We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Pine Cay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have been to the Caribbean Sea many times but this time was the ultimate in being able to totally relax and unwind. The Meridian Club is intimate and exclusive without being pretentious. The beaches are dazzling in their pristine beauty. When I awoke in the morning, I was drawn to the water's edge for a long walk uninterrupted by anything but a random sea bird. The salt water pool is situated just off the beach and is kept like a jewel. I enjoyed my tour of this private island via golf cart. One of the best things is the silence, unbroken by air conditioning or automotive noises. The chef is a genius and delighted all the guests with his creativity. The spa services were top notch and not to be missed. Finally, the hospitality offered by Bev and Wally, the managers of the resort is unsurpassed. They are warm, gracious and full of wonderful ideas for their guests and their entertainment. A visit to The Meridian Club will delight your spirit and make you long for another visit to this unspoiled, uncrowded and unassuming venue.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equivalent in orientation and in size and have a view of the ocean. Each has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MbHSternF05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T, Public Relations Manager at The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

All we can say is WOW, thank you so much for such wonderful words. The next time we need to write our brochure copy, we will give you a call! We hope to host you again real soon ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I have been fortunate to be able to travel and visit many wonderful places. The Meridian Club on PIne Cay was unique and exceptional in so many ways we encourage anyone considering a stay to book it now. You truly are able to completely disconnect and renew in a way we have not found in other places. The staff makes you feel like family and if your a foodie you will be impressed. Thank you again to everyone at Meridian Club and see you again soon..:)

Room Tip: only 13 private cottages so they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I began going to the Meridian Club some twenty five years ago every five years. We had a lapse of 10 years this past visit, but we were pleased to find the island, rooms, beach, food, staff to be exactly the same as it was when we first began going! And the same means excellent. It is the perfect place for total R & R. The food is superb. One does nothing but sleep, eat, sit on a beautiful white sandy beach under a tiki hut or out in sun,, read, eat, sleep on lounge chair, meet wonderful friends and have good conversations , read, nap, and eat again. It never gets boring! There is biking, snorkeling, looking for sand dollars or hiking the island for those who need more strenuous activity! My husband likes to sneak in some bone fishing and the staff are very accommodating in getting that organized. Bev and Wally are friendly and would bend over backwards for you. It is a lovely place and one of the best kept secrets!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmdilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T, Public Relations Manager at The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We do strive to ensure our guests feel pampered, but in a very laid back and casual way, so your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Since our first stay was so great, we decided to go back a second time this year (13). Needless to say, the experience was just as good as the first time. In fact, on the day of our check out, we booked a reservation for next year. If you check out their website and read all the reviews, you will get a very accurate description of what to expect. There is really nothing more that I can add to the other great reviews. It's a 'hide out' to totally unwind for however long you need..,4,5 or more days to decompress. Re: The staff....if it's any way in their power, there is virtually nothing that they won't do to try to graciously accommodate you....just (respectfully) ask! After you arrive, the next morning all the staff will cheerfully greet you by name. Moreover, the amazingly friendly hotel managers (Wally and Bev) give you the feeling that you have been their friends for ages, easy to talk to; are always visible and enjoy eating lunch and chatting with you if you like... How intimate is that? Moreover, my wife and I found the local residents to be very friendly and cordial too at 'happy' hour at the hotel's bar ( where incidentally, we saw three Green Flashes at sunset).To sum it all up, if you are looking for a small intimate 5 star resort, with superb food and service, no electronic junk, no nightlife, but with a pristine 2+ mile beach with balmy water and gentle breezes at night to lull you to sleep, then this is THE place for you. It certainly is for us. Cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oldcapecoddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We are always looking for the quietest and lowest-key place we can find when we go to the Caribbean, and we definitely found it at Meridian Club. Very small, very quiet…decompression from the "outside world" starts almost immediately. The rooms are beautiful, the beaches are beautiful, the snorkeling is beautiful, the food is wonderful, the staff is fantastic. We were one of the few first-timers; most of the others were multiple repeat guests, and we can understand why! If you like clubs and casinos and water slides, try somewhere else. If you want to feel like you're visiting your beautiful Caribbean beach house with a few close friends, try the Meridian Club! Look for direct flights in Providenciales too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mhouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Thanksgiving week. If you're looking for a turkey dinner, all the trimmings, tablecloth and a secluded beach within pitching distance, this is for you. Wake in the morning to the sound of the surf. Pull on a bathing suit and t-shirt and bare-foot it down the walk to dining by the pool. Breakfast buffet is waiting for you. Have an ease-into-the-morning chat with other guests. Walk the beach -- which was totally secluded this week. That's 2.5 miles. Wave to the occasional boat going by and find shells to take home. Read a book or explore Pine Cay by golf cart. Check your email in the designated area for that. And don't even think about talking on your cell phone unless you're far away from the center of the resort. This place is meant for those who can truly unplug. For those who can't, you have the designated little area where you can surf the internet to your heart's content behind a closed door. Then, come back to the sun and a rum drink at get back into what you're really there to do. Chill and enjoy the atmosphere. A truly lovely, untouched, laid back environment.

Room Tip: They all face the beach and have screened in porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babsannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

If you like to wear the latest fashions and have an audience, go to Miami. Or Cannes. If you like crowded dance floors, doing aerobics or windsurfing, you might try a Club Med. Meridian Club has no shopping, no selection of restaurants, no little kids playing, no TV, no phones. In short, it is not like being at home. It is not like Orlando. Or Vegas.

If you happen to be a down-to-earth couple who wants to get away from it all, loves the peaceful, natural beauty of the beach, likes to sleep with the windows open, enjoys peace and quiet for hours at a time, loves delicious food, and might like to mingle a bit with other such couples, then this is a place you should not miss. The experience is exactly like going to an exclusive club with a beach bar and attentive staff because, well, that's what it is. The Club is shared with the homeowners on the island. There is nothing else on the island at all, just the club, the hotel rooms (13 in all) and the homeowners (about 30 homes). The Club is apparently busy when the homeowners come to the island with their families, for example during Thanksgiving, Christmas and spring break. However, the rest of the time there are only a few homeowners and couples in the few hotel rooms. The rooms have no airconditioning, but the temperature when we were there was within a few degrees of perfect and there are 3 ceiling fans in the room, with cross ventilation through the shutters in the front and out the screen room in the back, permitting a nice breeze blowing all the time right through the room. Very solid block construction of the room means we hardly heard the neighbors. Large comfortable bed. Sofa, chairs, table inside. Lounge chairs on patio. Room had a significant number of books to read and there were more available in the club. Room serviced twice daily. Nice shower in the room, two sink areas and separate toilet area. A roomy, private shower with hot water off the patio to clean off when coming in from the beach. The distance from from the room to the surf is about 300 feet over soft, cool coral-based, off-white sand. Each room has a large palapa and beach chairs about 100 feet from the room from which you can gaze at the gorgeous sand, sea and sky. The grounds are wonderfully landscaped with a wide variety of tropical plants. The beach is two miles long, so there is no chance of it every being crowded. When we were there, there was rarely anyone else on the beach.

Most of the vacationers when we were there were 50+, but there were some in their 30s and a few younger. Most were American, but there were also some Brits and Canadians. There were several couples that have come back to Meridian Club for many, many years and knew each other. Most of the homeowners also know each other. We felt included and also met other couples staying at the hotel for the first time. Bev and Wally who manage the Club as well as all the other staff work hard to make everyone feel comfortable and very welcome!!

Typical Day: 7am short walk on the beach, 8:15 yogurt then ham and cheese omelet for breakfast, 9:15 lay around and relax, 10am snorkeling, 11:15 read, 1pm lobster roll with cabbage/mango salad for lunch, 2pm read and nap, 4pm swim on beach, 6pm watch sunset and take pictures, 6:30 shower outside, 7pm drink a Caicos Calypso, 7:30 eat four course meal with fellow vacationers, 9:30 read and fall asleep.

Mix the above with star gazing, moonlight walk, kayaking, wandering the beach or around the island and you have an unforgettable yet relaxing vacation.

Pros:
The MOST GORGEOUS views of turquoise water, pale coral sand, green tropical plants.
Supremely quiet--whisper of wind in the trees, surf on the beach
Fresh air, no 'fishy' smells
Cool water, cool breezes
Friendly, interesting fellow vacationers
Friendly, professional staff who remember your name and anticipate your needs
The whole beach (almost) to yourself. Private palapa on the beach. Private patio.
Soft, cool sand.
No noisy children.
Delicious food (e.g. grilled lobster, grilled beef tenderlion, rare tuna, coconut shrimp, grouper fingers, keylime pie, creme brule, sorbet).
Free snorkeling trips daily. Free use of bikes, kayaks and hobie cats.
Other excursions are available, such as fishing and diving, trips to other islands.
The spa service was said to be excellent

Cons:
Apparently busy during school breaks.
Alcoholic drinks expensive but delicious

Tips:
Once you arrive in Provo, the taxi ride is about 20 minutes to the marina, then a 20 minute boat ride to the hotel docks.
Take some bug repellent. We did get some bites outside at night.
Pack light. There is no one to show-off to. This is your chance to go barefoot to dinner. Polo and tropical-themed shirts, shorts, bathing suits.
They do have low/medium-speed wireless internet around the club building.
The rooms further from the club are a bit more quiet, but further to go for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
You can get room service for breakfast.
Don't forget your camera!

Room Tip: The higher-numbered rooms further from the club are a bit more quiet, but further to go for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Warings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Cay
8.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
539 reviews
7.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#1 of 44 in Providenciales
2,561 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
513 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#5 of 44 in Providenciales
779 reviews
5.1 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos

Address: Pine Cay
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Pine Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Price Range: £547 - £968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridian Club is a private island hideaway resort in the Turks & Caicos islands of the Caribbean, with two miles of deserted, pristine white-sand beach (just 90 minutes by air from Miami). The property is environmentally sensitive and ideal for those seeking an unspoiled secluded retreat. Founded in 1973, the Meridian Club offers a Caribbean experience the way it was before the appearance of big hotels and condominiums, jet skis and beach umbrella communities. No crowds, no cars, no noise - a step back in time to a simpler, less hectic life. 12 beachfront/premium rooms and the Sand Dollar Cottage are set among sand dunes, sea oats and sea grapes, fronting on the beach. Some of the privately owned homes that share the island are also available for rent. Soothing trade winds ensure comfortable temperatures and low humidity year round while the surrounding waters (averaging a pleasant 75° - 80° Fahrenheit) teem with marine life. Underwater visibility often exceeds 100 feet and there are miles of coral gardens within a five minute boat ride. Ashore, Pine Cay remains a pristine natural haven, a private secluded island with vast open space and seven freshwater ponds, a perfect habitat for the abundant local fauna and flora. Winner of several awards from TripAdvisor, Andrew Harper, Caribbean Journal and Fodors honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Club Hotel Pine Cay
Meridian Hotel Pine Cay
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos Turks And Caicos/Pine Cay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing