We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded, Casual, Warm and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Secluded, Casual, Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Thanksgiving week. If you're looking for a turkey dinner, all the trimmings, tablecloth and a secluded beach within pitching distance, this is for you. Wake in the morning to the sound of the surf. Pull on a bathing suit and t-shirt and bare-foot it down the walk to dining by the pool. Breakfast buffet is waiting for you. Have an ease-into-the-morning chat with other guests. Walk the beach -- which was totally secluded this week. That's 2.5 miles. Wave to the occasional boat going by and find shells to take home. Read a book or explore Pine Cay by golf cart. Check your email in the designated area for that. And don't even think about talking on your cell phone unless you're far away from the center of the resort. This place is meant for those who can truly unplug. For those who can't, you have the designated little area where you can surf the internet to your heart's content behind a closed door. Then, come back to the sun and a rum drink at get back into what you're really there to do. Chill and enjoy the atmosphere. A truly lovely, untouched, laid back environment.

Room Tip: They all face the beach and have screened in porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babsannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
101
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

If you like to wear the latest fashions and have an audience, go to Miami. Or Cannes. If you like crowded dance floors, doing aerobics or windsurfing, you might try a Club Med. Meridian Club has no shopping, no selection of restaurants, no little kids playing, no TV, no phones. In short, it is not like being at home. It is not like Orlando. Or Vegas.

If you happen to be a down-to-earth couple who wants to get away from it all, loves the peaceful, natural beauty of the beach, likes to sleep with the windows open, enjoys peace and quiet for hours at a time, loves delicious food, and might like to mingle a bit with other such couples, then this is a place you should not miss. The experience is exactly like going to an exclusive club with a beach bar and attentive staff because, well, that's what it is. The Club is shared with the homeowners on the island. There is nothing else on the island at all, just the club, the hotel rooms (13 in all) and the homeowners (about 30 homes). The Club is apparently busy when the homeowners come to the island with their families, for example during Thanksgiving, Christmas and spring break. However, the rest of the time there are only a few homeowners and couples in the few hotel rooms. The rooms have no airconditioning, but the temperature when we were there was within a few degrees of perfect and there are 3 ceiling fans in the room, with cross ventilation through the shutters in the front and out the screen room in the back, permitting a nice breeze blowing all the time right through the room. Very solid block construction of the room means we hardly heard the neighbors. Large comfortable bed. Sofa, chairs, table inside. Lounge chairs on patio. Room had a significant number of books to read and there were more available in the club. Room serviced twice daily. Nice shower in the room, two sink areas and separate toilet area. A roomy, private shower with hot water off the patio to clean off when coming in from the beach. The distance from from the room to the surf is about 300 feet over soft, cool coral-based, off-white sand. Each room has a large palapa and beach chairs about 100 feet from the room from which you can gaze at the gorgeous sand, sea and sky. The grounds are wonderfully landscaped with a wide variety of tropical plants. The beach is two miles long, so there is no chance of it every being crowded. When we were there, there was rarely anyone else on the beach.

Most of the vacationers when we were there were 50+, but there were some in their 30s and a few younger. Most were American, but there were also some Brits and Canadians. There were several couples that have come back to Meridian Club for many, many years and knew each other. Most of the homeowners also know each other. We felt included and also met other couples staying at the hotel for the first time. Bev and Wally who manage the Club as well as all the other staff work hard to make everyone feel comfortable and very welcome!!

Typical Day: 7am short walk on the beach, 8:15 yogurt then ham and cheese omelet for breakfast, 9:15 lay around and relax, 10am snorkeling, 11:15 read, 1pm lobster roll with cabbage/mango salad for lunch, 2pm read and nap, 4pm swim on beach, 6pm watch sunset and take pictures, 6:30 shower outside, 7pm drink a Caicos Calypso, 7:30 eat four course meal with fellow vacationers, 9:30 read and fall asleep.

Mix the above with star gazing, moonlight walk, kayaking, wandering the beach or around the island and you have an unforgettable yet relaxing vacation.

Pros:
The MOST GORGEOUS views of turquoise water, pale coral sand, green tropical plants.
Supremely quiet--whisper of wind in the trees, surf on the beach
Fresh air, no 'fishy' smells
Cool water, cool breezes
Friendly, interesting fellow vacationers
Friendly, professional staff who remember your name and anticipate your needs
The whole beach (almost) to yourself. Private palapa on the beach. Private patio.
Soft, cool sand.
No noisy children.
Delicious food (e.g. grilled lobster, grilled beef tenderlion, rare tuna, coconut shrimp, grouper fingers, keylime pie, creme brule, sorbet).
Free snorkeling trips daily. Free use of bikes, kayaks and hobie cats.
Other excursions are available, such as fishing and diving, trips to other islands.
The spa service was said to be excellent

Cons:
Apparently busy during school breaks.
Alcoholic drinks expensive but delicious

Tips:
Once you arrive in Provo, the taxi ride is about 20 minutes to the marina, then a 20 minute boat ride to the hotel docks.
Take some bug repellent. We did get some bites outside at night.
Pack light. There is no one to show-off to. This is your chance to go barefoot to dinner. Polo and tropical-themed shirts, shorts, bathing suits.
They do have low/medium-speed wireless internet around the club building.
The rooms further from the club are a bit more quiet, but further to go for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
You can get room service for breakfast.
Don't forget your camera!

Room Tip: The higher-numbered rooms further from the club are a bit more quiet, but further to go for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Warings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Newcomers find out very quickly this island paradise feels more like home than a typical resort. The repeaters keep returning year after year - no wonder - this was our 9th visit and we stayed for 10 wonderful days and nights. Fly into Provo, private driver waiting to take you to the dock where you board the Meridian Club's boat and are handed a wonderful rum punch and whisked away to Pine Cay's dock. Then a fun golf cart ride to the club house where a delicious lunch awaits you outside by the beeautiful pool where you overlook the incredible 2 mile beach and beautiful water. By now all of the tension of making early flights and the hassles of flying are gone. For me I'm "home" as soon as I step onto the Meridian Club boat and am on the water.

I don't believe you'll find a more engaged and fun management team anywhere else in the world! Or a place that makes you feel more like family or very special friends. The entire staff is very outgoing and friendly; on the first morning of our 2nd visit a gardener stopped and welcomed me back! When we return it's smiles, sincere hugs and handshakes.

Breakfast and lunch are eaten outside family style and 2 evenings each week are spent eating outdoors as well. The other nights you go upstairs to the bar for drinks and snacks and enjoy the porch watching sunset then go downstairs to tables of all sizes in a dining room with sliding glass doors open to the ocean breezes. You choose your dinner entree at lunch from a choice of at least 3 offerings including seafood, often caught earlier that day by the staff or island homeowneres. Laid back, casual, fun. Don't want to dress up? Don't. Don't want to wear shoes at meals, even dinner? Don't! Don't even consider bringing a coat or tie -- they won't fit in.

Other than an incredible 2 mile beach, bicycles, kayaks and other water toys awaiting you, unbelievably spacious rooms with indoor and outdoor showers and 2 sinks & dressing areas and a screened porch and patio, great food & drinks, friendships made with staff and guests, and late night walks on the beach under the full moon, my personal #1 reason for loving the Meridian Club so much is knowing Raymond or JR will take me out snorkeling everyday even if no one else wants to go! Other snorkeling fanatics like myself will immediately appreciate this: no begging other guests to go snorkeling because most resorts in the Caribbean require 4 people minimum to take out their snorkeling boats. Not so at Meridian Club! Just tell them you want to go snorkeling and you go - alone, with a partner, or a group. Inside the reef, outside the reef - captain's choice depending on which is calmer or clearer. Showers in the morning or too rough to go out? Just let them know you still want to go and they'll take you out in the afternoon if weather permits. And no little boat that's hard to get back into either! A large motor catamaran with 2 ladders - a boat that is a snorkeler's dream.

Try to be there the 5th night after the full moon and enjoy the glow worms evening outing on the snorkel boat. Drinks & snacks as dusk falls and then the bioluminescence display of the mating of the glow worms to amaze you! Repeaters look forward to the glow worms outing as a special time of their vacations.

The only bad thing about Meridian Club? LEAVING! No matter how short or long a time we've stayed, it's never long enough! We always regret leaving. But it couldn't be made any easier. A final picture for the scrapebook, golf cart ride back to the dock, last boat ride back over to the dock on Provo, final hugs and goodbyes, and a private driver waiting to take you back to the airport and reality.

Til next time.....

Room Tip: All rooms (all 12 of them plus a standalone cottage) are in 1 story small buildings (2 - 4 rooms), b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Snorkeling_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T, Public Relations Manager at The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you so much for such kind words. Clearly you know the property very well, and understand what experience we try to offer all of our guests. May you have a wonderful New Year and we have an opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We spent five nights at the Meridian Club in the first week of December and never stopped marvelling at how special this place is. The rooms are perfect - spacious and comfortable, with screened porches, patios with lounge chairs, and outdoor showers so that you can wash off the sand before going inside. The food is fabulous - lots of healthy options and just delicious (I could live on the chef's soups and kale salad for a month!). Everyone we met - managers, all staff, other guests, and island homeowners - were incredibly friendly and welcoming. But the star is the beach. Because of the way the club and palapas are situated in the dunes, if you're lounging in the shade under your room's own private palapa, you really don't see the other guests. And when you're on the beach, it feels completely private - it's like having two miles of white sand beach and turquoise water all to yourself. If you're looking at the Meridian Club's website and wondering, "can it really be as good as it looks?", the answer is YES! We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otis1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My kind of vacation. Peaceful, long walks on the beach, privacy, completely laid-back,an entertaining local bartender, a masseuse who you can not visit just once, a wonderful dining experience and a divers'/watersports paradise.There is no problem finding the beautiful 2 mile beach; just step off your deck and you're on it. The management team and staff are as good as it gets.
If you go....don't miss the drive-in movie.

Room Tip: This 12 room resort is so private, with all rooms on the beach, that your accommodations are virtual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T, Public Relations Manager at The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
We just want to thank you for such a nice review of The Meridian Club. It seems that most of our reviews this year produced a perfect score from our guests and we truly appreciate the positive feedback. The property is unique and not for everyone, but when we find a good match between the guest and our resort, EVERYONE really enjoys the visit (most of all our staff!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you wish to walk on, lounge in, run through, or stare at perfect white sand and crystal clear turquoise water, this is the place for you and you may have it all to yourself for hours on end. Snorkeling on a nice reef was a 10 minute boat ride away, fishing was exhausting due to non stop bites, exploring the island was fun, tennis was fun but hot, but by far the highlight was time spent in the water and at the beach.
We loved our cabana where we could shower outside and step right onto the beach. We were pampered by friendly, helpful staff. We were amazed at the quality of the food and were delighted to bring a few new recipes home.
Peaceful, beautiful, friendly, truly special...space if you wanted it, camaraderie if you sought it out

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gville_gal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is the most peaceful, beautiful place on earth. We visited for a week in May, the slow season, and there were maximum of 6 other guests at the resort at any time throughout the week. We spent most of our days on the beach, and most of the time we had the 2 miles of beach to ourselves. Other guests took advantage of diving and other excursions, but we were here just to "turn off" and relax on the beach. It was perfect, though I have to say it has ruined all other beaches for us! The pure white sand, the most indescribable turquoise sea, the beautiful island vegetation--all was amazing. The suites--each stepping right out onto the beach--are gorgeous (we got used to living without tv and cell phones very quickly!). Every meal was gourmet. The staff were attentive and very friendly. We are setting aside a special savings account just for The Meridian Club so that we can return, hopefully many times, in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Cay
8.0 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
10.2 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Venetian on Grace Bay
The Venetian on Grace Bay
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.4 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
9.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos

Property: The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Address: Pine Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Pine Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridian Club is a private island hideaway resort in the Turks & Caicos islands of the Caribbean, with two miles of deserted, pristine white-sand beach (just 90 minutes by air from Miami). The property is environmentally sensitive and ideal for those seeking an unspoiled secluded retreat. Founded in 1973, the Meridian Club offers a Caribbean experience the way it was before the appearance of big hotels and condominiums, jet skis and beach umbrella communities. No crowds, no cars, no noise - a step back in time to a simpler, less hectic life. 12 beachfront/premium rooms and the Sand Dollar Cottage are set among sand dunes, sea oats and sea grapes, fronting on the beach. Some of the privately owned homes that share the island are also available for rent. Soothing trade winds ensure comfortable temperatures and low humidity year round while the surrounding waters (averaging a pleasant 75° - 80° Fahrenheit) teem with marine life. Underwater visibility often exceeds 100 feet and there are miles of coral gardens within a five minute boat ride. Ashore, Pine Cay remains a pristine natural haven, a private secluded island with vast open space and seven freshwater ponds, a perfect habitat for the abundant local fauna and flora. Winner of several awards from TripAdvisor, Andrew Harper, Caribbean Journal and Fodors honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Club Hotel Pine Cay
Meridian Hotel Pine Cay
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos Turks And Caicos/Pine Cay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing