We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best kept Secret”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spend a week in Pine Cay, at the Meridian Club.
By far, this was our best vacation ever.
Everything was perfect: first, a 3 mile beach unspoiled, at best we could see 3 or 4 people on the entire beach, then the staff was the nicest we had seen in a long time, helpful and accommodating, food as excellent, and finally, the island is a diamond. A beautiful place, that remains undiscovered.
I would highly recommend anyone to go there!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patfir2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
101
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We chose to spend a week at The Meridian Club after a lengthy research of the available hotels and vacation rentals. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were amazed. Although the reviews and photos are fantastic, they do not reflect the how spectacular this island is. The managers, Bev and Wally, make you feel like you are truly home. The food is over-the-top. Unlike the previous review, red snapper was only offered night as the dinner fish option. Other nights included grouper, mahi, etc. The greatest thing about this place is how you truly have the beach to yourself. It is unbelievable how you feel (and generally you are) like you are the only person on that beach that day. Amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Pewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The beach at the Meridian Club is probably the best we have found in the Caribbean. We stayed in the "Sand Dollar Cottage". The food is very average. They provide a fish or meat/chicken entree every night. We were very disappointed that the fresh fish choice every night was the same, red snapper. When we inquired about the lack of fish choices the response was that the waters surrounding the island were fished out. It was raining when we arrived and our "Sand Dollar Cottage" was leaking rather badly. Also, the outdoor shower did not work (eventually it was fixed after we complained)
Don't forget that Pine Cay is owned by a home-owners association, so the couple that manages The Meridian Club are totally accountable to them, and not necessarily quests.
Consequently, the cocktails are watered down and they even charge for non-alcoholic beverages.
If you go just enjoy the beach and sun, and don't take it too seriously.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T, Manager at The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your frank feedback regarding some of the issues we had during your stay. While we did have a few challenges, and have addressed them all with you directly – such as the Sand Dollar Cottage is always booked so we had a challenge getting in there for the repair (but the repairs are completed) and that the area can be over-fished at times (and when that happens the selection is reduced) – we do find this review confusing. Our homeowners take great pride in the hospitality provided, which extends to the quality of the food and beverage. Considering your plans to return in November, we are encouraged that you are putting your trust in us once again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved the Meridian Club. It's hard to limit what we liked. Highlights include gorgeous, secluded beach (in fact, Pine Cay redefined what a "secluded beach" means for me!), excellent food, awesome snorkeling and kayaking, perfect room. But what brings it all together is the staff. Not only are they friendly, caring, attentive--they have a long-term personal relationship with the island and it shows.

All cottages are beachfront, so no issues there. There is really very little to worry about, which is what makes Pine Cay so perfect.

One note. I think this is clear from the description, but this is a separated, small, and private island, so please understand what this means. There are no other establishments on the island, many people know each other, the number of people is tiny, and meals are at the clubhouse at set times. These were all positives for us (I didn't realize how much stress is taken off once you get rid of "meal and activity planning"!), but should be accounted for for active travelers (though I believe you can arrange for a boat over to the other islands and activities).

Thank you to the Meridian Club staff for a great time!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feldashv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La mesa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Do you want peace and quiet on your vacation? Miles of perfect white beaches. Water clear and warm. Very few people on the island. Eco friendly. No trash or garbage at the beach or trails. No cars. Food scrumptious. Staff were engaging and very friendly. Idyllic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a lovely resort--comfortable cottages, beautiful long, white-sand beach, exquisite food--and, best of all, the most wonderful, welcoming, friendly, helpful staff you've ever wanted to encounter! There's privacy for those who want it, in the cottage, under your Tiki, even on the beach--or you can choose to enjoy the company of others at the Clubhouse. Scroll down these reviews and you'll find that we're not alone in praising this peaceful resort and its superb management and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I spent 10 nights at the Meridian Club in early June. We were looking for a resort similar to that of Guana Island in the British Virgin Islands, which we visited last summer and truly enjoyed ---the Meridian Club certainly gives you that same feel. The Meridian Club is a small 13 room all-inclusive resort on a private island. There are approximately 38 homes on the island, which are part of a homeowners association; however, the homes are used as vacation spots for the owners, not full time residences. Nearly every day we had the entire 2 to 3 mile soft white sand beach to ourselves. The Meridian Club is situated on one of the most beautiful stretches of beach we have visited or heard of. The shades of calm turquoise water cannot be appreciated through the photos alone, it truly is beautiful. In addition to swimming and snorkeling, we enjoyed walking the beach every day. Some days we would go to the left and walk for several miles as Pine Cay joins with Water Cay; or the right to the Sand Dollar Point area.

Rooms: The rooms at the resort are roomy and comfortable with a screened in patio and outside lounge area. We were in Room 12, last one “on the strip” and we liked this location – very quiet. All rooms have the same view facing the beach. An extra shower outside was a great touch for use anytime, but particularly when coming back from the beach. The room is also equipped with a safe and a nice size refrigerator stocked with some welcoming wine and soft drinks. Although there is no air conditioning, we found the fans to be sufficient along with the ocean breezes. Absence of A/C added to the noise pollution free zone of this wonderful resort. No cars, no TV’s, no phones, no lawn mowers, no leaf blowers….just the sound of the ocean slightly lapping the beach. There is no Wi-Fi in your room, but it is available in the club house area.

Meals: We arrived on a Sunday, which is “hamburger day” for lunch. They offered both meat and vegetable burgers, fabulous French Fries, several sides and 3 types of desserts (cookies, bars and pie). It was just the beginning of great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Chef Shane and Sara the Pastry Chef are fabulous. Each meal you are provided with choices and we noticed special dietary needs were accommodated. At dinner, six dessert choices were common. If you like sorbet, recommend you try Sara’s homemade trio of sorbets that are offered each evening – the flavors (i.e. Mojito, Chambord, black currant, green tea, and many others) were unique and tasted fabulous.

Hospitality: Bev and Wally, the managers, are absolutely wonderful hosts, ensuring all your needs are met. They spent time with guests at cocktail hour and even during meals should you wish. We truly enjoyed their company and appreciated their outstanding hospitality. They offered a family feeling you don’t have almost anywhere else.

Weather/What to Wear: During our stay in early June, the temperatures ranged in the 80’s to the low 90’s with lots of sunshine. There was only one afternoon the sky was overcast and rainy. Evenings cool down some, but there was no need for a wrap, sweater or jacket. You do not need to pack much for a stay at the Meridian Club. Bathing suits and cover-ups are common attire during the day. Sundresses or capris’ work well in the evening for the women and shorts and even t-shirts at night were worn by the guys. Shoes are optional.

Things to Do: Due to the full moon, we were fortunate to enjoy a few nights of walking on the beach after dinner with the moon’s glow lighting up the beach and creating moon shadows on the sand. You will want to use the bug spray the resort provides, some nights the mosquitoes were biting. Besides relaxing on the beach and long walks, we learned to paddle board, played a little tennis, and explored the Cay with the resort’s golf carts. The small islet at Devils Cut is interesting with many bleached and oxidized conch shells on its shores. A short free boat ride away is Fort George Cay; during low tide you can walk on the sandbar and there are a lot of shells here so bring snorkel gear (if you don’t have your own, the resort does provide them). If you are a fisherman, we heard from two of the other guests that the Bone fishing was excellent here. If you enjoy snorkeling, there is not much to see from the beach; except on Water Cay there is a shipwreck that you can easily get to from the shore. However, the calm water is excellent for swimming and the resort offers free snorkeling trips to the reef at 10 a.m. each day. The reef is good; I saw what I believe to be one of the largest lobsters in existence. There is one thing I do worry about when I snorkel … encountering a shark close up. During other vacations, I have seen nurse sharks lazing around or smaller reef sharks passing me by, but never until this trip have I had a real shark encounter. Fortunately for me, I didn’t see it happen or I may have panicked. My husband witnessed an 8 foot shark swim directly to me, nearly touch my upper thigh, then turn sideways and swim away underneath me. Two things this taught me: (1) Unless you stay out of the water there is nothing you can really do to avoid a shark encounter and (2) Sharks aren’t necessarily aggressive – this one was just curious. Prior to snorkeling a location, I do an internet search to learn about the area and even recent shark activity. To my knowledge, Pine Cay is a very safe place to enjoy water activities. We were snorkeling on the outside of the reef, rather than the inside, which sometimes makes a difference in the types of fish seen. If you enjoy snorkeling, I recommend you take advantage of the free reef trips the resort offers and just be aware that here, as in any ocean , the possibility of seeing a shark exists.

Getting There: Because available flights did not land in Provo until 3:30 p.m., we decided to stay overnight in Provo prior to going to the Meridian Club. This allowed us to take advantage of a nearly full day at the Meridian Club for our first day, rather than just an evening. Bev and Wally arranged for pick up at our hotel on Provo at 10 a.m. and a short 20 minute boat ride to Pine Cay. While on Provo, we stayed at the Ports of Call, a “Comfort Inn” style hotel – nothing fancy, but clean, close to shops, restaurants, Grace Bay and the Gourmet IGA Grocery Store. If you enjoy wine, beer or soft drinks; you may want to pick these up at the IGA and bring with you to the Meridian Club; these drinks are rather expensive at the Club.

If you are looking for a stress-free, relaxing vacation in a place that offers some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, good food, outstanding hosts, and a quiet but welcoming atmosphere, the Meridian Club on Pine Cay is for you. We hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 2Live2TravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T, Public Relations Manager at The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
What can we say? Such a thorough review by someone who clearly enjoyed and understood with The Meridian Club and Pine Cay stay for. Thank YOU Michigan ... and we hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Cay
7.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
2,311 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
361 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#6 of 45 in Providenciales
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Venetian on Grace Bay
The Venetian on Grace Bay
#1 of 45 in Providenciales
224 reviews
5.1 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
8.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos

Property: The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos
Address: Pine Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Pine Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridian Club is a private island hideaway resort in the Turks & Caicos islands of the Caribbean, with two miles of deserted, pristine white-sand beach (just 90 minutes by air from Miami). The property is environmentally sensitive and ideal for those seeking an unspoiled secluded retreat. Founded in 1973, the Meridian Club offers a Caribbean experience the way it was before the appearance of big hotels and condominiums, jet skis and beach umbrella communities. No crowds, no cars, no noise - a step back in time to a simpler, less hectic life. 12 beachfront/premium rooms and the Sand Dollar Cottage are set among sand dunes, sea oats and sea grapes, fronting on the beach. Some of the privately owned homes that share the island are also available for rent. Soothing trade winds ensure comfortable temperatures and low humidity year round while the surrounding waters (averaging a pleasant 75° - 80° Fahrenheit) teem with marine life. Underwater visibility often exceeds 100 feet and there are miles of coral gardens within a five minute boat ride. Ashore, Pine Cay remains a pristine natural haven, a private secluded island with vast open space and seven freshwater ponds, a perfect habitat for the abundant local fauna and flora. Winner of several awards from TripAdvisor, Andrew Harper, Caribbean Journal and Fodors honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Club Hotel Pine Cay
Meridian Hotel Pine Cay
The Meridian Club Turks & Caicos Turks And Caicos/Pine Cay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing