We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parrot Cays beach is breathtaking ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrot Cay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
737 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Parrot Cays beach is breathtaking ”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to parrot cay. Spring break is a great time to go with the family as they have a full kids program. Not a kids club where kids stay in a room all day. No, their kids program is all about being outside. Very original activities like sand castle building and scavenger hunts in the ocean. As for the ocean it is the bluest and clearest ever seen. For those that love beaches, this is a must. The island is very small and really when you stay at parrot cay you don't leave. There are 2 restaurants on the property. We are each night at the Asian one. The menu is fine, not great and the prices absurd. $25 for chicken fingers. However you pay this price for staying at a completely secluded island off Turks and Caicos where the food has to be shipped in daily. The breakfast is very healthy and abundant. Como is an Asian chain and most of the staff here is Balanese. They are hired for several years so if you go regularly they will remember your name and greet you with open arms. The staff is terrific. This hotel is a big celebrity draw so sometimes it can feel like the focus shifts from service to all guests to catering to the rich and famous. Several high profile public figures own homes at the tail end of parrot cay island. The one negative feedback is that the villas come with staff and the staff is referred as "butlers". In this day and age it is inappropriate to refer to hotel staff that way. It is definitely one of the most beautiful destinations you will ever visit.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddySWiryawan, Manager at COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Katrin S,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you and family enjoyed your visit and able to had a great time during your stay. We do indeed host our kid activities during the Holiday Seasons (Easter being one of them) and we do focus on having our younger guests to interact to each other and to the nature more to an indoor activities.

We appreciate your review on our food quality, however on the pricing unfortunately as you well aware that being in the remote location, we do have to purchase all our produce items from the US, and then between 50% and 120% import duty and then shipping costs, subsequently our prices are higher than the main land US but still very competitive compared to our competitors at the mainland Providenciales.

Thank you for your endorsement to our services that we provided, with this beautiful nature of the island we do time to time have a draw on public figures, however we ensure that we trained all of our team members to treat all the guests equally importance during their stay with us. Further your feedback on using the designation Resort Butler in the company is noted.

We look forward to welcome you and family back in the future.

Warm Regards

Teddy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    147
    51
    25
    16
See reviews for
149
556
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We returned today from vacationing at Parrot Cay, celebrating our wedding anniversary. Reka, our primary planner, did an excellent job coordinating all of our special request and helped make the occasion 'magical.' Service was excellent in every regard. I could rave forever about the décor and special touches of the Cottage for our private dinner that culminated the day of our anniversary celebration---and the cake!!!!! To die for...vanilla bean custom creation from the pastry chef. It was a perfect (or whatever's better than 'perfect') match of the photo we'd sent in advance.

The lack-luster aspects of our trip were the accommodations & meal variety. For a five-star venue, we were really disappointed with the "rustic" & minimalist facilities which were in desperate need of renovation. While the grounds definitely had a tropical flair, instead of the beauty and luxury of a well-kempt botanical escape, we were met with overgrown trees and shrubs in key locations such as the reception hall and Shambala road (which leads to the spa). The grounds & lawn could use more landscaping TLC. A white-wash of paint could not hide the mildew & mold growing on the external door and in the bathroom. So sad was our view of the trees and other buildings despite requesting (and paying for) an ocean view. The staff said that the menu changed every three days, however, this was not our experience. By day four, we were so bored with the "Asian" Lotus menu and the "Mediterranean w/ Italian flair" Terrace menu that we opted to stay in for room service by day 3--then made plans to ferry to other islands in search of cuisine variety.

Service was 5-star, however, accommodations & food not so much! Parrot Cay's environment of privacy and escape was just what we were looking for. We felt that Turks & Caicos was a wonderful Caribbean destination, yet, we're undecided as to whether we'd return to this particular resort. We'll remain open, but perhaps explore the other five-star property, Amanyara, on our next visit.

Room Tip: Beachfront units & villas most desirable. Inquire about renovated units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddySWiryawan, Manager at COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kenar13,

Thank you for your kind review and congratulation on your recent wedding anniversary.

We are pleased that on the overall you had a wonderful time with us and very pleased that your celebration were meeting if not exceed your expectations.

Further, Reka was highlighted on your feedback on her outstanding service during your stay. This will certainly encourage not only her but also the rest of the team to continue providing yet a better service to our guests.

Your constructive feedback on our accommodations & grounds conditions is deeply appreciated, especially on the ground we do work our way to follow the contour of the island as much as we could and work with the nature of the local vegetations on the island. Our team is indeed working on improving and keeping the balance of the tropical flair with the beauty and luxury of a well-kempt botanical escape as you mentioned on your feedback.

Despite the majority of the feedback on our food variety were to our favors, I regret to hear that our menu varieties were not into your expectation. We do change our menu every 3 days on both Lotus Restaurant & Terrace Restaurant, plus we have our Saturday’s BBQ dinner theme by our Lotus Restaurant. However, this might happened on your 2nd or even 3rd stay as this changes are not following on any guests arrivals days.

Given the opportunity we all are looking forward to welcome you back to Parrot Cay in the future.

Best Regards

Teddy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Parrot Cay as a 20th Anniversary celebration. I had read many of the reviews, most of which were helpful, and thought I'd offer my own observations and recommendations.

The transfers were smooth and efficient. While we waited for the boat, they offered use cool towels and beverages including beer. Once we arrived on the island, they reviewed our reservation with us after offering us a complimentary rum punch. Once in the room, we found a bottle of champagne on ice with a handwritten note from Teddy (who we met at check in) welcoming us with congratulations on our anniversary. There also was a fruit tray refreshed daily that we enjoyed.

We stayed in a Garden View room, which was fine for us. Plenty of room for two with a king size bed, tiled floor, and a large porch with sofa, chairs and a table. Our view looked onto the courtyard with palm trees and the main walkway to the beach. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub, and two sinks. I loved the Nexpressa machine--made great espresso quickly from pods. Turndown service each night provided two bottles of water.

We ate outside daily for breakfast at the Terrace, which offered a huge selection of fruit, cold pressed juices, meats and cheeses, in addition to hot entrees made to order. Most nights we ate dinner outside at Lotus, which overlooked the pool and beach with beautiful sunsets. Terrace offers Mediterranean food for dinner (fantastic tortellini appetizer) and Lotus has Asian themed food. Healthy spa food is always available, and we felt even the regular food felt healthier based on the freshness and reasonable portion sizes. Service was attentive--my birthday happened to fall during our stay and our waiters brought me a complimentary birthday dessert without any reminder or request, including a handwritten note from the manager.

We loved the beach but unfortunately had limited time there due to an unwanted visit from TS Bertha and some rain. In fact, the TS caused a power issue around dinner time that night but the staff continued with their high level of service--no issues. Since we had some rainy and cloudy days, we also visited the spa for a massage and ran through the plantation path. The island is very serene, quiet and uncrowded--on the run we almost felt like we stumbled on the set of Lost, for those of you who remember the show (Dharma Initiative anyone?) At the spa, my deep tissue massage was a highlight--my perpetually sore back found relief.

I noted some other reviewers wrote some negative comments about children. While we were surprised at the number of children including toddlers and infants, they were impeccably behaved and the staff knew how to work with them. We were shocked in fact--our experience was a case study at the differences between European and American child rearing. Virtually all of the children were European (UK; French, Spanish, Italian) and they were quiet and polite during meals and on the beach. In full disclosure, we have three kids and my wife is an elementary teacher, so we know full well how American kids can be overstimulated and needy.

We were pleased with our stay--a relaxing and serene place with attentive service and great food. Is it expensive...yes, but the cost is in line with the experience. We'd recommend it if you are looking for a quiet couples getaway. For Americans reading this, I don't know if we'd take our kids there--they'd probably do better with a Beaches-style experience with lots of activity and theme park like atmosphere. This isn't a criticism--just guidance depending on what you're looking for. NOTE: Parrot Cay does offer sailing, paddle boarding and other active options, as well as excursions.

Room Tip: Unless you need a close-in view of the beach, the Garden View rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mplack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddySWiryawan, Manager at COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear mplack,

Thank you for your thorough review.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us recently and it certainly my pleasure to meet you both personally during your stay. Once again, Congratulation on your 20th Anniversary.

Despite TS Bertha paid us a quick visit during your stay, we are very pleased you both were able to have an enjoyable stay with us and had a great celebration during your stay.
Your compliments on the resorts are deeply appreciated it and thank you on the fair feedback on our younger guests around at the time.

We do look forward to welcome you back to Parrot Cay soon, perhaps on your anniversary next year.

Best Regards

Teddy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed as a family of four in a one bedroom beach house and found that Parrot Cay fully lived up to our high expectations. From the minute we arrived at the airport, through the boat transfer and check-in, the arrival process was extremely slick with a minimum of hassle. As we arrived early on a flight from Boston, we were given a room in the main building to freshen up. This was very welcome, but illustrates a pretty sharp contrast between the beach villas/houses and the old rooms in the main building which seemed quite plain and dated. Our view of the resort would I think be quite different if we had stayed in these rooms so beware the strength of the accommodation really relates to the houses and villas, not the rooms.

The situation of the beach houses looking out onto the dunes and the beach is what really made it for us. Its stunningly beautiful, peaceful and in our experience unique amongst the many Caribbean properties we have stayed at. Its also super convenient to be able to walk back to your room in 30 seconds from the beach. The beach house itself was wonderful in terms of its minimal but chic design, with a lot of space internally (spacious dining table area, sitting area) plus also the excellent covered verandah overlooking the deck. Such wonderful sunsets sitting out there in the early evening.

In terms of the broader facilities, the gym is better than most with new equipment and conveniently located. Likewise the tennis facilities are very good. Nice infinity pool that we didn't use, as in our view you are coming here for the beach and my what a beach! An outstanding one mile stretch of golden sand, with the clearest and warmest turquoise sea we have ever come across. Quite unique. The beach facilities are comfortable and well maintained, with helpful staff and a good stock of non-motorized water equipment (particularly paddle boards to use in the very calm water).

So what are the downsides? The one flagged by everyone are the food prices (and bear in mind these are comments made by people happy to pay the room rates here) which are undoubtedly high. With no starters, main courses for 4 and 2 glasses of wine you are often in the $200+ category which in our experience is very high. Yes its a 20 minute boat ride from the capital but can it really add so much to the price versus other top quality resorts. Even a can of soda is $6 (after tax) from the minibar (no way this is being flown in from the USA) - contrast with our recent stay at Sugar Beach in St Lucia (similar quality, similar villa room rate) where sodas are free.The food is overall of slightly higher quality than average in the Caribbean but not good enough to justify the price. Nothing you can do about it as there are no other options, so just be sure to calibrate this into your thinking on overall cost when you book. We did and so didn't spend the whole time feeling annoyed about it, but its easy to see how it can impact the experience to pay so much.

The staff themselves were efficient and courteous throughout (if not always warm). When we had an issue with our room which wasn't addressed the management were very good at making it up to us. The only thing we found slightly odd is that, notwithstanding the Asian shareholders and the Asian restaurant we were surprised that almost the entire staff seemed Asian (expatriated from other COMO properties). We would prefer a more local feel, offering local employment, although again we can't fault the quality of the staff.

So overall an excellent resort that we will give serious consideration to returning to. Particularly convenient if you are travelling from New York or Boston on a quick 3 hour direct flight. Ignore some of the recent silly comments about the beach being uncomfortable to sit on or it being too hot to sit outside (!) and book for a wonderful vacation. Just make sure you factor in those food prices beforehand when thinking about what it will cost you......

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RDH1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddySWiryawan, Manager at COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear RDH1London,

Thank you for your kind thorough review.

We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed all the aspects of the resorts as well as the services that our staff provided.
I don’t see that you had the chance to experienced our award winning Spa this time around, perhaps it’s also something that you may look forward to experience on your next visit? I have to say that our COMO Shambhala treatments are extremely indulging or even just by visiting the special location that we have to offer by the Spa, amazing view of our mangroves.

We thank you for the constructive feedback on our food prices, unfortunately with our location we do have to purchase all our produce items from the US, and then between 50% and 120% import duty and then shipping costs, subsequently our prices are higher than the main land US but still very competitive compared to our competitors at the mainland Providenciales.

Once again, thank you for your endorsements, we look forward to have you back visiting us soon.

Warm Regards

Teddy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Parrot Cay is simply paradise. It's relaxing, beautiful, and completely charming. In addition to the beautiful rooms, suites, and spaces, the food is phenomenal, and you will wish you had booked more time here when it's time to leave.

Room Tip: Ocean view suites are exceptional with a breathtaking view throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddySWiryawan, Manager at COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Wanderpow,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are indeed very lucky to live in this paradise, and we are very pleased that we had you to share the experience with as your private escape. Your appreciation of our room décor and our food quality was certainly uplifting for us.

We just wished you could stay longer, on the bright sides we hope that will only give you more reasons to re-visit us soon.

Warm Regards

Teddy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Turks and Caicos is a fabulous place - the hotel is on a private island, which has pluses (very silent and relaxing) but is also a bit more of travel compared to being on the main island

The hotel is very nice - very simple (which i like) and spacious rooms. Friendly staff, in particular at the restaurants. While the food was good, it was a bit surprising that there wasn't more fresh fish (the 2 restaurants are Italian and Asian)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vale_sartori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddySWiryawan, Manager at COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear vale_sartori,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that you both had a great stay with us and you were able to appreciate the tranquility that we have to offer in this special island.
Your constructive feedback on the fish dishes were highly appreciated as much as your compliments on our room design, food quality and staff friendliness.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Teddy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Unless expenses are of no concern to you, it might take a day to adjust to the prices ($69 for a ball cap, $23 for a glass of Chardonnay) but once you do, you will truly be in paradise. A secluded, peaceful and healthful experience awaits. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating and all of the food is spectacular. The breakfast is included with your room and is one of the best we've ever experienced. The Shambala menu is both healthy and delicious with an amazing selection of fresh juices. The infinity pool and the beach are equally beautiful although no Wi-Fi is available when on the beach which may be exactly what you want. The fitness center is better than most resorts and the spa is fantastic. We especially enjoyed the complimentary early-morning Yoga on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddySWiryawan, Manager at COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Peter R,

Thank you for your kind review.

It’s very rewarding for us that you both had a wonderful stay recently. We glad that you had the opportunity to experience our healthful aspect and food options that we have. It is one of our signatures as part of COMO Hotels & Resorts whereby we do focus on Health & Wellness in all of our properties across the board, Parrot Cay included.

Thank you for your endorsement and we do look forward for your return.

Best Regards

Teddy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrot Cay
13.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
428 reviews
12.4 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,407 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 44 in Providenciales
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#8 of 44 in Providenciales
1,726 reviews
13.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
12.6 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos

Property: COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Address: 164 Leeward Marina, Providenciales | British West Indies, Parrot Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Parrot Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrot Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Cay by COMO in the Turks and Caicos is the northern Caribbean’s preeminent private island. It combines nature—1000 unspoilt acres, a mile-long powdered beach—with relaxed luxury and the multi-award-winning COMO Shambhala Retreat, which offers a range of holistic, Asian-inspired therapies as well as yoga and Pilates with world-class tuition. Accommodation, comprising whitewash interiors with chic teak finishing, includes beachside houses and villas. The island also features private residences, offering absolute privacy away from the main resort. The island’s two restaurants serve gourmet and easy dining as well as healthy COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Watersports, diving and island adventures complete the Parrot Cay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cay Providenciales
Parrot Cay Turks Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing