wanting to stay here. The beach itself is superb and the snorkeling right of the shore was much better than expected (especially on the ocean side of the reef). Saw a stingray, several barracuda, and dozens of other fish species big and small. The continental breakfast was just right, especially the bread and muffins. Castaway is somewhat removed from the "action" of Salt Cay but for us this was no problem. Biking to town took about 15 minutes and was easy (but hot during the day). Hope we can come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thanks for staying at Castaways - Salt Cay and the great review! We strive to be your 24/7 Concierge while on Salt Cay. Our goals is for Castaways to be a place to re-charge, away from the hectic world around us...or maybe better said the Caribbean of yesteryear.

We look forward to your return to Salt Cay! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at Castaway for 2 nights and loved it! It's located on a pristine secluded beach that has some great snorkeling! We could see the ocean from the bed and walked right out onto the beach. Haidee was a wonderful host and made sure we were well taken care of. We're spreading the word that this is the best place to be!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenRebeccaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We agree Castaways is the nicest place to stay on the beach in Salt Cay!

We strive to be your 24/7 Concierge and provide a Holiday experience unlike any other.

Thanks for the great review and we look forward to having you back on Salt Cay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Cay
23.4 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
9.2 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
8.8 mi away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tradewind Guest Suites on Salt Cay
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
9.7 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#1 of 4 in Cockburn Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway, Salt Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway, Salt Cay

Property: Castaway, Salt Cay
Address: North Beach, Salt Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Salt Cay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway, Salt Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways will close March 31, 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Castaway, Salt Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway, Salt Cay Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing